Last Book You Read....

H_B

Reading Fallen by John Preston. The story of Robert Maxwell. about 50 pages in and it's been brilliant so far. 

Born In rural Czechoslovakia to Jewish fir traders. Was tortured by the SS. Joined the French Foreign Legion at 16, Absorbed in to the British army after France fell. executed unarmed German civilians. Recruited by MI6. Was involved in a trade deal that saw the Chinese buy the entire world stock of Indigo dye by mistake meaning all clothes and uniforms of the Chinese people were blue for several generations. Bought a dog off the same breeder Hitler used....

All this in 50 pages and there is still the mass corruption and his daughter Ghislaine working for supernonce Jeffry Epstein. 

Would recommend

The book, not working for a supernonce. 

I'm battering through Porno and enjoying it. Although it's nothing like the T2 film, it shares a wee theme for me... I'm struggling a bit with visualising the characters as being still the scumbags they were in trainspotting. Even Begbie i'm not just quite buying. Felt the same for the film and assumed it was just because the actors had subsequently been in so much other stuff.

Except for Spud. He is still a credible scumbag despite being a nice guy. The passage with him and Chizzie is vile. Think I will continue on to complete the set though. Want to re read trainspotting and skagboys, then get Balde Artist, Dead Mans Trousers and A Decent Ride. 

The bit with the lass? It's horrifying.

I just got sent a signed copy of a Decent Ride. Never read it before.
Skagboys isnt as funny as the others but puts a decent back story to it all. Nice to read about Renton in Aberdeen whilst I was there.

Dead Man's Trousers is a wonderful read, incredibly funny and horrifying in equal measure.

31 minutes ago, Stellaboz said:

The bit with the lass? It's horrifying.

I just got sent a signed copy of a Decent Ride. Never read it before.
Skagboys isnt as funny as the others but puts a decent back story to it all. Nice to read about Renton in Aberdeen whilst I was there.

Dead Man's Trousers is a wonderful read, incredibly funny and horrifying in equal measure.

Yeah when they meet the woman in the pub and go away to shag her. The whole sequence is horrible and more what I associate with the characters. Sick Boy is written likes he's James Bond in it. 

Aye but Sick Boy thinks he is.

I'd also recommend the Blade Artist in sequence. Can't mind where it is but it's decent.

2 minutes ago, Stellaboz said:

Aye but Sick Boy thinks he is.

I'd also recommend the Blade Artist in sequence. Can't mind where it is but it's decent.

I know, I just think Welsh has somewhat failed to differentiate between what Sick Boy thinks he is, and what he really is. I think the only one who really stays true to what they all really are in the writing is Spud. That said, I'm only 2/3 to 3/4 of the way through so I will see what I think at the end. 

I think the sequence is, Skagboys, Trainspotting, Porno, Blade Artist, Dead Mans Trousers. 

On 15/04/2021 at 10:16, NotThePars said:

I've tried to find a Stalin biography for ages not written by a right wing pop historian or a Trotskyist and I think I've struck gold with Ronald Grigor-Suny's gargantuan tome of Stalin's life. 1012 pages, baby!

https://archive.org/details/stalinpoliticalb00deut

Isaac Deutscher is yer man.

The first Stephen Kotkin volume is very good but I haven't bothered with the second one because of this review from Shelia Fitzpatrck https://www.lrb.co.uk/the-paper/v40/n07/sheila-fitzpatrick/just-like-that

Domenico Losurdo who is an absolute legend has a book about Stalin which is apparently very good but Verso are too feart to translate and publish it.

And Stalin is only mentioned a couple of times but Victor Serge's Year One of The Russian Revolution is a great read.

Edited by Detournement

2 hours ago, Detournement said:

https://archive.org/details/stalinpoliticalb00deut

Isaac Deutscher is yer man.

The first Stephen Kotkin volume is very good but I haven't bothered with the second one because of this review from Shelia Fitzpatrck https://www.lrb.co.uk/the-paper/v40/n07/sheila-fitzpatrick/just-like-that

Domenico Losurdo who is an absolute legend has a book about Stalin which is apparently very good but Verso are too feart to translate and publish it.

And Stalin is only mentioned a couple of times but Victor Serge's Year One of The Russian Revolution is a great read.

Cheers for the recs. 

I have a copy of Losurdo's Stalin book lemme have a look

ETA: here you are 

Edited by NotThePars

Just got the debut novel from Centro-Matic frontman Will Johnson.  Often I treat musicians-turned-novelists with a bit of suspicion, but I've heard nothing but excellent reports of this novel, If or When I Call.

35 minutes ago, scottsdad said:

Winter of the World by Ken Follett. 

Follett does a good thriller, but this is a sweeping saga of ~5 families in the 20th century. Focuses mainly on the shagging. 

Sounds like my kinda book.

Age of Conquests- The Greek world from Alexander to Hadrian 336BC- AD138 by Angelos Chaniotis. 

I took this out of the Library before last March's lockdown and have been reading intermittently. It's only 400 pages.

It has a thematic structure and goes through the 500 years for each theme, which makes it hard to follow cultural bits go with which military bits, for example. 

First 250 pages i found hard going and dull. This was all the military and political stuff. Last 150, culture and religion, i breezed through. The religion/cultic stuff was particularly interesting. 

I'm sure there's better out there about Roman Greece or The Successor Kingdoms. Not hugely recommended. 

That's me just finished Colour Of Magic.

Terrific book, some delightful concepts and plenty of thought provoking quirks hidden in their. I'd have loved to have read these books as a child when I was probably more imaginative, had to stop myself a few times whilst reading this and actually process what the f**k was going on, some of the stuff is almost impossible to visualise I'd love to see some concept artwork. I kinda don't want to watch the tv version because there's no way they can do what I've imagined justice. I've already got the second one so will probably start that sometime soon. 

Would give it a solid 8.5/10

1 hour ago, Stormzy said:

Terrific book, some delightful concepts and plenty of thought provoking quirks hidden in their. I'd have loved to have read these books as a child when I was probably more imaginative, had to stop myself a few times whilst reading this and actually process what the f**k was going on, some of the stuff is almost impossible to visualise I'd love to see some concept artwork. I kinda don't want to watch the tv version because there's no way they can do what I've imagined justice. I've already got the second one so will probably start that sometime soon. 

Have you been hacked by a bot Stormz? Quite a similar writing style. Was hoping for a link to some diet pills at the end.