The All New Occasionally Aussie P+B Quiz League and ☕ Occasional Cup ☕

16 minutes ago, The_Kincardine said:

As the most over-moderated thread on P&B - I guess because we're such a coterie  of rowdy iconoclasts - I thought this was the best place to introduce the new mods' names.  Though why they've gone down the Hibby route of mass name-changing is a complete mystery.  Must have seemed like fun one night in the hot tub.  Here's the rogue's gallery:

mods.thumb.png.42885a7061d8deaca55f0e0e217f428c.png

@Div has never sanctioned me.  He was, though, singularly responsible for deleting all my history, my posts and my 'up-votes' and requiring me to rejoin as The_Kincardine.  He should, at least, have joined in and renamed himself as The_Div.  Poor show, baldy.

@Reina has always been a class act - even for a fan of Dolly.  An active poster when I first joined she has never shown any side and is, IMO, the mods' mod.  She deserves to keep her name.

@Homer Thompson used to be called Nizzy.  Tech-bloke verging on the geeky who sanctioned me for typing 'yins' in a green  font - the most egregious sanction in the history of P&B - and who now portrays himself as a cartoon character.  I could have told you that when you sent me to the naughty step in 2016!

@Sylvester Sneekly The voice of P&B quizzing and our hero.  What a come  down, though.  To go from 'l'Éminence rouge' loved and admired by all to some bit-part Scooby Doo  character.  This is downsizing on a massive scale.  Even 'the big cardi' is a more fitting moniker, mate.

@Radford Like all good referees you never notice him.  No need for a name change.  Always under the radar.

@Tynie Steerforth The chameleon of the forum.  Was originally 'rose' then became 'ness' when he changed his allegiance but always had the 'tiny' prefix - fitting for someone who sanctioned me for some fucked-up reason back in 2015.  'Steerforth' eh?  According  to Dickens, "a handsome young man noted for his wit and romantic charm".  Well some cope with a mid-life crisis by buying a Porsche.  Others change their user-name to try and project...

@Small Bovine Maisonette The only witty name-change we've seen and an all-round good egg.  Not a man known for prescience, though.  Here was his take - in 2018 - on his team's new manager:  Really can't see why anyone would want the job. They don't have a team which is even vaguely good enough to compete with Celtic, they don't have the resources to compete with Celtic and I've seen nothing that suggests they have up and coming youngsters that could help them compete with Celtic. Yet their delusional fans will settle for nothing but a team that can compete with Celtic. It's as poisonous a chalice as you can get. Gerrard would be better off starting at some moneybags lower league English club and building a reputation.

New names but still the same mods...

Homer Thompson was Mr X.

2015 my word.  I need to retire.  Copperfield, a sublime piece of literature.

Edited by Small Bovine Maisonette

9 hours ago, SlipperyP said:

The Final league tables are brought to you by Paul Hardcastle-No Winners

PFIZER PREMIERSHIP

No difference with @Helpma & @WhiteRoseKillie this week, they go to a playoff question!

@Moomintroll is in the Europa Cup

@Arch Stanton & @Rugster faceoff for their cup placings

@Eednud & @Salvo Montalbano take on each other for the last Mugs Cup spot.

Out quicker than a Scouser robbing a villa @Duszek @The DA & @Arabdownunder are doomed.

@Geaky @peasy23 @Small Bovine Maisonette @The Hologram are all in the playoff. 

NO TROPHYp131121.PNG.7edd4782f56f90807753b19e63446960.PNG

WANNABE CHAMPIONSHIP

@alang1993 blows everyone away for his 13th second tier title. @JustOneCornetto & @scottsdad are up, but they will face each other for their weekly cup placings.

@Leeds Saint is in the playoff.

The cartoon @Sylvester Sneekly makes a fool of himself. @Culter Away & @mathematics are back on the sun loungers.

@Snobot is in the playoff.

WWalang.PNG.42505aeb7eac8825136b4417494f45e7.PNGw131121.PNG.c9a8947d3e7a5873bd86b772dbe10c49.PNG

LAST CHANCE SALOON SHOOTOUT

There is no winner in the Diddy league as @Ronaldo Jeremy & @Ross. are connected like a honeymoon couple. @The_Kincardine back to business.

@NJ2 is in the playoff.

@LincolnHearts runs out of time! Luck! but has a new spoon! 

NO TROPHYl131121.PNG.aabf2133fc87ffabb153c221c8572ae9.PNG

@SlipperyP, how am I fifth dear chap?

2 hours ago, Tynie Steerforth said:

Copperfield, a sublime piece of literature.

Nah.  Dickens - apart from a Tale of Two Cities - is just something you have to plod through and the only joy you have is to know you're at the end.

Although my  big girl - whose delayed graduation is on Monday in Sheffield - did her honours dissertation around 'Hard Times' and is now a fake-tan Socialist.

Playoff #214 Choo Choo!

Taking your tickets this weekend are;

Playoff to see you goes into the Playoff, Playoff

@Geaky  image.png.90302eb672c242d6d618905647f23ff3.png v @peasy23  image.png.94e4bb4fae9835cede9a3c84599c4619.png v @Small Bovine Maisonette  image.png.d2ed1f91383ebab2bf4f3c8bbfba3cb9.png v @The Hologram  image.png.f8277985c27a11f80d67b33479db5e54.png

Ok the 4 above chaps, the loser of this question goes into the playoff, the rest survive. You 4 will have 2 question to answer. This 1 and the main playoff question 2. Please answer them in the same PM.

Question 1 - Denmark were a neutral country during WWI, however, how many of their merchant ships were sunk during the war?

Pfizer Premiership Champion Playoff

@Helpma  image.png.3999cf14a14e71db38c962682e5b15f8.png v @WhiteRoseKillie  image.png.e8cbfc8f57a7284bcd9a4f37a6c4454e.png

Pfizer Premiership 4th & 5th Place Playoff

@Arch Stanton  image.png.f2dbd09e921aaadc389ba1ddab960187.png v @Rugster image.png.f2dbd09e921aaadc389ba1ddab960187.png

Pfizer Premiership 6th Place Playoff

@Eednud  image.png.eaffa6996405960bce896ac9e6f9ea30.png v @Salvo Montalbano image.png.f8277985c27a11f80d67b33479db5e54.png

Wannabe Championship 2nd & 3rd Place Playoff

@JustOneCornetto  image.png.d6b30acf937e82cad9d3972ed7b17405.png v @scottsdad image.png.f2dbd09e921aaadc389ba1ddab960187.png

Last Chance Saloon Shootout Champions Playoff

@Ronaldo Jeremy  image.png.33b58f4bcff2e4fff4ac7a4ac354ec98.png v @Ross.  image.png.63ff05e056fa41034be667acc44ed614.png

Thomas the Tank Engine Playoff

@Geaky image.png.90302eb672c242d6d618905647f23ff3.png P16 W6 L10 - last app 25th Sep '21

or

@peasy23 image.png.94e4bb4fae9835cede9a3c84599c4619.png P22 W14 L8 - last app 9th Jan '21

or

@Small Bovine Maisonette image.png.d2ed1f91383ebab2bf4f3c8bbfba3cb9.png P31 W14 L17 -last app 3rd Oct '21

or

@The Hologram image.png.f8277985c27a11f80d67b33479db5e54.png P6 W4 L2 - last app 6th Nov '21

v

@Leeds Saint  image.png.173c685733d3819b1306b00b0cb543c6.png P34 W13 L21 - last app 30th Oct '21

Getting off at Waverley Playoff

@Snobot  image.png.b3f6ce0c062aeb6274d4b344fb6f2c07.png P15 W6 L9 - last app 27th Oct '21

v

@NJ2 image.png.33b58f4bcff2e4fff4ac7a4ac354ec98.png P37 W22 L15 - last app 18th Sep '21

Question 2 -  The 'SheshNag' train, how long is it in metres?

Answers to be tracked into my signal box no later than 17:00 Monday Thai Time(TT)

Good Luck.

14 minutes ago, Tynie Steerforth said:

Does my ten later on in the week not supercede the opposition ten earlier on in the week?

No, that's never been a rule as far as I can remember. His second 8 beats your first 7.

Had a wee chortle at @Kincardinefc's post. Sorry for forgetting to post my score on Friday @Slippers and Scampi. In my frail dotage, I forget things. 

Haven't forgotten how much of a whiny snotrag @Tyniedancer is though. 

Anyway. BIG NEWS @Big Bad Beetroot Boab. (fucking class name)

The Pie + Bovril Quiz Massif is on tour. Next (first) stop is Stirling this Tuesday. Eight people are currently on the team sheet, although if anyone else wants to come, wire in. We're too many for one team, so we've split into two provisional teams of four. They are:

@101 (c)

@Sylvester Sneekly

@The Hologram.. although @The Holiday Song sounds like he'd be a good laugh if we invited him

@Silky Si McFly

VS

@alang1993 (c)

@Tynie Steerforth

@The Captain

@JamesP_81

Any team name or pint suggestions welcome. 

Edited by Sylvester Sneekly

13 hours ago, Sylvester Sneekly said:

Any team name or pint suggestions welcome. 

A flamin’ galah and some drongos.

Given the location

The Bannock Burners or Burnt Bannocks;

Alby Knows; 

None of the above are places for pints that I’m aware of but Annfield still existed when I last visited Stirling.