The Arbroath Thread

I get segregation when we've got clubs like Raith and Dundee, but there's just no need for it in league 1.  I don't understand why we are giving ourselves more work.  Just let people move where they want and segregate the big games.

4 minutes ago, glasgowlichtie23 said:

Even in the championship a lot of time we got behind the goals and then the away fans got from where the left side of the stand is to where the corner is 

ETA - I certainly remember this happening the season before last - can’t remember it happening much of last season but defo happened 2 seasons ago

Yeah we did.

Just think that with vastly reduced travelling supports that behind both  goals should be the norm not the exception.

Sure, if for some reason an opponent is going to bring 300-400 then give them behind the goal but otherwise give it to us. From a personal point of view, I’ve always preferred the Switchie end too.

My first ever season ticket was when the switchie end was our home end, and we had that old pie shop hut before we renovated the stand.  I'm not that precious about it, but it does annoy me way more than it should that we've switched our "home" end several times in the last 20 years.

Through online ticket sales too the club can gauge expected number of travelling fans by the end of week, granted most fans maybe buy there tickets on the Saturday but if “away team” have bought 20 tickets on the Friday the decision should be made to say aye look your getting punted in the main stand. or put up the wee Barriers at the corner flag like they done on some occasions, or do away with it all together. But it really is pish having segregation when there is absolutely no need for it. 

20 minutes ago, A.K. Barr said:

Through online ticket sales too the club can gauge expected number of travelling fans by the end of week, granted most fans maybe buy there tickets on the Saturday but if “away team” have bought 20 tickets on the Friday the decision should be made to say aye look your getting punted in the main stand. or put up the wee Barriers at the corner flag like they done on some occasions, or do away with it all together. But it really is pish having segregation when there is absolutely no need for it. 

Seems the logical solution.

Why has this situation arisen though? Hopefully it can be quickly rectified. But I do wonder if this is the result of those in the board and in charge of safety not being at the club for long enough to remember how things can and should operate at Gayfield in the lower leagues. 

As i say, hopefully someone is just being extra cautious initially and this can be rectified. 

Personally, I would give small away supports the last two sections of the Coelbrew (main) stand at the Harbour end, plus the side terracing up to the corner flag beside it. 

This would give them dedicated rurnstiles & toilets/catering plus covered & uncovered viewing areas. As there's already a wall at the back of the terrace, it would minimise the metalwork needed to put some gates in.

If the away support need more space, give them the Harbour end so we aren't looking into the sun for 90 minutes.

Seems obvious...

Edited by lichtgilphead

26 minutes ago, lichtgilphead said:

Personally, I would give small away supports the last two sections of the Coelbrew (main) stand at the Harbour end, plus the side terracing up to the corner flag beside it. 

This would give them dedicated rurnstiles & toilets/catering plus covered & uncovered viewing areas. As there's already a wall at the back of the terrace, it would minimise the metalwork needed to put some gates in.

If the away support need more space, give them the Harbour end so we aren't looking into the sun for 90 minutes.

Seems obvious...

This is spot on 👍

The club offer both standing and seated tickets at different prices so I believe that’s why the away support get both the stand and terracing. I also believe it’s an sfa rule that the support must have a covered area so we can’t put them in the uncovered corner of the terracing like we done famously against Montrose when winning the league under Sheerin. 

1 hour ago, lichtie23 said:

The club offer both standing and seated tickets at different prices so I believe that’s why the away support get both the stand and terracing. I also believe it’s an sfa rule that the support must have a covered area so we can’t put them in the uncovered corner of the terracing like we done famously against Montrose when winning the league under Sheerin. 

Really? What covered area of terracing do we get at Links Park for example?

Visiting fans do have the option of a covered area - in the stand, just offer them standing and seating at the same price.

Edited by Tattie36

I have just listened to Goldie post match interview 

I think I love him (😂) and I’m all for him and Hammy taking it if they want it 

If we had found that winner yesterday I would be absolutely buzzing with all things AFC and that’s unusual 

2 hours ago, lichtie23 said:

Would like to read the covered requirement rule. 

Frustrating not to get the win but for the most part really enjoyed the match yesterday. Sinclair looked solid, said to the boys I was watching with that my first impressions were that he reminded me of Lewis Banks in that he looks defensively solid if not the best on the ball. Really liked the look of Flynn too.

18 minutes ago, Lichtie78 said:

Frustrating not to get the win but for the most part really enjoyed the match yesterday. Sinclair looked solid, said to the boys I was watching with that my first impressions were that he reminded me of Lewis Banks in that he looks defensively solid if not the best on the ball. Really liked the look of Flynn too.

Funny that. I was also impressed with Sinclair but I thought he was very comfortable on the ball with a good range of passing (ok he misplaced a couple) and he put in one phenomenal cross we really should have scored from.  I expect he will be miles better than Banks. We’ll see I suppose. 

Few thoughts about yesterday, the squad and management.

ETA - more than just a few words ended up rabitting on for ages 😂

First of all, yesterday must be the first game in a long time at gayfield I properly enjoyed. Didn’t really decide to go until about 2 o’clock, but glad I did. First half thought we played some really nice stuff, just lacking someone to get on the end of the final ball. Alloa had the better of the closing stages of the first half, but never felt they were going to score. Was desperate for a goal second half, we got into some good positions but fluffed our lines probably due to a lack of confidence at the moment. Enjoyed seeing LD back at Gayfield too, I know he’s not everyone’s cup of tea as a footballer but he’s a tremendous guy. 

Onto the squad, very happy with the goalkeeping position. Wouldn’t swap McAdams for any other keeper in the league, and Hemfrey looks to be an able backup. I don’t imagine Hemfrey was planning on being second choice, but McAdams is definitely superior. TOB and Watson are great options at centre half, providing they stay fit. Sinclair did well on Saturday and should only get better, haven’t seen much of Bisland but he got a few dodgy reviews so it’ll be the bench for him for the time being. I assume in the event of TOB/Watson being unavailable Sinclair would move into the middle and Bisland would play at RB (Unless there’s further additions). Not sold on Wilkie yet, he looks a bit frantic sometimes but Peterhead fans said he did well at this level so hopefully comes onto a game. 
Scott Stewart has the potential to be a real difference maker for us this year, provided we keep him in his best position. With his physical attributes, he will be getting into positions where he can contribute massively with goals and assists, hopefully he can put up some proper numbers this season. Coulson has been pretty much as advertised, tidy enough player but end product lacking. Reality is Coulson similar to 95% of lower league wingers, and we’re still suffering a Bobby Linn hangover. Would like to add another winger on loan. Dow, Murray & Richardson could do a job but I feel all of them play better through the middle. We’ve all been concerned about our options in the middle of the park, but Saturday was very reassuring in that regard. Early days but Flynn put in a good shift yesterday, and Spalding had another really good game. Spalding is still rough around the edges, and got caught out twice by a bouncing ball defending corners at the halfway line, but overall really positive. Played a really nice clipper ball down the line to Stewart in the first half, which I wasn’t sure he had in his locker. Could be a real coup if he can keep improving. Gold did well when he came on, do get the impression that his playing would take a back seat if he took over which would probably be the right decision. Don’t really have any time for Slater or Callaghan, Slater is better but to me they are both luxury players who don’t come close to justifying said luxury. Dow is a good option as 10 in this league, championship was a bit much for him but he should be more than able to contribute at this level. He will pick up niggles though, and in that case Murray needs to take his chance. Was really happy with Murray signing, but he’s never really kicked on. Definitely a player in there though. Don’t think there was a single Arbroath fan not delighted with the signings of Reilly and Gallagher, but in hindsight I don’t think many managers would have spent so much (just guesswork but you’d imagine they will be in the top tier of earners) on two strikers, when the outcome was always going to be that we couldn’t play 2 up top. Reilly showed some really good stuff on Saturday, running channels and linking play well but just lacking a cutting edge. He seemed to be struggling a bit towards the end, so I’d imagine Gallagher will get the nod this weekend. I honestly wouldn’t mind trying Reilly on one of the wings with Gallagher up front if Gallagher can find some fitness and form. Can’t see Jamie Richardson making much of an impact although would love to be proved wrong, know a few boys who’ve played against him and they don’t rate him very highly. Actually saw him out in Arbroath a couple of weeks ago, nice laddie and was tortured by one of my very pished mates who was keen to tell him he’s the best amateur striker the town has ever seen, Richardson took all the banter well 😂 Going off few rumours I’ve heard I think we will probably get another body for the back, and I’d like to see another winger/striker added too. 

Last bit of the spiel I promise…management team. Know for a fact Darren Young has applied, would be okay with him getting the job but not overly excited. It would be a huge decision, but I hope Gold & Hamilton get the job full time. I have such a good feeling about that potential appointment, and I think Gold at least would be keen for it. As mentioned above I don’t think we would see him start many games if he took over, but 100% I think if it isn’t this time then Gold definitely will move into management in the near future. I think clubs looking to loan out players would see Gold as an ideal candidate to bring on their players, young manager who already works with a lot of pro youth academy players on a one to one basis. I think Young will be the outstanding candidate from the applicants, and if that’s the choice then I would give my backing to Gold & Hamilton 100%.

If nothing else that long winded post should help you get to sleep on a Sunday night 😂

5 minutes ago, Lichtie78 said:

Few thoughts about yesterday, the squad and management.

ETA - more than just a few words ended up rabitting on for ages 😂

First of all, yesterday must be the first game in a long time at gayfield I properly enjoyed. Didn’t really decide to go until about 2 o’clock, but glad I did. First half thought we played some really nice stuff, just lacking someone to get on the end of the final ball. Alloa had the better of the closing stages of the first half, but never felt they were going to score. Was desperate for a goal second half, we got into some good positions but fluffed our lines probably due to a lack of confidence at the moment. Enjoyed seeing LD back at Gayfield too, I know he’s not everyone’s cup of tea as a footballer but he’s a tremendous guy. 

Onto the squad, very happy with the goalkeeping position. Wouldn’t swap McAdams for any other keeper in the league, and Hemfrey looks to be an able backup. I don’t imagine Hemfrey was planning on being second choice, but McAdams is definitely superior. TOB and Watson are great options at centre half, providing they stay fit. Sinclair did well on Saturday and should only get better, haven’t seen much of Bisland but he got a few dodgy reviews so it’ll be the bench for him for the time being. I assume in the event of TOB/Watson being unavailable Sinclair would move into the middle and Bisland would play at RB (Unless there’s further additions). Not sold on Wilkie yet, he looks a bit frantic sometimes but Peterhead fans said he did well at this level so hopefully comes onto a game. 
Scott Stewart has the potential to be a real difference maker for us this year, provided we keep him in his best position. With his physical attributes, he will be getting into positions where he can contribute massively with goals and assists, hopefully he can put up some proper numbers this season. Coulson has been pretty much as advertised, tidy enough player but end product lacking. Reality is Coulson similar to 95% of lower league wingers, and we’re still suffering a Bobby Linn hangover. Would like to add another winger on loan. Dow, Murray & Richardson could do a job but I feel all of them play better through the middle. We’ve all been concerned about our options in the middle of the park, but Saturday was very reassuring in that regard. Early days but Flynn put in a good shift yesterday, and Spalding had another really good game. Spalding is still rough around the edges, and got caught out twice by a bouncing ball defending corners at the halfway line, but overall really positive. Played a really nice clipper ball down the line to Stewart in the first half, which I wasn’t sure he had in his locker. Could be a real coup if he can keep improving. Gold did well when he came on, do get the impression that his playing would take a back seat if he took over which would probably be the right decision. Don’t really have any time for Slater or Callaghan, Slater is better but to me they are both luxury players who don’t come close to justifying said luxury. Dow is a good option as 10 in this league, championship was a bit much for him but he should be more than able to contribute at this level. He will pick up niggles though, and in that case Murray needs to take his chance. Was really happy with Murray signing, but he’s never really kicked on. Definitely a player in there though. Don’t think there was a single Arbroath fan not delighted with the signings of Reilly and Gallagher, but in hindsight I don’t think many managers would have spent so much (just guesswork but you’d imagine they will be in the top tier of earners) on two strikers, when the outcome was always going to be that we couldn’t play 2 up top. Reilly showed some really good stuff on Saturday, running channels and linking play well but just lacking a cutting edge. He seemed to be struggling a bit towards the end, so I’d imagine Gallagher will get the nod this weekend. I honestly wouldn’t mind trying Reilly on one of the wings with Gallagher up front if Gallagher can find some fitness and form. Can’t see Jamie Richardson making much of an impact although would love to be proved wrong, know a few boys who’ve played against him and they don’t rate him very highly. Actually saw him out in Arbroath a couple of weeks ago, nice laddie and was tortured by one of my very pished mates who was keen to tell him he’s the best amateur striker the town has ever seen, Richardson took all the banter well 😂 Going off few rumours I’ve heard I think we will probably get another body for the back, and I’d like to see another winger/striker added too. 

Last bit of the spiel I promise…management team. Know for a fact Darren Young has applied, would be okay with him getting the job but not overly excited. It would be a huge decision, but I hope Gold & Hamilton get the job full time. I have such a good feeling about that potential appointment, and I think Gold at least would be keen for it. As mentioned above I don’t think we would see him start many games if he took over, but 100% I think if it isn’t this time then Gold definitely will move into management in the near future. I think clubs looking to loan out players would see Gold as an ideal candidate to bring on their players, young manager who already works with a lot of pro youth academy players on a one to one basis. I think Young will be the outstanding candidate from the applicants, and if that’s the choice then I would give my backing to Gold & Hamilton 100%.

If nothing else that long winded post should help you get to sleep on a Sunday night 😂

Zzzzzz. 

1 hour ago, glasgowlichtie23 said:

Would like us to not be too hasty in appointing a “proper” manager. More than happy with what I’ve seen from Goldie and Hammy the last 2 weeks to give them a proper shot at it. 

Would you not like to see them actually win a game first?

The new lad Sinclair actually reminds me of Walter Cameron, our right back in the 60s. He was part of the great back 4 with Stirling, Cargill and Hughes. A very promising debut on Saturday.

it was really good to see ToB and Quinn Coulson in Tutties after the game. Great ambassadors for the Club and enjoying some nice banter with the Alloa fans too.