General Election 2015

Ludo*1

She's 8 points up on Alexander, more than close enough for tactical voting to make a difference.

I think tactical voting is just as likely to occur the other way. I'd argue Tory voters have more of an incentive to vote SNP candidates than they do labour - improves their party of choice's chances of being the biggest party, although unlikely they'd get a majority anyway.

• Replies 15.7k

Largely because of the national polling. Bookies are not paying attention to whichever whamee is actually standing in a given constituency, unless they're already an established name like Salmond or an incumbent. That's where the potential money lies IMO.

Speaking of ridiculous candidates, there is a fucking 17 year old standing for UKIP in Inverclyde. :1eye:1eye

Just been on his twitter.

Christian, Unionist. Always sets off late but arrives on time.

Foulkes seething at polls, wants them banned before GE

http://m.huffpost.com/uk/entry/6622300

And he accused Ashcroft of deliberately conducting polling in Scottish seats that had a high 'Yes' vote in the recent independence referendum, in an attempt to create an anti-Labour narrative.

"He [Ashcroft] chooses the ones that will be worse for the Labour Party. I'm not against constituency polling," Foulkes said. "But they are being carried out at the whim of one man, instead of choosing a sample of constituencies around Scotland and doing them properly in each constituency. He can determine the methodology of the poll and choose the constituencies that he thinks will help the bandwagon [against Labour]."

Yes George, those seats in your heartlands of Glasgow and North Lanarkshire are bad for Labour. :1eye

That's an utterly incredible statement from the pished-up auld jakey. :o

Largely because of the national polling. Bookies are not paying attention to whichever whamee is actually standing in a given constituency, unless they're already an established name like Salmond or an incumbent. That's where the potential money lies IMO.

Speaking of ridiculous candidates, there is a fucking 17 year old standing for UKIP in Inverclyde. :1eye:1eye

The bookies odds did move a fair bit in the wake of Ashcroft's polling, particularly the seats in question.

Is it confirmed beyond doubt that she was actually there or is RT assuming her presence from the guest list?

She is claiming she 'mistakenly' accepted the invitation but did not attend the event.

Yeah, she was there. I saw her coming out of the ladies looking a bit dishevelled...

Don't know. RT said she was and she has form as a liar.

It's incredible to me that Labour continue with the same tactics, even when their polling is so bad. I'm hopeful their ridiculous "anti-SNP" stance on everything will be duly thrown back in their faces in May.

I agree about the floating voter discussion. I'm voting SNP in May but I've voted Greens before and I would never rule any party out. If they agree with my views and I think it will help people if they were in power then they'll get my vote. SNP all the time is just as bad as those feeble fools who vote Labour no matter what.

It's incredible to me that Labour continue with the same tactics, even when their polling is so bad. I'm hopeful their ridiculous "anti-SNP" stance on everything will be duly thrown back in their faces in May.

I agree about the floating voter discussion. I'm voting SNP in May but I've voted Greens before and I would never rule any party out. If they agree with my views and I think it will help people if they were in power then they'll get my vote. SNP all the time is just as bad as those feeble fools who vote Labour no matter what.

Scumbags imo. E.g Foulkes today, curran etc... just take the Scots for fools.. and in fairness many are

I'll be voting for them at every election because I want independence. I wouldn't vote SNP in an independent Scotland.

Still think the snp have missed a trick here. We may see similar in a few other seats which are well down the list of targets and we'll see the local party select an unconventional candidate. Although if she has local backing it's perhaps prudent to let them get behind their candidate.

Agree but really think 'the brand' will come in to play e.g labour is toxic

The SNP landslide will fail to materialise once the Scottish electorate realise they are effectively voting in another Tory government. I've no doubt they'll gain seats and maybe be the biggest party in Scotland but thoughts of Labour being wiped out is wishful thinking.

A much more sensible post than your last foray onto these boards

Curran tells CAAT that she accepted the invitation to the death dinner 'by accident'. Wonder why she's even on 'good' terms with them. Her pals are the same company that makes the laser-guided systems for the bombs Israel dropped on Palestinian schools - which was condemned by Labour funnily enough. No doubt Curran will whinge about 'protecting jobs' as some kind of 'socialist' defence.

https://www.caat.org.uk/media/press-releases/2015-02-05

Margaret Curran MP (Shadow Secretary of State for Scotland), invited by Raytheon. Raytheon has been linked to making bombs used in the assault on Gaza last summer. Margaret Curran's press office has since said she did not attend, adding "We may at some point in the distant past have accidentally accepted the invitation.

Scotland should be voting for the party that best represents their interests at Westminster. People don't give a f*ck if it's the Tories again if they decide to vote SNP en masse (which they will). Look at the opinion polling of Ed Miliband compared to David Cameron in Scotland. We hold Ed with more contempt than David, and rightfully so. Miliband is a total clown and hasn't a clue. His right hand man, the Shadow Chancellor, Ed...Ed...Ed Somebody further enforces what a bumbling mess that party is.

Labour have abandoned Scotland and SNP have picked up what they have ditched. If you want to play dirty and say "vote SNP get Tories" two can quite easily play that game. SNP can quite easily say "Labour got in bed with the Tories during the referendum, don't vote for them" but they won't, because they are focussed more on puting their ideals forward, rallying around and winning seats in this GE instead of mud-slinging.

Labour are gloriously fucked.

The SNP landslide will fail to materialise once the Scottish electorate realise they are effectively voting in another Tory government. I've no doubt they'll gain seats and maybe be the biggest party in Scotland but thoughts of Labour being wiped out is wishful thinking.

And when they realise they have elected another Labour trougher MP for 5 years and it will not make any difference?

Vote SNP get Tory? - No evidence

Vote Labour get Tory? - Like in 1979, 1983, 1987, 1992, 2010

Takes some brass neck for Labour to go down this campaign route.

But as we can see the gullible lap it up......look! some magic beans

And when they realise they have elected another Labour trougher MP for 5 years and it will not make any difference?

Scotland isn't a person or a block vote.

It's just a slight modification from the usual campaign slogan they've been using for decades

Vote Labour, keep the tories out.

They really don't know how to challenge the rise of the SNP on a national level, that being a potential threat at WM elections and not just Holyrood, which let's be honest the big wigs in the party just see it as the diddy parliament.