Rangers v Heart of Midlothian, 05/04/2015 (Match Rescheduled)

The first time we were down , we arrived about 1.30. We tried to get in the wee Rangers Club but were told it was a Rangers pub. We asked if there were any other pubs nearby. The doorman pointed us in the direction of the stadium bar. When we got there we were told it was too busy but it would be unadvisable to go in with Brechin scarfs on. We asked about any other pubs but the blokes at the door were less than helpful. We gave up and just went to the ground.

The second time we checked before travelling and went to the aptly named Brechins Bar which was friendly enough. A fair walk from the stadium but a lot less hassle.

No bollocks I'm afraid ! Unless you want to twist yet another fan's interpretations into your own wee fantasy world !

Do what i do and a have a few beers/bite to eat in the city center then get the subway out to Ibrox.

• Replies 1.9k

Auld Hedgey was outed when we were playing against his wee team..If only he had those bus fares he wouldn't be as twisted as he is. He actually complained we didn't put enough in the Charity buckets at Brechin because the buckets were green :lol:

I work with a diehard Rangers fan who went to that game. It was him who told me about the green bucket. It might have been viewed as a bit of banter but the young lass holding the bucket was nearly in tears at the abuse she was taking from some of the idiots. To be fair, some more mature fans tried to tell the idiots to lay off ................although they didn't go as far as actually putting anything in that bucket.

Do what i do and a have a few beers/bite to eat in the city center then get the subway out to Ibrox.

When your bus drops you off at the stadium , you naturally just want to go to the nearest pub.

Hopefully next season , if we are lucky enough to get promotion , we get something sorted .

When your bus drops you off at the stadium , you naturally just want to go to the nearest pub.

Hopefully next season , if we are lucky enough to get promotion , we get something sorted .

If we survive to next season..If we play at Brechin i promise to put money in the Charity bucket...even it is Green(not Charlies bucket) ;)

Do you travel to away games with Rangers? I am asking as i have to challenge you on that part of your post..I think there are certain clubs that do have a larger percentage of Arseholes in their support and i would say Rangers were one of the few clubs that do. Of course there are others but i doubt you will get many on here who will admit that their own club do have a larger percentage than the average club..Take QotS as an example.. Are you honestly saying they have an equal percentage of arseholes within their support?

I used to go a lot but not regularly since maybe 2/3 years before all the admin stuff due to the work/hospitality stuff as I said before. So the experiences I'm referring to are generally by fans of premiership teams. Since relegation I've been to Forfar, Airdrie, Albion (but that was at livi) and Stirling Albion. Didn't get a bit of bother at any of them.

Most of the time when I was going to away games in the spl I would be working too late to catch the supporters buses so would just drive through last minute and meet my mates there, which often involved walking through Edinburgh , Dundee etc in colours and on my own. 99.9% of the time i got no hassle. Only on one occasion, in Paisley, did I get threatened by a bunch of st mirren fans in a car, but brazened it out by trying to act like i was happy to take on all 4 of them (thankfully they never called my bluff!). 3 of my mates have been jumped by opposition fans whilst away. Rangers fan in Aberdeen, Rangers fan in Dundee for a game at tannadice and a Celtic fan in Edinburgh for a game against Hearts.

On the few occasions I haven't drove to or had hospitality at ibrox I've generally been in the stadium bar/Louden pre match and have seen plenty of away fans in, Hearts fans being the ones that stick in my head as seeing in significant numbers. As for PRW, I have no idea as I don't go there myself.

I think it's important to highlight the difference between perception and reality when going to away games. Old firm fans tend to travel in huge numbers so will often out number the home support, so will obviously be welcomed by local landlords wanting to make a few quid. At Ibrox, any away fans will be in a tiny minority when walking about the local area, which isn't one I'd walk about on non football days, looking for pubs. This alone can be intimidating psychologically without any input from Rangers fans. I have to say though, for fans saying they can't get a drink in or around ibrox on match days, can you do this at parkhead? As the only pubs I've seen around there don't look the most inviting. However, being a rangers fan that's no more than if expect :) but genuinely interested to hear other fans views on this? As I find the area around parkhead far dodgier than ibrox.

I can't vouch for Parkhead as we haven't played Celtic in recent years.

What we tend to do is ask on here if anyone knows any decent places , usually with somewhere to get a bite to eat. No8 is right when he said he suggested the wee Rangers Club and that is where we went first.

An idea might be for the bigger clubs to offer suggestions to fans of wee clubs like ours , places to go and to inform the hostelries they suggest. It would go a long way to actually making us feel welcome instead of the hostile reception that most on here seem to experience.

FTFY, Vicky - unless, of course, your principles are as rigid as Tedi's?

If i'm not at the game Norm and it's not on the telly, it's either the radio or hitting f5 to find the score mate - streams are pish.

Was watching the telly a few days ago and they mentioned a town in Yorkshire called Normanton, would be amusing if thats your neck of the woods. (well i'd find it funny)

The areas around both Ibrox and Parkhead are total coups! Avoid!

I take your point about the buses dropping you off but if you get there just a wee bit earlier it's only minutes into the town for a couple of pints and minutes back out.

So I am going to say something that I will probably never utter again!

" Take Bennets advice " Off for a lie down now.

The areas around both Ibrox and Parkhead are total coups! Avoid!

I take your point about the buses dropping you off but if you get there just a wee bit earlier it's only minutes into the town for a couple of pints and minutes back out.

So I am going to say something that I will probably never utter again!

" Take Bennets advice " Off for a lie down now.

If you know where to go around Ibrox you ll get a decent pint and a bit of football chat banter. I often recommend The Kensington on PRW

I used to go a lot but not regularly since maybe 2/3 years before all the admin stuff due to the work/hospitality stuff as I said before. So the experiences I'm referring to are generally by fans of premiership teams. Since relegation I've been to Forfar, Airdrie, Albion (but that was at livi) and Stirling Albion. Didn't get a bit of bother at any of them.

Most of the time when I was going to away games in the spl I would be working too late to catch the supporters buses so would just drive through last minute and meet my mates there, which often involved walking through Edinburgh , Dundee etc in colours and on my own. 99.9% of the time i got no hassle. Only on one occasion, in Paisley, did I get threatened by a bunch of st mirren fans in a car, but brazened it out by trying to act like i was happy to take on all 4 of them (thankfully they never called my bluff!). 3 of my mates have been jumped by opposition fans whilst away. Rangers fan in Aberdeen, Rangers fan in Dundee for a game at tannadice and a Celtic fan in Edinburgh for a game against Hearts.

On the few occasions I haven't drove to or had hospitality at ibrox I've generally been in the stadium bar/Louden pre match and have seen plenty of away fans in, Hearts fans being the ones that stick in my head as seeing in significant numbers. As for PRW, I have no idea as I don't go there myself.

I think it's important to highlight the difference between perception and reality when going to away games. Old firm fans tend to travel in huge numbers so will often out number the home support, so will obviously be welcomed by local landlords wanting to make a few quid. At Ibrox, any away fans will be in a tiny minority when walking about the local area, which isn't one I'd walk about on non football days, looking for pubs. This alone can be intimidating psychologically without any input from Rangers fans. I have to say though, for fans saying they can't get a drink in or around ibrox on match days, can you do this at parkhead? As the only pubs I've seen around there don't look the most inviting. However, being a rangers fan that's no more than if expect :) but genuinely interested to hear other fans views on this? As I find the area around parkhead far dodgier than ibrox.

I just wondered because if you have travelled on a regular basis with Rangers you must have seen some sights. I know i have and this is why when i hear stories about the Rangers support i tend to believe them..Of course we are not all like that but we have a section of our support that have disgraced the club at home..In England and on the continent.

Let others try and defend the indefensible..Leave the rest of the haters to hate as you are never going to convince these arseholes that there are many thousands....Tens of thousands of decent Rangers supporters out there who are only wanting to go along to support their club.

If anything this thread proves that beyond any doubt. I simply refuse to believe that many of the posters here who have laid the entire blame at the door of Rangers football club have not seen the youtube videos that show inside the stadium..and i am changing my stance here...that the Hearts support were equally culpable.

I can't vouch for Parkhead as we haven't played Celtic in recent years.

What we tend to do is ask on here if anyone knows any decent places , usually with somewhere to get a bite to eat. No8 is right when he said he suggested the wee Rangers Club and that is where we went first.

An idea might be for the bigger clubs to offer suggestions to fans of wee clubs like ours , places to go and to inform the hostelries they suggest. It would go a long way to actually making us feel welcome instead of the hostile reception that most on here seem to experience.

I actually think that's a cracking idea and might go someway to restore some of the other team's fans faith in the majority of old firm fans. I think, having visited a lot of junior and lower league matches (not involving rangers) that we lose the sense of community in a way that these clubs have in abundance. The same way that big cities lose the close feel of small towns and villages. There's nothing better than a bit of banter and debate over football with opposition fans. The same goes for old firm games, I always watch it in mixed pubs if I'm not actually attending the match because it's generally, wind ups and slagging for 90 mins then all pals afterwards. The way it should be.

Most away fans do ask and they usually have a decent time.. TBH i cant remember going to a pub in Brechin. I am sure we did have a nice meal in a pub on the main Road that takes you north but i cant remember the name of it.. I am sure we met Tedi for a meal there before an Arbroath game as well

ETA ..Just googled it. The Finavon Hotel

I just wondered because if you have travelled on a regular basis with Rangers you must have seen some sights. I know i have and this is why when i hear stories about the Rangers support i tend to believe them..Of course we are not all like that but we have a section of our support that have disgraced the club at home..In England and on the continent.

Let others try and defend the indefensible..Leave the rest of the haters to hate as you are never going to convince these arseholes that there are many thousands....Tens of thousands of decent Rangers supporters out there who are only wanting to go along to support their club.

If anything this thread proves that beyond any doubt. I simply refuse to believe that many of the posters here who have laid the entire blame at the door of Rangers football club have not seen the youtube videos that show inside the stadium..and i am changing my stance here...that the Hearts support were equally culpable.

I have seen a few bams looking for a fight, they are generally stopped in their tracks by members of our support though. Manchester was crazy and I can't believe the way it escalated. Mob mentality took over that day. Imagine kelvin grove park x 1000.

Was actually talking to a couple guys in work about this and one guy (gers man) was talkin about a time in Aberdeen they were in a pub with a really scottish sounding name on union st (Caledonian or Scotsman or something along those lines). They were sitting below the windows and all of a sudden a wheelie bin came right through the window above his head, followed by a barrage of bricks and rocks. They had to all cower in the back of the pub and eventually get a police escort to the stadium. Aberdeen fans chucking stuff at them all the way.

As I said, all clubs have their arseholes and you will likely come across these arseholes when you are in the away support visiting their team, the difference is the old firm and in particular rangers at the moment, get a lot more coverage.