Holyrood '16 polls and predictions

Crùbag

• Replies 4.3k

Front page suggests that Labour voters are breaking between SNP and TORY

If Labour cant poll well with over 60s they might as well close the party. :thumsup2

True. Maybe that green dress Dugdale was wearing didn't work. Try a tartan shopping trolly next time?

Just checked and it was actually a purple dress. Either way, new stylist required. Obviously some decent policies and a better leader would help, but best to start small.

I still can't see it happening - the regional split of the vote is going to keep them in second with 20-25 seats, while the Tories won't break 20.

They are of course utterly fucked anyway, considering that 25 seats would be seen as a great night for them from this position. They had 50 10 years ago.

It's not merely a matter of current voting intentions, but the prospects for each party of getting their people out to canvass & do all the necessary work to ensure their maximum vote.

The Scottish Tories right now are in a hyper mood - convinced that having a majority in Westminster (even if only 12) & Labour's collapse somehow means they're on the way back up. Thing is, that sort of delusion will get the party faithful to go out & work.

Contrast this with Labour's collapse: almost a thing of pure beauty. Everywhere you go, Scottish Labour is ceasing to exist - the price paid for being nothing more than a vehicle of advancement for certain extended families running localities like feudal fiefdoms via networks of "cousins" & sycophants wanting a seat on the "perks" gravy train. Local branches have emptied since last year's calamity for them, "loyal" members no longer wanting to know now they're no longer "the winning team" every year. Labour's Scottish support and membership has proven to be fair weather to a quite extraordinary extent to be almost shameful.

Plus there are those councils they gained back from the SNP last time around only to show they'd learned no lessons & went right back to the same old corrupt practices as before, making the SNP shoe-ins come next year's round of local elections.

Will the Tories beat Labour? In terms of seats, unlikely. In terms of the vote - they may just do that, which may do far longer term damage to Labour morale than the cuffing from the SNP they all know deep down is inevitable.

I'm fairly convinced that however bad SLab's performance in May is they still won't learn anything from it.

Instead we will see some political opportunist try to exploit the situation for his/her personal benefit by dumping poor wee Keiza. In some respects it's an understandable move as this election might be the one where the SNP peaks and Labour hits it's lowest practical position.

Sadly a leadership based on personal self aggrandisement is not going to help create any real left-of-centre, progressive political party which is what SLab needs to become if it is going to contribute to Scottish politics in the years ahead.

I'm fairly convinced that however bad SLab's performance in May is they still won't learn anything from it.

Instead we will see some political opportunist try to exploit the situation for his/her personal benefit by dumping poor wee Keiza. In some respects it's an understandable move as this election might be the one where the SNP peaks and Labour hits it's lowest practical position.

Sadly a leadership based on personal self aggrandisement is not going to help create any real left-of-centre, progressive political party which is what SLab needs to become if it is going to contribute to Scottish politics in the years ahead.

I have to agree - they just don't seem to learn and there is no-one in the wings ready step in and do something different.

I think a lot of people will vote SNP because Labour are an incompetent mess and that there is not any other democratic socialist or social democratic alternative.

As I've said numerous times in the past. The situation with SLAB will fix itself in time. It's just that they've yet to hit rock bottom, which is likely to happen during this election. The only worry for them long term is that the alternate to the SNP becomes the Tories. Personally, what I think will happen is once the SNP get independence. They'll no longer be able to scapegoat their failures on Westminster. Which will cause disillusioned SNP voters to search for alternatives. 

Or we could get an Irish Tweedledum and Tweedledee situation - two parties who are indistinguishable other than if their grandfather supported independence or not.

You've made three statements there in the bit I made bold.

your quote 'once the SNP get independence' has always been the raison d'etre of the SNP and once independence is gained then of course the SNP will have to reassess their policies.

It's a wee bit like UKIP, if Brexit wins then Nigel &Co. will have to decide whether to carry on (there's a joke in there somewhere).

'They'll no longer be able to scapegoat their failures on Westminster'.

Whit does that mean?

The SNP has an overwhelming mandate from the Scottish electors to protect their interests.

That includes protesting against nuclear bombs and submarines in Scotland.

Also protesting against bombing ISIS.

The only failure I can see is that Scotland is stuck in a f**king disastrous union with her big neighbour and it's thanks tae c**ts folk like you that we are.

'Which will cause disillusioned SNP voters to search for alternatives'

What is wrong with that?

Just now the SNP has to try and embrace all political opinion in Scotland to get the maximum votes for independence.

It's no big deal.

After independence every political party will set out their stall and we, the electors will then decide which party to support.

Again what is wrong with that?