Andy Murray Latest and General Tennis Chat

Bryan

A year or so ago there was talk of Novak Djokovic wanting to play Davis Cup for GB. If that had happened we would have owned the trophy. As it is the team for the next few years will be Murray and some useless 1st round Wimbledon loser who will crash in straight sets to anyone who can hold a racket....pathetic :huh:

Edited by RedWeb

A year or so ago there was talk of Novak Djokovic wanting to play Davis Cup for GB. If that had happened we would have owned the trophy. As it is the team for the next few years will be Murray and some useless 1st round Wimbledon loser who will crash in straight sets to anyone who can hold a racket....pathetic :huh:

Given Jamie Murray's growing proficiency in doubles, pre-supposing we field a half decent partner with him (possibly Andy), then the two Murray's themselves may be enough to win many Davis Cup ties without any other singles help.

EDIT - On what basis incidentally did Djoovic qualify to represent GB?

Edited by Skyline Drifter

EDIT - On what basis incidentally did Djoovic qualify to represent GB?

Nae idea...I think maybe his family were simply looking to leave Serbia and base themselves in the UK.

As for Andy he is now the new world number 1...err...at Turbo Tennis. He just beat Goran in the final at the 02 arena to trouser $100,000. For those who hadn't heard of 'Turbo Tennis' (ie me until an hour ago) it's a smaller court where you play for 30 minutes and games go to a sudden death point if it gets to 40-40. Not a bad idea.

Edited by RedWeb

As for Andy he is now the new world number 1...err...at Turbo Tennis.

I take it playing a fanny about game of Turbo Tennis to trouser 100 grand isn't putting too much pressure on the whingebag's body? <_<

Murray looks like he's gonnae lose ito Robredo in the Metz Open final after winning the 1st set 6-0.

He did...0/6,6/2,6/3

Apparently he lost the plot at the start of the second set and never found it again. To be fair Robredo is world No 6 and top seed for this tournament but Murray should never lose a 3 set match after winning the first 6/0 :angry:

but Murray should never lose a 3 set match after winning the first 6/0 :angry:

That can quite often be misleading. Once it gets to 4-0 or so a player will often tank the rest of the set to save energy.

Tennis is a game of momentum. Once it shifts it is hard to get it back.

He did...0/6,6/2,6/3

Apparently he lost the plot at the start of the second set and never found it again. To be fair Robredo is world No 6 and top seed for this tournament but Murray should never lose a 3 set match after winning the first 6/0 :angry:

The actual score in games in the set doesn't really make a difference. You still only get one set for it, and as HB said, players often just give up at about 4-0 down (when Murray was a lot less fit he used to do quite a bit I think), then they can start to concentrate on the next set. Whereas if you win 7-6 in the first set, it's a huge blow for your opponent and they will still be rattled at the start of the next set.

Anyway, disappointing that he lost, but glimpses of his best Tennis, he just needs to be more consistant. If he could get a consistant serve, he would be top 5 no bother IMO.

Guest The Phoenix
He did...0/6,6/2,6/3

Why? :unsure:

Aye, that and the fact he didn't have the stones for it and bottled it every time the going got tough.

:blink:

Like when exactly? Maybe the Ivanisevic game I'll give you though I think the weather had more to do with that than any bottle going. He lost three other Wimbledon semis but all to infinitely better players who simply blew him away. Nothing to do with "bottle".

Henman won loads of five set games from the brink of defeat, not least the one that first brought him to most people's attention when he trailed Kafelnikov by a break in the final set at Wimbledon and the Russian served for it.

Guest The Phoenix
He's playing an incredible match against Rafa Nadal in Madrid right now.

Nadal took the first set on the tie break, and Murray is a break up in the 2nd.

Some of the tennis on display has been breathtaking.

The surface is perfect for Murray and slightly against Nadal - Murray should really win this.......