Twin Squads for March Friendlies

Gordopolis

Rhodes appearances in a Scotland jersey.

Friendlies

3 minutes v Cyprus away

Start. 64 minutes v Australia home, 1 goal

Start. 89 minutes v Luxembourgh away, 2 goals

45 minutes v Estonia at home

8 minutes v England away

25 minutes v Northern Ireland at home

Euros

23 minutes v Gibraltar at home

WC

10 minutes v Serbia at home

25 minutes v Macedonia home

5 minutes v Wales at home

Start. 80 minutes v Serbia away

26 minutes v Croatia away

22 minutes v Belgium at home

8 games where he's had 26 minutes or less to make an impact, 4 where he got less than 10 minutes.

He's had 3 games where he's played an hour or more, and he has 3 goals. The 13 appearances mean f**k all when you look at that, you could add 7 of they games up to make just more than a full 90.

There's no way we have given him a decent run or chance in the team.

Excellent summary

• Replies 559

Yep....fletcher scored so few goals at Sunderland that allardyce punted him out on loan but we never fail to pick him. Two strikers out and we aren't even trying Rhodes.....just crazy. He might not be good enough in the end but we should at least be giving him a decent chance. Crap like forrest and Martin are picked no matter how badly they perform. We don't have the resources to just write a player like Rhodes off without properly trying him out.

Utterly moronic. He's our best forward at international level so clearly. One poor gane away to Georgia and he's become a target.

Not saying that fletcher should be dropped just that the critera for ignoring players like rhodes are becoming increasingly tenuous and lacking in credibility. Fletcher couldnt get a game for a dire Sunderland team and hutton often doesnt get picked for villa.....they are picked without question yet guys who play regularly and perform well are totally ignored. On the basis of our campaigns since 1998 maybe we should look at all of our options instead of just picking a few select managerial favourites?

Guest DAVIDB69

Not saying that fletcher should be dropped just that the critera for ignoring players like rhodes are becoming increasingly tenuous and lacking in credibility. Fletcher couldnt get a game for a dire Sunderland team and hutton often doesnt get picked for villa.....they are picked without question yet guys who play regularly and perform well are totally ignored. On the basis of our campaigns since 1998 maybe we should look at all of our options instead of just picking a few select managerial favourites?

Up till 1998 we did not pick outwith spl English premier and Europe placed players.

Since we started picking championship players we have never qualified for anything

Up till 1998 we did not pick outwith spl English premier and Europe placed players.

Since we started picking championship players we have never qualified for anything

Balls

All throughout the Craig Brown era we had English second tier players.

Guest DAVIDB69

John McGinley, Derek Whyte, Eoin Jess just off the top of my head.

Bolton, middlesboro were premier league at this time as were Coventry who Jess joined it was post Craig brown it started

Guest DAVIDB69

Bolton, middlesboro were premier league at this time as were Coventry who Jess joined it was post Craig brown it started

Blackburn were premier league for years in the 90s

Might be talking pish about Jess and Hendry actually, but a quick Google on McGinley and Bolton and you'll see he was playing in the second tier when he played for Scotland in 1994.

And Derek Whyte was definitely a Scotland player while Boro were in the second tier.

Pretty sure there are plenty more examples, but in any case, it's nonsense to compare the English League of 1998 with the monster it has now become, with overseas players flooding the top division, severely limiting places for all home nation players. It's not a fad that we're picking lower tier players, it's a necessity.

ETA: and I distinctly remember being raging when Craig Brown was making noises in the papers about getting Iffy Onuara cleared to play for Scotland ( playing in English THIRD tier at the time). And we shamelessly courted second tier David Johnson in a similar fashion

Rhodes' performance away to Serbia was every bit as bad as Martin's v England, btw.  Doesn't mean either of them are good, bad or otherwise overall, but you can't criticise one performance and not the other.

Ok....not really sure what your point is.....if Sunderland n Norwich go down we arent allowed any strikers (unless boro get promoted ). Might as well get levein back in charge.....idea of trying new stuff in friendlies is clearly crazy

Rhodes' performance away to Serbia was every bit as bad as Martin's v England, btw. Doesn't mean either of them are good, bad or otherwise overall, but you can't criticise one performance and not the other.

Yes but one gets constantly picked and one constantly gets ignored......bit of consistency would be nice from manager....if wgs policy was getting us to finals and raising our seeding noone would be moaning but actually opposite is occurring. Criteria for selection is now noticeably hypocritical and overall very unsuccessful

Rhodes' performance away to Serbia was every bit as bad as Martin's v England, btw. Doesn't mean either of them are good, bad or otherwise overall, but you can't criticise one performance and not the other.

Aye Rhodes has hardly been fantastic but like Martin he's not had much of a chance.

Can understand why Martin is in, cant understand why Rhodes isn't.

This isn't club football, there aren't that many games. We can't afford to give a striker 20 international caps to settle in and get used to it, that's 2 whole qualifying campaigns.

Rhodes performance in Serbia was probably the worst I've ever seen from a Scottish striker in a competitive match. We lose the game 2-0 and it ends our World Cup.

No surprise that Strachan has been reticent to use him since. It would seem - judging by his omission from these squads - that he's no longer in his plans. Would be surprised if he plays again under WGS.

This isn't club football, there aren't that many games. We can't afford to give a striker 20 international caps to settle in and get used to it, that's 2 whole qualifying campaigns.

Rhodes performance in Serbia was probably the worst I've ever seen from a Scottish striker in a competitive match. We lose the game 2-0 and it ends our World Cup.

No surprise that Strachan has been reticent to use him since. It would seem - judging by his omission from these squads - that he's no longer in his plans. Would be surprised if he plays again under WGS.

Not 20 games m8, just more than 425 minutes over 6 years. I've already showed he's not had a proper chance.

That second paragraph... :lol:

I can't remember the game but after a google I've found this analysis of his performance.

'Constantly looking on as the ball was travelling over his head as the Scotland defence continually booted it forward leaving the Blackburn striker with no chance' 2 and a half stars from 5.

Rated better than 6 other players from that game. Seems a fair way of judging him, game was also 3 years ago. I'm sure he has improved every so slightly since then...

To be honest it's a bigger farce McCormack has hardly been involved.

He was sensational at Leeds and continued that form at Fulham.

Agree. 1st page of Rhodes thread.

Is it just me that thinks McCormack is a much better player than Griffiths?

Agree. 1st page of Rhodes thread.

Yeah I'd say he is better than Griffiths. McCormack has been scoring goals season after season in the Championship.

Griffiths has upped his overall game and has a lethal left foot. Would be interesting to see how he'd cope down South for a second spell.