General Politics Thread

Granny Danger

25 minutes ago, Crùbag said:

Scotland still moving forward. Indy at 52% and SNP membership up, overtaking the UK-wide Tories.

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/snp-member-numbers-conservative-scottish-national-party-nicola-sturgeon-a8520941.html

Minter.

21 minutes ago, dorlomin said:

Presumption is the mother of all f*ckups. Especially from a conspiracy crank like you. 

Which conspiracy?

And it's not a presumption. I've been to the midlands, there's loads of houses, hospitals and low paid jobs. It's possible people might choose insecure accommodation, dying in hospital corridors and poverty due to Corbyn not being keen on illegal settlements but I doubt it.

https://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=https://metro.co.uk/2018/09/03/home-secretary-sajid-javid-says-there-are-80000-people-who-pose-risk-to-children-in-the-uk-7907380/&ved=0ahUKEwjtmc-xr5_dAhXSgVwKHd4SBWcQqQIIHSgBMAA&usg=AOvVaw2Bm6ebe_3EAwillcuZyEql

Conveniently ignoring that 95% of child abuse is done by someone known to the child.

Don't get me wrong - it's right to take online grooming seriously but it is not the real problem.

Call me cynical but it is just going to be used as an excuse for the government to push their Internet snooping strategy.

It also ignores that most sharing by paedophiles is done outwith the internet and a lot more subtly.

2 hours ago, dorlomin said:

776.png?width=620&quality=85&auto=format

"Labour" is now in effect Momentum. 

How they intend to win the midlands marginals is a question they will have to answer, if its something they even care about. 

Get it up Eddie Izzard. A total p***k of a man due to his behaviour during the independence referendum

35 minutes ago, NotThePars said:

Being suggested Willsman likely elected as a result of most of the NEC votes being cast early before the footage of his comments were aired.

To be honest I hadn't heard of him before. I just voted for the Momentum slate. I'll be happy if he gets punted. 

2 hours ago, Bully Wee Villa said:

To be honest I hadn't heard of him before. I just voted for the Momentum slate. I'll be happy if he gets punted. 

Think that's the case with a lot of people. I know a couple of mates voted for some but not all of the slate. It's best if he goes. Izzard isn't that bad, I mean he was responsible for an (I'm sure it was) ayrmad heads gone on here.

9 hours ago, Granny Danger said:

Isn’t it strange that when died-in-the-wool right wingers dominated the Labour Party no one batted an eyelid.  Yet socialists in the ascendancy, in a supposed socialist party, and everyone goes apeshit.

You are correct in what you say. At the time Labour were winning elections. Regards socialists getting in the asndancy, this is Momentum. They are a different proposition altogether. They just remind me of a more sleekit Militant Tendency.

28 minutes ago, Highlandmagyar 2nd Tier said:

You are correct in what you say. At the time Labour were winning elections. Regards socialists getting in the asndancy, this is Momentum. They are a different proposition altogether. They just remind me of a more sleekit Militant Tendency.

Momentum are nothing like Militant.  When I was active in the Labour Party I totally opposed Militant; if I were still a Labour Party supporter I would support Momentum.

7 minutes ago, Granny Danger said:

Momentum are nothing like Militant.  When I was active in the Labour Party I totally opposed Militant; if I were still a Labour Party supporter I would support Momentum.

Momentum are dangerous. I campaign for the Labour Party and am a member of my local party. They are people who shout down your opinion and call you Red Tories etc. They are not interested in any other view or ideology but their own. They are a cancer on the party.

11 hours ago, Granny Danger said:

Isn’t it strange that when died-in-the-wool right wingers dominated the Labour Party no one batted an eyelid.  Yet socialists in the ascendancy, in a supposed socialist party, and everyone goes apeshit.

Wasn't people going apeshit about moderate sellouts the whole point of "Momentum" ?

That's kind of true is it not?

He chose to present a lot more female that day than usual (as is his wont) and was walked very slowly down the length of Buchanan St to St Enoch Square followed by the press the whole way presumably in the hopes of getting some sort of anti-trans abuse by vile irl-nats captured on film (which didn't happen, of course, it's Glasgow city centre, people wouldn't bat an eyelid!) they then bundled him into a car and claimed he had to 'flee the area'.

Of course he can dress however he wants on whatever day he chooses, it just leaves a bit of a sour taste that it may have been done with bad intentions.