Motherwell FC - A Thread For All Seasons

1 minute ago, welldaft said:

Halliday also was a livewire. Did not think he had that energy. 

Agree with all of your post but highlighting that bit given the stick he's (rightly at times) had... cracking from him and you really hope he's not injured again. 

Sparrow was also excellent and while expectations for him were very low, he certainly looks like making a contribution over the season.

5 minutes ago, Yabba is a Turd said:

To the 12 angry men who dissed this post, Giruy. What a tremendous support and result. COYW. PS a boycott isnae standing up the back. 

First thought after a massive win is to come on to a forum and have a go at other fans for disagreeing with you 🙃

Few pints and a cracking day at the football. What’s not to love.

Best performance in quite a wee while. Thought the defence, individually and collectively, were superb. Wilsons best game for us. Casey’s best game in a long time. Gordon solid and McGinn and O’Donnell obvious stand outs. Thought Lennon Miller actually had a poor game but still always involved and even at his worst his quality delivery is an asset. Maswanhise continues to look good, albeit clearly tiring with the pace of the game. Robinson strong as an ox but still not really a goal threat. Oh and the subs all contributed.

Days like that at Fir Park are fantastic.

Edited by Londonwell

That was by far Andy Halliday’s best performance in a Motherwell jersey. Hopefully that knock he took before half time isn’t anything too bad.

The performance as a whole was absolutely brilliant and though our whole defence were solid as a rock today. Special mention to Ewan Wilson also who i thought did very well today. 

If we play like that this season then we will do well so hopefully we have some consistent performances like that to look forward to! 

Disappointing thing today was seeing young lads outside the Sailor Hunter having their tickets removed from them by a female steward for being unable to prove they were over 14. Heard them asking how they’d be able to get a refund if she had their tickets just to be told they’d get one. 

also, folk in the stand today who I don’t normally see around my area coming in demanding for the exact seat that was on their ticket. Mutant behaviour. 

Edited by McFadden

2 minutes ago, McFadden said:

If we play like that this season then we will do well so hopefully we have some consistent performances like that to look forward to! 

Disappointing thing today was seeing young lads outside the Sailor Hunter having their tickets removed from them by a female steward for being unable to prove they were over 14. Heard them asking how they’d be able to get a refund if she had their tickets just to be told they’d get one.

I probably should wait till tomorrow before I start pissng in the soup but there's only so often we'll be invited to play like that - against a side out of form/confidence but determined to have possession, playing slowly and with their sole striker dropping into the space their attacking midfielders want to play in.

St Johnstone will test us in a different way defensively while we'll also be expected to do a bit more on the ball ourselves... today was brilliant but we need to adapt a bit too.

Other random thought, let's just trigger TJ's option now and if it's not till 2027 go ahead and sign him up.

Mental with the tickets...I find 14 as a policy odd to begin with, zealously enforcing it...Jesus.

Excellent performance throughout the team. There will be a lot about how bad hearts were, but we were the main cause of that. Did they boo Dhanda off, or boo that he was taken off?

The deliveries from Miller were perfect, and our crossing in general was very good. Halliday looked especially motivated, hopefully that's something he can take into non-hearts games.

I thought Davor had his best game for us, and Robinson held the ball well as the lone striker.

Maybe the weans should pretend boycott more often.

14 minutes ago, McFadden said:

That was by far Andy Halliday’s best performance in a Motherwell jersey. Hopefully that knock he took before half time isn’t anything too bad.

The performance as a whole was absolutely brilliant and though our whole defence were solid as a rock today. Special mention to Ewan Wilson also who i thought did very well today. 

also, folk in the stand today who I don’t normally see around my area coming in demanding for the exact seat that was on their ticket. Mutant behaviour. 

Were there no adults around that could ‘escort’ the boys in?

First half was marked by both teams surrendering possession needlessly, thought Hearts looked better organised off the ball. They are really chronic just now.

Fir Park, 1-0 within the first 30 mins, usually us doing the chasing, irony of that. Bar a couple of good saves and one instinctive one from close range, a Scotland keeper was not helped by his defence, irony number 2. And for number 3, Andy Halliday running round like a gallus *** behaving like the ref isn't going to book him, all glorious stuff.

Anyone make it to the beer garden?

The Kettle is Well and fkn boiling atm. 

Also Naismith signing Spitts and Dhanda seems a bit inept. Like a wean going in a shop and being too greedy with sweets. 

19 minutes ago, Handsome_Devil said:

St Johnstone will test us in a different way defensively

I had a dark giggle when looking at what games Sidibeh will be suspended for, as it likely means Nicky Clark plays instead.

Feels like you're the only side who actually scores against these days, 

4 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

I had a dark giggle when looking at what games Sidibeh will be suspended for, as it likely means Nicky Clark plays instead.

Feels like you're the only side who actually scores against these days, 

We all had a dark giggle that you let us have Liam Gordon, Nicky Clark offers zero fear.

1 hour ago, camer0n_mcd said:

First thought after a massive win is to come on to a forum and have a go at other fans for disagreeing with you 🙃

Nae bother, did you get a good view fae up the back. Your either a supporter or not, this Bobs a w**k pish, it's no our fault nonsense is getting boring. Those  who live by the sword, die by the sword, unless of course you sit in Block E, get a bloody life. 

Halliday, SODs and Wilson stand-outs today. Tawanda was great first half and I forgot he was playing in the 2nd. Robinson's hold up play and close control of the ball is so good but for a striker he offers 0 goal threat and it's sooo frustrating. Doesn't help that he's playing up front himself against 3 big CB's most games.

Beating Hearts is always one of my favourite results, very happy tonight!