Next UK Labour Leader - post Brexit

FlyerTon

Next UK Labour Leader - post Brexit  

125 members have voted

How so? It makes sense to me. The media are hounding Corbyn when instead they should be hounding those who have sent us out of Europe with no absolutely no game plan.

The author is wrong to state that this is a "Blairite coup". The vast majority of those who have resigned or been sacked from the Shadow Cabinet since Sunday morning, with the exception of possibly two, are not and never have been Blairites. This rebellion unites the soft left, old right and new right of the PLP, and very possibly the Labour Party; it has gained traction precisely because it cuts across established factional lines. 

Polls might state that over 60% of Labour voters backed Remain, but other polls show a significantly smaller majority among Labour voters outside of London. Labour strongholds such as Sunderland, Barnsley and Sandwell voted overwhelmingly for Leave, and questions should be asked of Corbyn about whether he could and should have done more to prevent this - and also what it means for Labour's electoral prospects going forward. Many Labour supporters didn't even know the Party's official stance on the referendum, and that can't have been helped by the 'reluctant' nature of Corbyn's pro-Remain campaigning. 

• Replies 4.2k

My perspective on this,

I would like to say "Who gives a feck!!"

I certainly do. Because there's a total clusterfuck of an opposition in Westminster, we have a Tory government for the considerable future no matter how blown apart they've been.

Labour have not been an effective opposition for some time and have zero chance of forming a UK government for the foreseeable.

Yup. And that's a concern to me. Even a Blairite opposition would be better than the fucking dross we have at the moment.

Do those wanting to replace corbyn think that a more centrist leader will win back the disillusioned hordes who voted leave last week and ukip before that?

Those labour MPs have never rallied round their leader. Scheming b*****ds.

There has to be a split. Get them to f**k and let's see how that goes.

See this is the thing.  As was demonstrated in last years GE, if people want right wing politicians they'll vote Tory, not diet Tory.

nah... disagree. exchanging tories for tory lite is not an opposition.

It's not just Tory lite though, as has been explained. And from what I've witnessed working in social housing, there's a vast difference in the effects of this Tory Government on the poor than the last Labour government.

When youre struggling to put food on the table or plunged into depression and other issues by the harsher effects of welfare reform, it will be little comfort to you that Corbyn is principled but unelectable while Boris Johnson and some of the other crazies are at top of government.

When youre struggling to put food on the table or plunged into depression and other issues by the harsher effects of welfare reform, it will be little comfort to you that these shits are doing f**k all to help you:

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/these-are-the-184-labour-mps-who-didn-t-vote-against-the-tories-welfare-bill-10404831.html

I wonder how many on that list have signed the vote of no confidence in Corbyn?  I'd be willing to bet they're pretty much a mirror image.

A weasely shiter of a party.  That's British Lolbour.

Winning votes more important than everything else?

Winning elections no matter what?

That's one of the biggest reasons why so many traditional labour voters left.

They are acting in complete contempt of their party. If they want to solely represent their whole constituency they should stand as an independent - and see how well they do.

It is not simply about winning.

It is about giving the impression you might win or even that you would want to win.

If not then what you have to say is of no interest to the media because it is never going to happen.

Your message fails to be heard

According to one BBC reporter, one of Corbyn's team have told them that his task is to build a 'social uprising', not an alternative government.

If that's the case, lead a pressure group or something, not a political party.

According to one BBC reporter, one of Corbyn's team have told them that his task is to build a 'social uprising', not an alternative government.

Corbyn reminds me of the delusional wee socialist gobshites that would infest the pubs around Byers Road in the 1970's.

Sleekit, devious, consumed with envy and hatred.

Sounds like pish to me

SNP bids to replace Labour as official Commons opposition

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-36660386

The SNP is to ask to be made the official opposition at Westminster - arguing that its

Commons leader enjoys the support of more MPs than Jeremy Corbyn.

There are currently 54 SNP MPs, but only 40 of Labour's 229 MPs expressed support

for Mr Corbyn on Tuesday...

Makes sense - why not?

SNP bids to replace Labour as official Commons opposition

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-36660386

The SNP is to ask to be made the official opposition at Westminster - arguing that its

Commons leader enjoys the support of more MPs than Jeremy Corbyn.

There are currently 54 SNP MPs, but only 40 of Labour's 229 MPs expressed support

for Mr Corbyn on Tuesday...

Makes sense - why not?

The official Opposition is the Parliamentary Labour Party, not Jeremy Corbyn who just leads it.  

This I think is the crux of the problem. Whilst he may or may not have explicitly said that this is what he wants to do, it looks like it is what he's doing. He wants to create a movement, because his political career has consisted of being parts of similar movements. I worry that he thinks he can enact social change through left-wing pressure more effectively than he could as Prime Minister. I don't think he wants to be PM. He's using this platform to better his own cause. I worry that he doesn't know the damage he is doing, or worse, he does know but he is willing to make that sacrifice.