Scottish Cup holders v Aberdeen

Bambino7

The Scottish Cup hasn't provided a lot of excitement this season, and the last 8 was pretty uninspiring, so this game could well be the highlight of this season's competition for the neutral.. given that the other semi and the final will probably be routine Celtic victories.
Despite being an established championship club, Hibs have become a very good Cup side, and seem to be good at raising their game against better opposition.  Aberdeen have been consistent this season in the league, though have ground out cup wins rather than done anything spectacular.
Should be a great occasion, pretty much a full house with no oldfirm anywhere in sight. Hopefully BBC get this one, and sky get the other tie.
You feel if aberdeen play at their best they will have too much for hibs, but if they're not on their game then the Cup spirit of the plucky hibees, along with a couple of decent attacking players, means they are more than capable of pulling off the win.

Thank Christ an actual post about the game.

• Replies 1.6k
11 minutes ago, AberDon said:

How did beating us in the last semi end?

5-1, was it?

It was indeed.  I don't need to tell you how winning last seasons semi ended mind :)

1 minute ago, Jordan Rode said:

It was indeed.  I don't need to tell you how winning last seasons semi ended mind :)

I was more than happy with that result, to be honest.

40 minutes ago, Romeo said:

The last cup final we played them in was ridiculously easy. Rolled over and took it.

The ultimate bed shitters. 

Hibs, of course, have never shat it in a cup final and took a horsing... 

(And nae from a decent Celtic team either.)

Enjoying this thread so far. A complete farce only a day after the draw. 

We've already had recent results and of course the running theme of attendances.

It won't be long until someone copy and pastes the honours won of both clubs, the comparison of European records and the relegation and relegation's that never happened argument catches fire.

:) 

2 minutes ago, shootingboots said:

We've already had recent results and of course the running theme of attendances.

It won't be long until someone copy and pastes the honours won of both clubs, the comparison of European records and the relegation and relegation's that never happened argument catches fire.

:) 

I'm more surprised that the Hibs fans are actually talking about Hibs rather than their beloved Celtic - their main team. :whistle

[emoji4] 

Our European cups - Lisbon Lions 1967. My dad was there as a wee lad, still talks about it to this day. Spine-tingling stuff.

Aberdeen's European cups - f**k all.

5 minutes ago, Fraser Fyvie said:

Our European cups - Lisbon Lions 1967. My dad was there as a wee lad, still talks about it to this day. Spine-tingling stuff.

Hope your Dad made it out of the crowd unscathed.

9 minutes ago, Fraser Fyvie said:

Aberdeen's European cups - f**k all.

Gothenburg Team would have beaten the Lisbon Lions. 

More Scotland caps, better manager.

1 hour ago, PauloPerth said:

The Scottish Cup hasn't provided a lot of excitement this season, and the last 8 was pretty uninspiring, so this game could well be the highlight of this season's competition for the neutral.. given that the other semi and the final will probably be routine Celtic victories.

Despite being an established championship club, Hibs have become a very good Cup side, and seem to be good at raising their game against better opposition.  Aberdeen have been consistent this season in the league, though have ground out cup wins rather than done anything spectacular.

Should be a great occasion, pretty much a full house with no oldfirm anywhere in sight. Hopefully BBC get this one, and sky get the other tie.

You feel if aberdeen play at their best they will have too much for hibs, but if they're not on their game then the Cup spirit of the plucky hibees, along with a couple of decent attacking players, means they are more than capable of pulling off the win.

Excellent post. Without doubt the most sensible one on here today

3 hours ago, lubo_blaha said:

Let's all just put our differences aside and be thankful that we both have a Shinnie in our team instead of an Osbourne.

Andrew Shinnie is fucking shite. 

2 hours ago, kent_don said:

Lets entertain this crowd wankery of "Hibs have higher attendances." - for the two minutes it takes to retrieve the last three seasons average attendance figures:

Aberdeen

2015/2016    17,704
2014/2015    17,897
2013/2014    14,861

Hibs

2015/2016    9,291
2014/2015    10,170
2013/2014    11,028

Hibs have consistently had lower attendances in the past 3 seasons by some distance. Half a season off the back of a cup win and being top of the table. It'll soon drop when you're struggling to stay in the top league again

Aberdeen averaging crowds of 17k 

This isn't the 70s m8

1 hour ago, Dunty said:

Aberdeen's is actually.

2015/16: 13,094

2014/15: 13,359

2013/14: 12,394

Still higher than Hibs mind.

This is their glory years. They'll lose the semi, limp into the premiership, finish sixth next season, and return to shit crowds and being irrelevant.

Aberdeen haven't been relevant for about 30 years. Not to mention being notorious bottlers since rangers died. 

27 minutes ago, AberDon said:

Hope your Dad made it out of the crowd unscathed.

Hopefully Aberdeen fans dressed as sheep make it off their trains unscaved this time.

image.png

We simply have to beat hibs as we are the only ones with a hope of beating Celtic in the final, underdogs though we may be.

The thought of Hibs celebrating at Hampden no matter which of their teams win the final gives me the proper boak as it should every decent football fan in Scotland. The green love-in has had it's amusing moments but you've jumped the shark now and it is about time we handed out a bit of knock-out competition telt to this yo-yo club.