Summer Football

Hello.  I am a student doing a research project on the merits of switching to summer football for the senior men's game.  I have managed to interview various players and coaches, but need the opinions of the fans.  I would appreciate if people could fill out this short survey.  It should only take a few minutes as it is very short.  Thank you.

https://www.surveymonkey.co.uk/r/3L9PQFQ

Done.

Your results will be interesting. As always with this topic it is easy to ask players, coaches and fans "would you like to play in the summer" - what that actually looks like in practice, and how that would actually work, is a very different matter. While I appreciate the survey is asking pretty general questions, it doesn't define what "summer football" is, and it also assumes that it would "avoid playing over the winter months". In practice a summer season would run from mid-January to mid-December. If you ask people "would you like to pay less tax" they all respond positively - when you explain what the consequences of that are, it's different. Also playing through a WC/Euros means going without players, not just clashing for fans and TV's attention, which people sometimes forget - particularly now 24-team Euros and 48-team WC.

8 minutes ago, cmontheloknow said:

Though given how desperately dull and cagey these international tournaments are becoming, an alternative could be a blessed relief!

The last one was rotten.

The one before that though was absolutely tremendous.

37 minutes ago, cmontheloknow said:

They all blend into one. But yes Brazil was good. Don't have fond memories of South Africa or Euro 2012 though.

Agreed.

I thought the trend had been ever poorer for a while.

The last World Cup was really good though.

What courses involve so much research on football in Scotland? I assume it's a course at some shitehouse like Paisley or University of Edinburgh.