St Johnstone FC European Tour 17/18

Steve McQueen

• Replies 1k
what has our national team got to do with our clubs in Europe? 

Well four of this team are in Lithuania squads, and another seven are in their youth teams.

I don't care what coefficient there is as long as The Saints go marching on.

Hope you all make it to the league format, St Johnstone deserve it. After years of making it into Europe something has to give and a good run is surely on the cards for you.

Mon the Saints.

so it's a very poor Lithuanian team?

Which drew at Hampden, with Scotland. A Scotland team not one Saints player can get near.

This "gulf in class" people create by looking at the hugely flawed ranking systems is moronic.

Just now, RandomGuy. said:

Which drew at Hampden, with Scotland. A Scotland team not one Saints player can get near.

This "gulf in class" people create by looking at the hugely flawed ranking systems is moronic.

Some people are still living in the 80's? The gulf between quality of players over the past 30 years since I have been watching footy has diminished. The wee so called countries are producing players we don't and they play in the big leagues of Europe and are of far better quality than Scotland can produce in recent years.

More and more so called massive clubs have been slipping up to the minnows more often.

1 hour ago, wastecoatwilly said:

Listen Lithuania are ranked 50th out of 55 countries,Scotland are sitting 24th why are you not thinking st johnstone can beat this team?

Celtic's European record over the past few years has been an embarrassment.

Sit doon.

2 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

You are making no sense did any of the fk trakai players play for Lithuania that day?
you are making sweeping statements about gulf in class and massive favourites (only you have mentioned)
For me the Scottish league is better than the Lithuanian league this is why st johnstone should go through.

You are making no sense did any of the fk trakai players play for Lithuania that day?
you are making sweeping statements about gulf in class and massive favourites (only you have mentioned)
For me the Scottish league is better than the Lithuanian league this is why st johnstone should go through.

We should be the better team, yes. But it'll be tight. They're on a great run of form and are formidable at home, never losing a home European tie, maybe down to a bizarre plastic surface which will be a nightmare for us when we travel there.

That means we're reliant on the first leg, and with them halfway through a season and having won their last game 8-0, while we've had a couple of weeks training and a few kick abouts, it drags the two teams far closer together.

You find these teams are all comfortable on the ball, and tactically astute aswell, even the "shite" teams we've faced like Minsk and Alashkert have looked better teams than most we then faced in the league.

1 hour ago, wastecoatwilly said:

Listen Lithuania are ranked 50th out of 55 countries,Scotland are sitting 24th why are you not thinking st johnstone can beat this team?

download.jpg.6867ac159164c04b1ebc0a9d69ba1c97.jpg

Now f**k off and troll somewhere else.

8 hours ago, PauloPerth said:

This has the all too familiar feel of people from elsewhere predicting we should win comfortably, based purely on the fact that we've never heard of them.  They've probably not heard of us either.

They're second in their league after 16 matches, having only lost 2.  The truth is we haven't a fucking clue what they'll be like until we see them against us.

It reminds me of the build up to the alashkert game, which was winnable, but they were far from the shitey armenian farmers folk made them out to be beforehand.

Think I'd prefer it when we get to the group stages up against Arsenal, Villarreal, Lazio or Real Sociedad... at least you know what you're up against. :blink:

Absolutely spot on. The foreign farmers even did better against Kairat in the next round than Aberdeen did but don't mention that bit of course.

Anyone that thinks Scottish clubs should be cuffing supposedly diddy teams is trolling, not being paying attention or is a member of the Spreadsheet Loyal. In the real world, like it or not, most Scottish teams are Euro diddies these days. I'll just be happy to get through this tie as a walk over it certainly isn't.

25 minutes ago, RandomGuy. said:

We should be the better team, yes. But it'll be tight. They're on a great run of form and are formidable at home, never losing a home European tie, maybe down to a bizarre plastic surface which will be a nightmare for us when we travel there.

That means we're reliant on the first leg, and with them halfway through a season and having won their last game 8-0, while we've had a couple of weeks training and a few kick abouts, it drags the two teams far closer together.

You find these teams are all comfortable on the ball, and tactically astute aswell, even the "shite" teams we've faced like Minsk and Alashkert have looked better teams than most we then faced in the league.

They have only played 3 home ties in Europe so there is a lack of experience,they're plenty of plastic pitches in Scotland granted with different quality
The short break that the clubs have had shouldn't have much effect on the players much the same as the winter break
Granted it will be st johnstone first competitive game so for me the players should be champing at the bit to play again for the new season.

1 minute ago, wastecoatwilly said:

They have only played 3 home ties in Europe so there is a lack of experience,they're plenty of plastic pitches in Scotland granted with different quality

You've probably seen yourself how drastically different that quality can be.