The European football level St. Mirren FC 2024/25 thread

43 minutes ago, Div said:

I think we can safely say that the new kit(s) will feature checks in some shape or form.

The website and social feeds are all checks recently, it can't be a coincidence. They are fucking everywhere!

Sounds a bit worrying tbh

1 hour ago, Coventry Saint said:

So if it was a different shirt, you mean? 😂

Nah, same shirt, just don’t have the stripes as graduated faded ones, and don’t have the sponsor logo on a white rectangle… could also ask the bloke wearing it to cheer up a bit. 😀

13 minutes ago, TPAFKA Jersey 2 said:

Switched on the NI game just before they brought McMenamin on for the last half hour. He’s looked pretty lively.

However, commentators were saying he’s been attracting a lot of attention. If that’s true, I doubt we’ll be getting him. 

Watched a bit of that as well (Norn Iron are pish by the way). 

McMenamin left-footed but played wide right in a front 3. Didn't see that much of the ball, but had one rasping shot which the keeper tipped over.

Certainly won't be the replacement for Main though. More like Jay Henderson or Dylan Connolly in style. 

16 minutes ago, Buttocks Brown said:

Watched a bit of that as well (Norn Iron are pish by the way). 

McMenamin left-footed but played wide right in a front 3. Didn't see that much of the ball, but had one rasping shot which the keeper tipped over.

Certainly won't be the replacement for Main though. More like Jay Henderson or Dylan Connolly in style. 

Aye. Probably didn’t see enough of him to know exactly what he is but agree he seems to look like more of a winger. Only thing that makes me think he might be a bit more than that is his goal scoring record. It’s a helluva lot of goals for someone if they only play on the wing. He looks reasonably solid too. Not a wee skinny winger. 

50 minutes ago, TPAFKA Jersey 2 said:

Aye. Probably didn’t see enough of him to know exactly what he is but agree he seems to look like more of a winger. Only thing that makes me think he might be a bit more than that is his goal scoring record. It’s a helluva lot of goals for someone if they only play on the wing. He looks reasonably solid too. Not a wee skinny winger. 

I would imagine our scouts will have observed McMenamin on numerous occasions having taking advice from people in N Ireland who are more familiar with his career.

IMO that's probably better evidence of his abilities than seeing a cameo appearance as a sub tonight. 

Quite scarily, our first pre season game is just over a week away.

Currently, going into that Glentoran match, our strongest side looks like:

Carson

Strain     Fraser     Gallagher    R. Taylor  Tanser

O'Hara         Gogic        Baccus

Grieve           Brophy(?)

Bench of Urminsky, F. Taylor, Offord, Flynn, Jamieson, Boyd-Munce, Kiltie and Olusanya

Think it's fairly plain to see looking at the lineup that we still have a good first XI with a few really glaring holes thst need improved. Left back, left centre back and centre forward are musts. A right centre back as well would be good as I think Fraser is a good option but never sold on starting him every week.

Behind thst though, we're very thin on the ground. CBM and Kiltie are the only players there that you'd think could push for a regular start currently.

Edited by djchapsticks

So looking at the gossip and links so far we have the following away or potentially away and linked players to potentially replace them

LCB Dunne 

CB Jacob Bedeau

LB/LWB Small 

LB/LWB Ali Koiki

LB/LWB Adam Montgomery

CB Shaughnessy/ RB/LB Tait 

RB/CB Oludare Olufunwa

CDM/CM Erharhon 

CDM/CM Faud Sule

ST/LW Watt

ST/LW Kwame Peprah

ST Main

ST Robert Street

ST Stav Nahmani

RW Henderson 

ST/RW Conor McMenamin

2 hours ago, SS77 said:

The whole squad will be there.

Totally. With fitness and togetherness being focus of Robo and co I would imagine no one gets to miss this. Get new and existing players together and fit as quickly as possible. 

He would not want another Watt. He had been at a professional football team and came to us really unfit to their standards. I would imagine they want us to be as fit as we can be for the start of the season. 

Bit concerned at the lack of confirmed signings so far. Had a look back and this time last year we already had Carson, Ayunga, O'Hara and Olusanya in the door, Baccus was an open secret and Strain and Gallagher were imminent.

It may be there are guys signed who haven't been announced, and it could be argued less work needs done to the squad than a year ago, but for no one to officially be signed when Robinson likes his work done early is a bit surprising.

Do English contracts generally end at the end of June? Could that be why we've not announced anyone yet cos we're signing mostly English based players and we're waiting for them to be available 🤷‍♂️

4 minutes ago, jm1 said:

Do English contracts generally end at the end of June? Could that be why we've not announced anyone yet cos we're signing mostly English based players and we're waiting for them to be available 🤷‍♂️

English contracts officially expire 30th June