The Celtic All Seasons thread

Couple of news and rumours

1. Looks like Steven Caulker to Celtic is in progress.  Apparently QPR will allow him to go for no initial fee but with a sell-on clause

2. There are rumours that Emilio Izaguirre may be on his way out, would leave us exposed at LB if Tierney gets hurt

3. Kolo Toure could re-sign as a player/coach

4. The latest contestant on "who is linked to Moussa Dembele" is Arsenal, who have been linked in the past but apparently now are linked again

Edited by senorsoupe

1 hour ago, wastecoatwilly said:

After watching Ntcham in the last 2 games it's hard to see where Armstrong and biton fit into the first 11

Ntcham certainly impressed me last night, he's definitely ahead of McGregor and Bitton in the midfielder depth chart but it's too early to see how he compares to Armstrong IMHO.  Even if Armstrong is the 4th best midfielder in the team it's a pretty nice problem to have!

7 minutes ago, Henke said:

I see yer from Ontario district,do youn know Kendora & Thunder bay area's?

I know where they are, have never been to either place because Ontario is very big, they are very far away from where I live, and there isn't much there except for rocks and trees and trees and rocks and water.  

1 minute ago, senorsoupe said:

Ntcham certainly impressed me last night, he's definitely ahead of McGregor and Bitton in the midfielder depth chart but it's too early to see how he compares to Armstrong IMHO.  Even if Armstrong is the 4th best midfielder in the team it's a pretty nice problem to have!

You could put Armstrong were rogic plays in any giving game we have brown centre,Sinclair,Forrest wider so the balance of the team only allows one or two more depending on the system.

Just now, wastecoatwilly said:

You could put Armstrong were rogic plays in any giving game we have brown centre,Sinclair,Forrest wider so the balance of the team only allows one or two more depending on the system.

McGregor can also play in the Rogic AM role and Ntcham may also be able to play up there so we have plenty of versatility in the centre of the park.  Gotta think that Bitton will be on his way out and Kouassi will go somewhere on loan

I agree with posters on Ntcham's impact, looked lively and showed some clever technical interchanges with other players around the oppositions box. Looks like he knows how take a player on but then again it was only Linfield and I'll wait to see if he can do the damage up against the Norwegians.

Nice to see strength and depth in the midfield area and a good headache to have to keep the player pool competing for a first team place.

Hopefully Caulker signs up and will improve our defensive choices no doubt if he settles in and feels better and part of the team.

Have to say that Brendan has excellent man management skills imo even though a couple of players haven't shined under his tenure like Bitton & GMS but I guess they are suited to a different style of play.

23 minutes ago, senorsoupe said:

McGregor can also play in the Rogic AM role and Ntcham may also be able to play up there so we have plenty of versatility in the centre of the park.  Gotta think that Bitton will be on his way out and Kouassi will go somewhere on loan

Mcgregor plays in a auld fashion inside right position, rogic plays in a more number 10 role behind the striker
since Rodgers has came in he is only playing one sitting midfielder  in brown so with Ntcham coming into the side for me armstrong and biton go down in the pecking order
Henderson and kouassi are behind benyu

How is it visiting fans get treated to extensive checks that would put most airports to shame, have banners taken to check they are of suitable dimensions, yet home fans at celtic Park have brought many many penalties upon the club and the club pedal some rubbish in a statement?

5 hours ago, jaggyness said:

How is it visiting fans get treated to extensive checks that would put most airports to shame, have banners taken to check they are of suitable dimensions, yet home fans at celtic Park have brought many many penalties upon the club and the club pedal some rubbish in a statement?

tumblr_lre4077M5s1qd7xm6o1_500.gif

11 hours ago, jaggyness said:

A fair question Jaggy,hope you're not expecting a reasoned reply.

15 hours ago, jaggyness said:

Is it not generally more common that Away fans generally get searched more than home fans? The green brigade have a shit load of 2 stick banners at every game, I would imagine it would be quite easy to get Wednesdays talked about two in if the staff assume its the usual ones.

2 minutes ago, Henke said:

I'm gonni miss the wee fella well had a great first season then got injured,always reliable,i think Jonny Hayes can play LB as cover

Yeah I thought he must be close to decade with us now a look at wiki says 7 years. A nice guy but was never the same player after breaking his ankle unfortunately. Didnt realise Hayes could play LB, I suppose Mcgregor can as well but I would rather have a specialised back up.

Good luck to Izzy on your next adventure.  Shame it has to be in that backwater shitehole of a country known as Saudi Arabia but at least he will get paid well, just hope his wife doesn't like driving too much.  Emilio was a great servant for Celtic, really exciting and didn't complain when Tierney took over his position in the first team, he just worked hard and waited for his opportunity like a good professional.  

As for a replacement, McGregor can play back there, but personally I would like to see young Calvin Miller get more first team opportunities as KT's understudy.  Always nice to see academy lads come through into the first team

5 hours ago, gannonball said:

Izzy is away to Saudi Arabia apparently, I was content to have him as back up but were getting over a million quid for him.

Sorry to say I'm not too bothered about Izzy moving on, he never was the same defender after his injury. Looked like he was second guessing whether or not to fully commit into a tackle like he used to do. Still decent cover but best for him to get regular first team footy and may become the defender he was with Celtic. The Church in Shawlands he attends will deffo miss his 10% tithing though. He was a generous giver.

5 hours ago, gannonball said:

Celtic have announced our season tickets have sold out again. Tremendous news.

I'd have rather you preferred to post that tomorrow and tagged Kinky and quoted "sell oot Saturday, for the whole season". :lol: