Portugal v Spain

• Replies 502
Is De Gea still rated?
He seems to be a bit of a Neuer level diddy at times.

Odds on for the Golden Gloves by the fanboys apparently!!

1 hour ago, Tynieness said:

Bizarre the amount of people seething about a sensational player putting in a wonderful performance in a great match.

Perhaps they prefer watching games of the standard of Morocco v Iran.

While I agree with the gist of your point, Morocco v Iran was a better game than Uruguay v Egypt.

It was clearly a sensational game and a last minute goal is always exciting. But the sheer weight of folk on Twitter with "ALWAYS DOES IT WHEN IT REALLY MATTERS!!" seem blissfully unaware that this game is pretty much meaningless considering they'll both stroll through the group stage regardless. 

3 minutes ago, 1320Lichtie said:

Still don’t get how people can prefer Ronaldo to be honest. Think he’s fucking class mind you but much prefer enjoying Messi in full flow.

1 minute ago, Cerberus said:

Is this a post from 2014?

If you're debating Messi v Ronaldo and are over 12 years old you're for the watching.

Two great players, two of the best of all time. Just watch and enjoy them without having to be Team Messi or Team Ronaldo, like some cretin watching Love Island

That’s what you watch the World Cup to hopefully see.. the best players turn up in big games, Spain littered with talent the night with everyone turning up and Ronaldo producing a fantastic performance like that at 33 am topping it aff with a stunning free kick.

just enjoy both ffs I’ve nae favourites, hope messi lights up the tournament ana tbh that’s why I love the World Cup an always have.. hoping for games like tonight. I got sheer joy from Ronaldo having a great game, dunno why you wouldn’t enjoy it if you love fitba

ps had a few pints so feeling sentimental an shit.. it will wear aff by the time Peru Denmark are playing out a shit fest the morn :lol: hope no mind..

3 minutes ago, killiefan27 said:

If you're debating Messi v Ronaldo and are over 12 years old you're for the watching.

Two great players, two of the best of all time. Just watch and enjoy them without having to be Team Messi or Team Ronaldo, like some cretin watching Love Island

Don't be slinging out OFTW insults when you've got a picture of Taylor Swift as your avatar.

1 minute ago, ali_91 said:

Christian Erikson will make sure that doesn’t happen. 

Sorry, I also don’t mind the new Irn bru. Hope we can put this behind us.

Aye, I’m a big fan so hoping for the best. 

Ps i’m a freak who loves irn bru XTRA :whistle

There’s a difference between preferring to watch someone and thinking one is a better footballer, although I prefer watching Ronaldo as it happens, his header against Roma for instance is absolute football porn for me. 

Ronaldo is clearly a more effective player than Messi.

Messi is clearly a more technically gifted footballer than Ronaldo. 

Ronaldo comes away with unbelievable moments in football games, but over the 90 minutes he can be quite quiet I think. Messi can come away with unbelievable moments but is also involved in absolutely everything, runs the show.

Love Ronaldo too though and I do indeed enjoy watching both.

Messi is more influential on the flow of a football match over 90 minutes than Ronaldo. He's the heartbeat of any and all attacking football. Everything goes through him. 

However, Ronaldo produces more explosive, game changing moments than Messi. If you're chasing a goal from nothing, Ronaldo is the one man you want in your team. 

Clearly the top two footballers of all time for me. The debate will rage on for years after their careers are over as to who is better, though. It's all subjective and a completely unwinnable argument as there will always be people rooting for one camp and in doing so, downplaying the achievements of the other. Which is ridiculous.