Portugal v Spain

Firstly, Love Island is class.
Secondly, people that sit on the fence when it comes to saying who’s better wear half and half scarfs. I mean, if you genuinely think Messi is better you’re a dribbling simpleton who can’t separate your heart from your head, but at least you have the balls to give an opinion. 

Probably one of the best posts I’ve ever seen on here.

• Replies 502

Anyway
A soft penalty, a goalkeeping brainfart and a freekick so sweet it reminded me of Kyle Lafferty shouldn’t detract from the fact that if you drew Spain in the sweepstake at work you wouldn’t swap with whoever got Portugal

And if you have Costa for top scorer you’d think twice before swapping with Ronaldo

If that’s what Spain are like in disarray they are going to be awesome if they get their act together

1 hour ago, djchapsticks said:

Messi is more influential on the flow of a football match over 90 minutes than Ronaldo. He's the heartbeat of any and all attacking football. Everything goes through him. 

However, Ronaldo produces more explosive, game changing moments than Messi. If you're chasing a goal from nothing, Ronaldo is the one man you want in your team. 

Clearly the top two footballers of all time for me. The debate will rage on for years after their careers are over as to who is better, though. It's all subjective and a completely unwinnable argument as there will always be people rooting for one camp and in doing so, downplaying the achievements of the other. Which is ridiculous. 

Messi isn't a dick though that settles it for me.

Let’s be serious here, it’s only absolute jokers that think Messi is better than Ronaldo. Don’t get me wrong Messi is an incredible player but since the performance enhancing drugs have either worn off or ran out, he’s not the same player as he was from 2008-2012. He’s still good for a hat-trick against your Magaluf Uniteds etc but when it comes to the big stage he’s like a ghost out on the pitch.

Quite sad that his career is ending the way it is imo.

22 minutes ago, Dominique Malonga said:

Let’s be serious here, it’s only absolute jokers that think Messi is better than Ronaldo. Don’t get me wrong Messi is an incredible player but since the performance enhancing drugs have either worn off or ran out, he’s not the same player as he was from 2008-2012. He’s still good for a hat-trick your against Magaluf Uniteds etc but when it comes to the big stage he’s like a ghost out on the pitch.

What you should do is this. Do you still have the original packaging your computer came in? If not, use any box, but if so, fetch it, turn your computer off, pack it carefully. Do you remember where you bought it? Put it in the car and drive it back there. When you hand it over, tell them you can't have a computer because you're too stupid to use the internet.

Reasonable people can debate the relative merits of the two players and have their opinions. Reasonable people can't call Messi a ghost.

The rest of us can refresh our memories of his 45 goals this season (13 of the game winners) in 54 appearances including 3 v Real Madrid, 2 v Juventus, 2 v Chelsea and 1 v Atletico Madrid via this: https://www.transfermarkt.com/lionel-messi/alletore/spieler/28003/plus/0?saison=2017&verein=&liga=&wettbewerb=&pos=&minute=&pos=&torart=&stand=

He also plays deeper, has hugely more assists and plays many more passes than Ronaldo.

48 minutes ago, Dominique Malonga said:

Let’s be serious here, it’s only absolute jokers that think Messi is better than Ronaldo. Don’t get me wrong Messi is an incredible player but since the performance enhancing drugs have either worn off or ran out, he’s not the same player as he was from 2008-2012. He’s still good for a hat-trick your against Magaluf Uniteds etc but when it comes to the big stage he’s like a ghost out on the pitch.

Hmmm. Messi has a better record against Real Madrid in the last 6 years since his career has seemingly 'fizzled out' than Ronaldo has had against Barcelona. 

Again, it's the daftness of fan boys who want to somehow build one of these two legends up at the expense of knocking the other down. Absolutely needless. 

Anyone calling Messi a ghost is quite frankly trolling. 

What you should do is this. Do you still have the original packaging your computer came in? If not, use any box, but if so, fetch it, turn your computer off, pack it carefully. Do you remember where you bought it? Put it in the car and drive it back there. When you hand it over, tell them you can't have a computer because you're too stupid to use the internet.
Reasonable people can debate the relative merits of the two players and have their opinions. Reasonable people can't call Messi a ghost.
The rest of us can refresh our memories of his 45 goals this season (13 of the game winners) in 54 appearances including 3 v Real Madrid, 2 v Juventus, 2 v Chelsea and 1 v Atletico Madrid via this: https://www.transfermarkt.com/lionel-messi/alletore/spieler/28003/plus/0?saison=2017&verein=&liga=&wettbewerb=&pos=&minute=&pos=&torart=&stand=
He also plays deeper, has hugely more assists and plays many more passes than Ronaldo.

Alright Leo mate how’s it going ?

Canna stop watching nacho’s goal, unreal technique to get the spin and power that he did while getting it on target too..  plus the way it hit the post and went in the other side of the net made it look even better.. sexual stuff.

Ronaldo’s free kick wasnae too bad either :wub:

Malonga is a good to very good troll. Excellent work across numerous threads. Notably the Mike Tyson one recently.

Ali_91 is a pish poor try-hard type prone to bouts of anger regarding internet things.

Hopefully this information will allow responses to be tailored accordingly.

8 hours ago, djchapsticks said:

Messi is more influential on the flow of a football match over 90 minutes than Ronaldo. He's the heartbeat of any and all attacking football. Everything goes through him. 

However, Ronaldo produces more explosive, game changing moments than Messi. If you're chasing a goal from nothing, Ronaldo is the one man you want in your team. 

Clearly the top two footballers of all time for me. The debate will rage on for years after their careers are over as to who is better, though. It's all subjective and a completely unwinnable argument as there will always be people rooting for one camp and in doing so, downplaying the achievements of the other. Which is ridiculous. 

Any chance of a Portugal v Argentina Final? 

A game like last night with Messi and Ronaldo just slugging it out with counter attacks would be one of the best Finals ever. 

Fantastic game last night.  One of the best games at a major tournament I've seen in a long time.  Nacho's goal has to go down as one of the greats. 

Ronaldo's free kick is even more impressive when you consider that he's usually gubbins at them.

20 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

Malonga is a good to very good troll. Excellent work across numerous threads. Notably the Mike Tyson one recently.

Ali_91 is a pish poor try-hard type prone to bouts of anger regarding internet things.

Hopefully this information will allow responses to be tailored accordingly.

image.png.59f4b2fb13932cb6d6ab6362fbd44a41.png

Cringe.