Hibs vs Rangers

On 03/03/2019 at 20:18, Green Day said:

We may lose the match but will undoubtedly win the buckie bottle throwing moron competitio..........oh, sorry,  just realised who we are playing.

:whistle

• Replies 493
1 hour ago, Green Day said:

Let me know what "serious sanctions" are available, given no strict liability exists.

Not that I am suggesting Hibs should be treated more harshly than other clubs - but your point is wrong. The SPFL could make them play behind closed doors, or whatever.

56 minutes ago, Green Day said:

Let me know what "serious sanctions" are available, given no strict liability exists.

Hefty fines the club and closure of sections of the ground. In the last week alone, two players have been attacked by people in that section of Easter Road, a couple of months ago a Hibs fan was caught on national television shouting racist abuse at a Hearts player and earlier in the season a Hibs supporter assaulted the Hearts goalkeeper in a match at Tynecastle. 

Hibs clearly have a problem with the behaviour of their support and good on Leeann Dempster for openly criticising the idiots on the TV last night, but the authorities should be throwing the book at the club to make an example of them.

5 hours ago, MJC said:

More daft comments about lodges etc. :rolleyes:

If you really want to have a serious discussion about it, fine. In answer to your 'question' the Tynecastle coin thrower hasn't, to my knowledge, been caught but it's harder to catch someone when they haven't been seen committing the offence. However that didn't stop it being front page news the next day AND the first minister speaking about it....I wonder if we'll see the same here? On the occasion that a Hearts fan did almost exactly the same as that Hibs fan, to Neil Lennon back in 2011, there certainly was government intervention, with every MSP condemning it when it was discussed in parliament the very next day, along with calls for Tynecastle to be shut down. 

Hibs clearly have a serious problem with a section of their support, as has been displayed over the past week and should be looking at serious sanctions.

5 hours ago, MJC said:

More daft comments about lodges etc. :rolleyes:

If you really want to have a serious discussion about it, fine. In answer to your 'question' the Tynecastle coin thrower hasn't, to my knowledge, been caught but it's harder to catch someone when they haven't been seen committing the offence. However that didn't stop it being front page news the next day AND the first minister speaking about it....I wonder if we'll see the same here? On the occasion that a Hearts fan did almost exactly the same as that Hibs fan, to Neil Lennon back in 2011, there certainly was government intervention, with every MSP condemning it when it was discussed in parliament the very next day, along with calls for Tynecastle to be shut down. 

Hibs clearly have a serious problem with a section of their support, as has been displayed over the past week and should be looking at serious sanctions.

She might, but it's less likely that the First Minister will see fit to comment this time. Her husband is a Hibby, so at home she probably gets fed the propaganda that Hibbies are all loveable socialist rascals. 

Hefty fines the club and closure of sections of the ground. In the last week alone, two players have been attacked by people in that section of Easter Road, a couple of months ago a Hibs fan was caught on national television shouting racist abuse at a Hearts player and earlier in the season a Hibs supporter assaulted the Hearts goalkeeper in a match at Tynecastle. 
Hibs clearly have a problem with the behaviour of their support and good on Leeann Dempster for openly criticising the idiots on the TV last night, but the authorities should be throwing the book at the club to make an example of them.

His point was that the rules don’t allow for those sanctions as they stand.

4 minutes ago, Pet Jeden said:

Not that I am suggesting Hibs should be treated more harshly than other clubs - but your point is wrong. The SPFL could make them play behind closed doors, or whatever.

4 minutes ago, MJC said:

OK lads, so I am unsure how many times we have to say it - the guys who did these things are erseholes and deserve to be locked up / banned or whatever.

However, I am not wearing your thinly veiled pish that Hibs are really bad and everyone else is whiter than white, so prepare for a bit of whataboutery below - 

Hearts fans racially abused their own player recently, Hearts fans threw coins at our manager, Hearts fans threw bottles at Hibs end at Tynecastle,  Hearts fans routinely sing sectarian songs, as do Celtic and Rangers fans, Celtic fans threw coins at Hearts keeper, Rangers fans threw bottles, coins, lighters etc last night.

So, is it just Hibs who are getting "sections of the ground closed" or "the book thrown at them" or "play behind closed doors"?

Just remember, all these nonsensical and hysterical calls were made in the days following our cup win and what happened? Did we have to replay the match, forfeit the cup, or pay £1M in damages.............all of which were mooted by a hysterical media, Rangers fans etc?

No is the answer, and until something is introduced that all clubs sign up for, you are pissing in the wind chaps.

It's a sad state of affairs when all of the media focus and narrative is on one wee drunken ned in a none-OF support, but not a single mention of the entirety of the South Stand belting out "f****n blood".

Nothing ever changes really.

6 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

Which is why I said that an example should be made of Hibs here.

1 minute ago, BawWatchin said:

It's a sad state of affairs when all of the media focus and narrative is on one wee drunken ned in a none-OF support, but not a single mention of the entirety of the South Stand belting out "f****n blood".

Nothing ever changes really.

So some daft, backward looking cretins singing a bigoted song is worse than football players being physically assaulted on the park?

15 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

Bingo

4 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

By making up new rules?

Exactly, the clubs need to sign up to this......and it aint happening this weekend:lol:

6 minutes ago, MJC said:

Which is why I said that an example should be made of Hibs here.

Clueless, really clueless

5 minutes ago, MJC said:

So some daft, backward looking cretins singing a bigoted song is worse than football players being physically assaulted on the park?

Its difficult to know where to start with this - you think that the sectarian songs bring nothing else with them? That no violence is perpetrated on the back of that?

Once again, as you seem to struggle.....nobody is defending these idiots in our support - but until all clubs sign up to Strict Liability then forget it. And as it stands, due to a larger number of bams in their support (even allowing for Hibs radges) Celtic and Rangers simply wont do it.

10 hours ago, IrishBhoy said:

Absolutely. He was over the moon there was a steward there to hold him back. 

What sort of weapon runs on to the pitch to do something like that, then starts shaking like a leaf when confronted. If he had actually managed to land a punch on Tavernier at least he would have a story to tell to his cell mates in the jail. 

The boy's a dead ringer for the Great Cornholio.

tenor.gif?itemid=9140104

I'm not going to get into the song debate, but what I will say is that you can't seriously be suggesting that incidents like last night happen because some daft bigots were singing a daft song? 

Your point about strict liability, I actually agree with and it will only work when ALL clubs are on board with it and all clubs face the same sanctions and condemnation when their supporters step out of line. The hypocrisy of so many in Scottish football, in the media and sites like this would struggle with SL in my opinion, because it would have to be 100% fair and free from any personal prejudice. Two weeks ago Rangers fans were being widely condemned for a song sung at Steve Clarke and any attempt to highlight the misbehaviour of other clubs was dismissed by that non term 'whatabouttery' yet here we are now, and the usual suspects are doing just that by bringing the songs sung by the Rangers support into the debate to try and take the heat off Hibs for their latest incident of misbehaving fans.

You can't have it both ways I'm afraid.

2 minutes ago, MJC said:

You can't have it both ways I'm afraid.

I am not trying to have it both ways, simply trying to highlight that this is not an issue confined to my club - and.........for the avoidance of all doubt.............the worst perpetrators of violence and bigotry are the two largest supported clubs, who will never sign up to SL.

If that is having my cake and eating it, well - yum, yum

25 minutes ago, MJC said:

That's genuinely a tricky one. 

They're certainly related.

3 minutes ago, Green Day said:

..the worst perpetrators of violence and bigotry are the two largest supported clubs

Really?

The worst perpetrators of 'bigotry' yes, I'll give you that one. But violence? The number of times Hibs fans have acted violently this season alone, including three incidents in the last week, would suggest that this isn't actually the case. I know the popular belief is that Old Firm fans, particularly one half of them, are violent louts who cause havoc wherever they go but from what I've seen this season and in recent years, that's not actually the case.