Cove Thread

Definitely the Dick Campbell Campbell route of Lower league/non league English players hoping to unearth the next Nouble. Difference is Livi got lucky with him and are attracting a higher standard. 
To be completely honest maybe was being optimistic signing wise but I thought the calibre or players cove would be attracting would be slightly higher. Players maybe championship standard willing to maybe drop down a league to get a good wage.

I wonder if this is the way Moorhouse and the Board thought going full time would have worked with half a team of unknowns 

13 hours ago, Moorie said:

Definitely the Dick Campbell Campbell route of Lower league/non league English players hoping to unearth the next Nouble. Difference is Livi got lucky with him and are attracting a higher standard. 
To be completely honest maybe was being optimistic signing wise but I thought the calibre or players cove would be attracting would be slightly higher. Players maybe championship standard willing to maybe drop down a league to get a good wage.

I wonder if this is the way Moorhouse and the Board thought going full time would have worked with half a team of unknowns 

This is exactly the strategy that has regressed Falkirk by years.  Scrapped our youth academy to 'invest' more in the 1st team budget and spunked all on the absolute bottom of the barrel full-time wannabes from down south who couldn't kick their own arse. 

Ironically the most damage done recruitment wise was under Hartley.

Buckle up lads.

On 07/08/2023 at 20:07, gav-ffc said:

Feel like half the lower league signings have been on trial at livi first. Interesting the statement doesn’t state where he was before as even a google search doesn’t bring up much. 

Haringey Borough FC.. Had a look down their squad list and not that I was expecting to recognise many if at all but appears to be the team that Olumide Durojaiye was playing at last season if you mind him.

1 hour ago, Chinatoon Bairn said:

Haringey Borough FC.. Had a look down their squad list and not that I was expecting to recognise many if at all but appears to be the team that Olumide Durojaiye was playing at last season if you mind him.

He started off well for us.

I think he may be local to Haringey.7EC907DF-4673-423D-92AF-20C156C82CBB.thumb.jpeg.42439228d0b67b232654a5a8bc45cfe5.jpeg

Edited by gav-ffc

24 minutes ago, Northboy said:

His records suggests he's at 3-4 clubs some seasons. How does that work? 

I know in Scotland you can/could play for as many Junior clubs in 1 season as you like, but only 2 Senior clubs. I'm not sure if the FA registration only overs you to Conference North/South level and anything under that is a free for all.

Cove signing number 20 this summer is 22 year old striker Scott Williamson on loan from Queen's Park for the season.

Feel he'll bring energy, drive and pressing to our front line, like Mitch in his youth, but whether he can be as deadly and prolific time will tell.

5 strikers now in the squad. Think our goals will be spread more evenly than past seasons.

Interesting to see who starts when all fit. Mitch misses tomorrow along with Fyvie. Both likely to return next week away to Mo.

Screenshot_2023-08-11-17-25-44-41_0b2fce7a16bf2b728d6ffa28c8d60efb.jpg

5 minutes ago, CoveRangers1922 said:

Cove signing number 20 this summer is 22 year old striker Scott Williamson on loan from Queen's Park for the season.

Feel he'll bring energy, drive and pressing to our front line, like Mitch in his youth, but whether he can be as deadly and prolific time will tell.

5 strikers now in the squad. Think our goals will be spread more evenly than past seasons.

Interesting to see who starts when all fit. Mitch misses tomorrow along with Fyvie. Both likely to return next week away to Mo.

Screenshot_2023-08-11-17-25-44-41_0b2fce7a16bf2b728d6ffa28c8d60efb.jpg

Keeping an eye on this one, hope he does well.  Has looked really good to me in the limited end-of-game time sub appearances he's had. Can hold the ball up and bring others into the game as well as a tireless press, and a natural finisher. If he gets regular starts this could be his big season.

On 08/08/2023 at 21:02, Moorie said:

I actually don’t think it’s the way Moorhouse and co thought going full time would go at all. They underestimated that the part-time targets they identified at the end of last season would want to give up their day jobs for less money to go ‘full time’. Paul Coutts and Kane Hester were apparently ‘approached’. I would have been tempted to break the bank (in Cove terms 🤣) for Hester as he will score goals anywhere but didn’t want full time football. The manager won’t have been too fussed about Coutts as I suspect he would have been touted as a future manager and that’s not what the ‘firm’ would have wanted. Not at all. Instead we have been open season for agents punting their double barrelled wares, knowing we are fairly desperate as the season got closer in a throwback to what happened with Peterhead last season. Same agents lining their pockets with scant regard to ‘growing the game’.

It’s been chaotic to say the least…… thats not how either our chairman or main sponsor made their money in their own businesses. 

Edited by Jimmy Plimsoles MBE

On 11/08/2023 at 17:42, Velvet Donkey said:

Keeping an eye on this one, hope he does well.  Has looked really good to me in the limited end-of-game time sub appearances he's had. Can hold the ball up and bring others into the game as well as a tireless press, and a natural finisher. If he gets regular starts this could be his big season.

He was good today. Got into good positions and held the ball up. Very good engine and I think he will do very well for us. Pretty sure I was standing next to his old man who was more enthusiastic than the rest of the home support put together.

Excited to see what he will bring to us.  

1 hour ago, Jimmy Plimsoles MBE said:

He was good today. Got into good positions and held the ball up. Very good engine and I think he will do very well for us. Pretty sure I was standing next to his old man who was more enthusiastic than the rest of the home support put together.

Excited to see what he will bring to us.  

First visit to your stadium & thought it was a tidy ground & befitting of your level of ambition……..however if you have aspirations for being more than a Highland league outfit with a sugar daddy may I suggest you invest in some ball boys/girls & sufficient supply of balls to ensure you don’t continue to resort to time wasting every time a ball exits the arena. Thought a multi ball system was now not optional at our level.

lit was now  

47 minutes ago, Kircer bairn said:

First visit to your stadium & thought it was a tidy ground & befitting of your level of ambition……..however if you have aspirations for being more than a Highland league outfit with a sugar daddy may I suggest you invest in some ball boys/girls & sufficient supply of balls to ensure you don’t continue to resort to time wasting every time a ball exits the arena. Thought a multi ball system was now not optional at our level.

lit was now  

That’s amusing because your level of ambition has hit its ceiling. No way you will go up automatically this season, if ever. If you are getting upset by a wee diddy club like us then our work at this level is done.

It’s good having a sugar daddy(s)((get your facts right)) that wants to invest the money they have made in our cash rich local economy. No one seems to  want to invest money into your club. Maybe the spice heeds wandering around your town centre might start a whip round? 

Hysterical 

Edited by Jimmy Plimsoles MBE

53 minutes ago, Jimmy Plimsoles MBE said:

That’s amusing because your level of ambition has hit its ceiling. No way you will go up automatically this season, if ever. If you are getting upset by a wee diddy club like us then our work at this level is done.

It’s good having a sugar daddy(s)((get your facts right)) that wants to invest the money they have made in our cash rich local economy. No one seems to  want to invest money into your club. Maybe the spice heeds wandering around your town centre might start a whip round? 

Hysterical 

Utter shite from first word to last.

5 hours ago, Rennieball said:

Your club's going bust haha!

No it isn’t

1 hour ago, Reggie Perrin said:

Truth is you are a tit.

What because I defend my club from fans of a team that will never ever get back to where they were because they have been left behind? Jealous of our wealthy benefactors and critical of our ground when your own will never ever be finished? 

I just find it all hysterical 

16 minutes ago, Jimmy Plimsoles MBE said:

No it isn’t

What because I defend my club from fans of a team that will never ever get back to where they were because they have been left behind? Jealous of our wealthy benefactors and critical of our ground when your own will never ever be finished? 

I just find it all hysterical 

Nope because you resorted to cheap digs about drugs, that has absolutely zero to do with us or our club. People with drug addictions are not to be ridiculed.

28 minutes ago, Harry Kinnear said:

Nope because you resorted to cheap digs about drugs, that has absolutely zero to do with us or our club. People with drug addictions are not to be ridiculed.

Strange behaviour from a cove fan. Total opposite of our regular cove fan on here. Strange attitude to have for a Cove supporter to be starting wars for no real reason. 

I head up to cove now and then if Aberdeen are away/playing the Sunday as it’s on my door step. Don’t see the need for the attempt to start rivalries as no real history in the league yet.

The guy clearly trying to be like the clubs last name in respect of attitude 

8 minutes ago, Moorie said:

Strange behaviour from a cove fan. Total opposite of our regular cove fan on here. Strange attitude to have for a Cove supporter to be starting wars for no real reason. 

I head up to cove now and then if Aberdeen are away/playing the Sunday as it’s on my door step. Don’t see the need for the attempt to start rivalries as no real history in the league yet.

The guy clearly trying to be like the clubs last name in respect of attitude 

If you read back the thread I didn’t start it ….