General Election 2019 - AND IT’S LIVE!

Frank Grimes

X in the box for   

467 members have voted

It’s a valid point by Bishop Briggs and one I have mentioned before.

Corbyn is going to get a better deal (he is literally incapable of defeating among the worst Tory governments ever so this is unlikely) and put it to a referendum (while undemocratically ignoring the original vote) against Remain so that voters can vote for his deal or to Remain.

Given Corbyn publicly stating he would back Remain, despite going back on the fence recently, how can we trust the deal will be any good considering he doesn’t even want to leave, and won’t even back his own deal? How can we trust he won’t purposely make the deal poor so that Remain wins?

We could lose the original will of the people simply because the losers couldn’t accept it, and Corbyn manipulates a deal so that Remain will be voted for.

Although, despite the views of many on here, Brexit is still well and truly alive down in England. The views of many are still strongly for Brexit and they’ll do anything to get it done. Despite Corbyn and Sturgeons attempts, Brexit will happen.

Just now, ICTJohnboy said:

That won't be a problem.

Ian Blackford will probably be depute PM in a Corbyn administration.

That would probably make the SNP as unelectable as the Lib Dems from here on in. Imagine having to vote through those catastrophic uncosted and economically illiterate policies that Labour have put in their manifesto. 

Sturgeon has already outlined that her wish is for a hung parliament. The reason is quite simple. Where the SNP can cause chaos and make noise around Westminister, they continue to divert attention away from their incompetence in government at Hollyrood. If Corbyn was to get enough seats to win with the SNP support - you can bet your bottom dollar that Sturgeon and Co would find a reason not to support him. It's not in the game plan. 

41 minutes ago, Jedi said:

Barnier himself saying no chance to an FTA by the end of next year, others also suggesting that the situation with N.Ireland will take 'at least' 5 years to sort out. Integrated supply chains with the EU to be placed under significant pressure to say the least, as paperwork and customs checks still have to be carried out but now in a friction filled line, rather than being part of the single market and customs union......but its okay, David Davis no less, has done the preparatory work, so it will be alright on the night.

Let me guess, the Daily Mail will say that the 'EU always caves at the last minute'.

Really? Wow! And he's such an objective person to quote on this subject.

tbf he's done his job well - but he has been able to constantly use time pressure when negotiating. He has also been aware that behind our own amateur team there was a government that didn't want to leave, a Commons and a Lords that didn't want to leave, a media and big business establishment that didn't want to leave. To say nothing of  a substantial minority of the electorate who were wetting their collective pants about the whole thing. Faced with such a lack of resolve, he might as well have demanded that we all send our first born to work in indentured servitude in Brussels. 

Edited by Pet Jeden

Weather’s looking none too clever tomorrow.

The crafty old Tories will no doubt have had the poor unappreciated posties do the hard lifting for them and their votes are now locked in and banked.

The various Parties’ evangelists who take the outdated pleasure in the symbolism of the trip to the Polling Station may find, I suspect, a damp squib result.

I wouldn’t be at all surprised to see a really -really- low turnout at the Stations tomorrow.

34 minutes ago, Malky3 said:

I hope all you daft Nationalists are going to get out of your beds tomorrow and that you'll make it to the polling station. We Conservatives are counting on you to get you're wee "X's" in the box for the SNP to keep those extreme Socialists out of Number 10.

Vote SNP - get Boris. 

Aye,I will get out of bed early, I'll even make your daughters bed for her. Go stick a tenner on St Mirren getting relegated and turn it into a double for Scottish independence by 2021. It's all gravy

y.

Edited by dirty dingus

Just now, alta-pete said:

Weather’s looking none too clever tomorrow.

The crafty old Tories will no doubt have had the poor unappreciated posties do the hard lifting for them and their votes are now locked in and banked.

The various Parties’ evangelists who take the outdated pleasure in the symbolism of the trip to the Polling Station may find, I suspect, a damp squib result.

I wouldn’t be at all surprised to see a really -really- low turnout at the Stations tomorrow.

Yep.

We'll see tomorrow I guess when they start counting but given the poor quality of the political debate over the last two months - I suspect the turnout would be pretty low regardless of the weather. Throw in some wind, rain and the fact that it's going to be dark when people are going to work or coming home from work, and I absolutely agree. It's likely to be one of the lowest turnouts of any general election in my lifetime. 

A turn out of less than 57.2% across the UK would be the lowest on record. That happened in 1918 after the First World War. The lowest in my lifetime would be the 59.4% that saw Tony Blair re-elected in 2001.

The EU referendum drew a turnout of 72.2%. There's not a hope in hell that that kind of figure will be reached tomorrow. 

34 minutes ago, Malky3 said:

I hope all you daft Nationalists are going to get out of your beds tomorrow and that you'll make it to the polling station. We Conservatives are counting on you to get you're wee "X's" in the box for the SNP to keep those extreme Socialists out of Number 10.

Vote SNP - get Boris. 

You're a disinformation troll.

You also wouldn't say no to voting to a racist, homophobic misogynist despite being asked repeatedly. That reflects really badly on you.

26 minutes ago, Sir Tarmo Kink said:

It’s a valid point by Bishop Briggs and one I have mentioned before.

Corbyn is going to get a better deal (he is literally incapable of defeating among the worst Tory governments ever so this is unlikely) and put it to a referendum (while undemocratically ignoring the original vote) against Remain so that voters can vote for his deal or to Remain.

Given Corbyn publicly stating he would back Remain, despite going back on the fence recently, how can we trust the deal will be any good considering he doesn’t even want to leave, and won’t even back his own deal? How can we trust he won’t purposely make the deal poor so that Remain wins?

We could lose the original will of the people simply because the losers couldn’t accept it, and Corbyn manipulates a deal so that Remain will be voted for.

Although, despite the views of many on here, Brexit is still well and truly alive down in England. The views of many are still strongly for Brexit and they’ll do anything to get it done. Despite Corbyn and Sturgeons attempts, Brexit will happen.

38% of the Scottish electorate voted for it. Reading this site, you wouldn't believe it.

2 minutes ago, Malky3 said:

Including - according to Alex Neil of the SNP - around 40% of SNP MSP's and MPs. 

Source for the 40% plz.

Edited by Sunrise

5 minutes ago, Malky3 said:

Including - according to Alex Neil of the SNP - around 40% of SNP MSP's and MPs. 

The MSP for Airdrie & Shotts, who served in Nicola Sturgeon and Alex Salmond’s administrations, also claimed that several other SNP MSPs had told him that they had voted to leave the EU.

He said: “There’s a number of my colleagues who have spoken to me privately who did the same. They don’t want to broadcast it. They were betwixt and between and they voted to leave.”

Malky speak = 40%

f**k off you bawbag.

5 minutes ago, dirty dingus said:

The MSP for Airdrie & Shotts, who served in Nicola Sturgeon and Alex Salmond’s administrations, also claimed that several other SNP MSPs had told him that they had voted to leave the EU.

He said: “There’s a number of my colleagues who have spoken to me privately who did the same. They don’t want to broadcast it. They were betwixt and between and they voted to leave.”

Malky speak = 40%

f**k off you bawbag.

He said that after SNP Central Office demanded that all subsequent releases to the press had to go through them, banning all elected officials from talking to the press in the wake of the Brexit referendum. Before that he was quite open about figures and numbers.

1 minute ago, Malky3 said:

He said that after SNP Central Office demanded that all subsequent releases to the press had to go through them, banning all elected officials from talking to the press in the wake of the Brexit referendum. Before that he was quite open about figures and numbers.

Prove it, you lying balloon.

11 minutes ago, tbsouth said:

Paul Heaton speech been turned in to a Party Political Broadcast (you wont see it on the MSM)

Interesting - in a totally irrelevant kind of way - like when every celebrity and past it pop star comes out with instructions on how we should vote. I don't think this is likely to get him back into the charts. Maybe you could balance it out and tell us what Morrissey is saying this week? 

Edited by Malky3