Coronavirus (COVID-19)

I didn't go out and clap once for 2 reasons.  Nothing would actually get done with regards to NHS workers getting better pay and benefits, and everyone doing it looked like  fud.

My girlfriend went out the first night and it was loud. The following week was quiet and so it continued.

Did they try and bring it back in January or did I imagine that?

6 minutes ago, TheScarf said:

I didn't go out and clap once for 2 reasons.  Nothing would actually get done with regards to NHS workers getting better pay and benefits, and everyone doing it looked like  fud.

People with pots and pans to try and be the loudest yet was some minter.

6 minutes ago, TheScarf said:

All our neighbours were out clapping and the arsehole across the road actually pulled the wife up for not going out in a passive aggressive way ‘just to say we’re trying to get everyone on the street out banging pots’ type thing. Same p***k was on the community facebook page (so im told) whining about the NHS the other week. Its all gesture pish. 

You're just standing at your front door clapping at other people who are standing at their door clapping at you.  Fair enough if there's someone walking past who has achieved something great and you're applauding them.  

It was the most empty of gestures.  It wound me up far more than it should have.

2 minutes ago, TheScarf said:

You're just standing at your front door clapping at other people who are standing at their door clapping at you.  Fair enough if there's someone walking past who has achieved something great and you're applauding them.  

It was the most empty of gestures.  It wound me up far more than it should have.

A few weeks in I’m definitely sure that Boris Johnson said he didn’t believe in gestures when asked about taking the knee yet the prime minister was literally standing clapping every Thursday while slowly selling off the NHS down south. 

Will be some laugh when the nurses go on strike because they aren't getting the 15% payrise they want. Meanwhile the government will be baffled at the public support for such a measure, having encouraged a meaningless round of NHS idolatry with the clapping. 

16 minutes ago, Michael W said:

Will be some laugh when the nurses go on strike because they aren't getting the 15% payrise they want. Meanwhile the government will be baffled at the public support for such a measure, having encouraged a meaningless round of NHS idolatry with the clapping. 

No way they'll get a pay rise like that.  Would simply start another round of strikes by some of the other unions demanding the same thing.

My girlfriend went out the first night and it was loud. The following week was quiet and so it continued.

Did they try and bring it back in January or did I imagine that?
I'm pretty sure the woman who claimed to have started it all last year tried to bring it back in January but was told to do one by NHS workers on social media. Suggested her time would be better spent pressuring the government for a decent wage increase.

I applied for one of the face covering exemption cards (not that I have any intention to use it as I pretty much don't go into shops or use public transport).

The digital version arrived today.

It's this emailed in 3 different formats (png, jpeg and pdf).  No reason you couldn't forward the email onto anyone you like and they could  use it too.

image.thumb.png.2f2c2622ab7d9d00b6ad13ac22bbb868.png

11 minutes ago, Wee Bully said:

Good to know I’ve got right under your skin.  

You threw out an accusation/claim and then when confronted directly to quantify it by the person in question (quite reasonably), have initially ignored it and then when pushed again and backed into a corner, have now resorted to 'LOLOLOLOL I TROLL YOU!!'

Catch a grip of yourself.

50 minutes ago, gav-ffc said:

A few weeks in I’m definitely sure that Boris Johnson said he didn’t believe in gestures when asked about taking the knee yet the prime minister was literally standing clapping every Thursday while slowly selling off the NHS down south. 

Out of interest, which parts of the NHS have been sold off down south?

I must have missed that.

8 minutes ago, Left Back said:

I applied for one of the face covering exemption cards (not that I have any intention to use it as I pretty much don't go into shops or use public transport).

The digital version arrived today.

It's this emailed in 3 different formats (png, jpeg and pdf).  No reason you couldn't forward the email onto anyone you like and they could  use it too.

image.thumb.png.2f2c2622ab7d9d00b6ad13ac22bbb868.png

I’ve used it once or twice when confronted.

Does the job no problem.

If we could get millions to apply, that would end face masks.

I drew the line at pots and pans, but was perfectly happy to applaud the NHS each Thursday.

Was it a pretty shallow gesture?  Definitely.  

Did it actually bring in tangible improvements for those working in the service?  No

Was it something embraced by dafties and often ridden with hypocrisy?  Hell, yeah.

However, it was a communal feature during a time of isolation.  There was also something genuinely a bit heart warming about appreciation for a body so collective, an organisation essentially socialist in its conception, the very notion of which is so divisive in America.

It's very easy, and not even necessarily wide of the mark in some respects, to mock the whole weekly applause thing. It did have some value at the time though and, to my mind, was worthwhile.

Edited by Monkey Tennis