The SPFL recommendation?

17 minutes ago, Shadwell Dog said:

Tom english is a clueless fuckwit who has no idea about scottish football below the top 12. He's a rugby man at the end of the day and should be nowhere near commenting on Scottish football as a whole.

Aye, we should get behind Keith Jackson. What's he saying today, how does it differ from yesterday. What will he say tomorrow, will he spell it properly?

Edited by Sergeant Wilson

The Record is an absolute rag, but I dont see the final votes varying too much from that.  Main issue is relegation - which makes sense - and I can imagine a second version of this with 2 up and no relegation that would breeze its way through.

The only one where you could really doubt would be Dumbarton.  Fucking hell, Jim Duffy :lol:

48 minutes ago, The Moonster said:

Raith are not coming out of this looking good. Chairman on sky sports news pleading with clubs to hand them the title and their players are having pops at folk suggesting it should be otherwise. Desperation. Would another year at this level be the end of full time for you or something?

The chairman is being realistic. The season isn't going to be restarted and that's been outwith our control. He's been honest that there are four scenarios where two are acceptable  and one is unacceptable (null and void) and one is unrealistic (restarting later).  He's always been clear in his interviews with Raith TV that he would be happy with reconstruction. 

Rovers have a huge potential to lose out as a result of this which people seem to gloss over. The club as a whole have had a fantastic atmosphere where the players, fans and club overall have been united as one for the first time in years. We've went with a hybrid squad this season and with 8 games to go we're still top by the smallest margin possible. Falkirk came down and have chucked money into a squad before overhauling their management.  It's hardly the picture of fairness if we're forced into further budget cuts through no fault of our own when we were a potential 8 games away from promotion if the season gets voided. 

As for the players, they're quite clearly fishing for bites. Much in the same way Connor Brennan was when he put out his tweet. 

5 minutes ago, CALDERON said:

The Record is an absolute rag, but I dont see the final votes varying too much from that.  Main issue is relegation - which makes sense - and I can imagine a second version of this with 2 up and no relegation that would breeze its way through.

The only one where you could really doubt would be Dumbarton.  Fucking hell, Jim Duffy :lol:

It might not. The top league is being fairly laid back about this proposal, but reconstruction would require an 11-1 vote (I might be wrong), not a 9-3  vote which would make a simple two up, no relegation proposal a dead duck.

To pass, reconstruction would probably need to involve a bizarre split/mini league combo...

Edited by renton

1 minute ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

Aye, we should get behind Keith Jackson. What's he saying today, how does it differ from yesterday. What will he say tomorrow, will he spell it properly?

What's that got to do with tom feckin english being a complete fuckwit? I dont read newspapers as they're a load of complete pish. Noone knows how teams will vote it's as simple as that but tom english will still.be a complete fuckwit long after this is all over.

It might not. The top league is being fairly laid back about this proposal, but reconstruction would require an 11-1 vote, not a 9-3  vote which would make a simple two up, no relegation proposal a dead duck.
To pass, reconstruction would probably need to involve a bizarre split/mini league combo...

Could the lower leagues do reconstruction without the Premiership getting involved, or does it require all leagues agreeing?

2 minutes ago, Broken Algorithms said:

The chairman is being realistic. The season isn't going to be restarted and that's been outwith our control. He's been honest that there are four scenarios where two are acceptable  and one is unacceptable (null and void) and one is unrealistic (restarting later).  He's always been clear in his interviews with Raith TV that he would be happy with reconstruction. 

Rovers have a huge potential to lose out as a result of this which people seem to gloss over. The club as a whole have had a fantastic atmosphere where the players, fans and club overall have been united as one for the first time in years. We've went with a hybrid squad this season and with 8 games to go we're still top by the smallest margin possible. Falkirk came down and have chucked money into a squad before overhauling their management.  It's hardly the picture of fairness if we're forced into further budget cuts through no fault of our own when we were a potential 8 games away from promotion if the season gets voided. 

As for the players, they're quite clearly fishing for bites. Much in the same way Connor Brennan was when he put out his tweet. 

He should've just said we're voting yes because that benefits us. That's fine and I wouldnt expect anything else but his answer on sky never made a mention of that it was all about the good of scottish football which is complete tosh.

1 minute ago, Paco said:

Could the lower leagues do reconstruction without the Premiership getting involved, or does it require all leagues agreeing?

I doubt the top flight give a feck what happens below them. As long as the champ puts forward a side every year to more than likely get pumped in the playoff their quite happy. How it gets to that stage isn't going to bother them.

He should've just said we're voting yes because that benefits us. That's fine and I wouldnt expect anything else but his answer on sky never made a mention of that it was all about the good of scottish football which is complete tosh.

Falkirk’s chairman is bleating for reconstruction for the good of Scottish football and isn’t acknowledging that he’s only chasing it because it suits him. Don’t see you worrying about that.

There are several examples of chairmen wanting things to happen for their own good. It’d be best if we could just accept that rather than getting upset about it.

Guest Ecosse83

Quite simply in no circumstances should Partick be relegated. 

For me it's as simple as that!

Edited by Ecosse83

31 minutes ago, renton said:

Its fascinating reading that Record article vs. Tom English's article where he reckons the lower two leagues would fall into line, but reading the Record article it looks like league 1 has the No votes to sink it.

29 minutes ago, Shadwell Dog said:

Tom english is a clueless fuckwit who has no idea about scottish football below the top 12. He's a rugby man at the end of the day and should be nowhere near commenting on Scottish football as a whole.

7 minutes ago, Shadwell Dog said:

What's that got to do with tom feckin english being a complete fuckwit? I dont read newspapers as they're a load of complete pish. Noone knows how teams will vote it's as simple as that but tom english will still.be a complete fuckwit long after this is all over.

The post you quoted makes a comparison between the article by English and the one in the Record.

4 minutes ago, Paco said:

Pretty sure it requires everyone. Presume we'd promote one HL and one LL club (f**k the colts) so the league would look like: 12-12-10-10

2 minutes ago, Ecosse83 said:

Quite simply in no circumstances should Patrick be relegated. 

For me it's as simple as that!

Aye, Pat's a decent c**t and in no way should he be adversely affected here.

Just now, Paco said:

Falkirk’s chairman is bleating for reconstruction for the good of Scottish football and isn’t acknowledging that he’s only chasing it because it suits him. Don’t see you worrying about that.

There are several examples of chairmen wanting things to happen for their own good. It’d be best if we could just accept that rather than getting upset about it.

Our statement says 'Rest assured we will always represent the best interests of Falkirk FC, our supporters and the wider community'. He says feck all about it being about any other clubs or scottish football as a whole.  Quite rightly it's about what's good for us at the end of the day and hes not hiding behind any other bullshit.

4 minutes ago, Broken Algorithms said:

The only option he thought was unacceptable was the one that didn't promote Raith. 

You were potentially 8 games away from chucking the title and ending in the play offs again but no Raith fan seems to consider that outcome. Ah so it's unfair on Raith as they might have to cut budgets again if they stay in League 1 for another season? At least we're getting to the real reason.

1 minute ago, renton said:

Pretty sure it requires everyone. Presume we'd promote one HL and one LL club (f**k the colts) so the league would look like: 12-12-10-10

Probably needs a 14 team premier as Hearts surely wouldn't be relegated? 

6 minutes ago, Shadwell Dog said:

Rovers chairman is lying about his motivation but all the Falkirk fans would totally vote for no promotion even if they had one more point 😂

1 minute ago, The Moonster said:

The only option he thought was unacceptable was the one that didn't promote Raith. 

Can't see that being different for any club in a promotion or relegation spot, not sure why Raith are causing you that much offence and nobody else?