Walking Down the Beechwood Road mk 2

1 hour ago, Plantar fasciitis said:

Changed days if Talbot can't tempt a player away from Benburb, that's no disrespect to Bens as a great wee club and set up , but the lure of trophies and challenging on all fronts has always been the emphasis not the big bucks, is it a generation thing? More interested in an extra £30 for nights out etc rather than lifting trophies?? 

40 years of success about time they had a little time knowing what its like to 'struggle' a little . Sure they will survive.

1 hour ago, Thejackdaw said:

It actually saddens me to be honest the way the games going , used to be that clubs sat a player down and it was all about what do you want to win and money was secondary, these days the first thing out of the majority of players mouths are how much am I getting / chasing the money . 

I'm with tucker and other managers here who want a certain fit for their dressing room and guys that want to win over money,  let the clubs who are chucking money at it fire on and they will soon self implode as more  often than not tends to be the case . 

Another thing that I see creeping In is the good old fashioned volunteers of yesteryear now taking wages out of clubs,  I'm probably a dinosaur but a kitman in all my time at this level was all about a guy giving up two training nights and match days for the love of the club ( and it quite often cost them money supplying sandwiches and biscuits for the players and staff ).

Same with guys being part of the clubs media team , it should never cost anyone a fortune to do so but it should be a break even process at best ( maybe through a sponsorship deal ) and to take a wage out clubs at our level isn't quite right. 

Generational thing . Social media . New younger generation getting involved but many will float about and its all about them and how they feel me me me whereas bygone generations it was all about the club , the town you are from , the history heritage , keeping a good thing going with the club coming first .

i am in my 40's and its totally alien to me people just moving around clubs at this level whatever happened to your town your club for life end of story.

9 hours ago, Thejackdaw said:

It actually saddens me to be honest the way the games going , used to be that clubs sat a player down and it was all about what do you want to win and money was secondary, these days the first thing out of the majority of players mouths are how much am I getting / chasing the money . 

I'm with tucker and other managers here who want a certain fit for their dressing room and guys that want to win over money,  let the clubs who are chucking money at it fire on and they will soon self implode as more  often than not tends to be the case . 

Another thing that I see creeping In is the good old fashioned volunteers of yesteryear now taking wages out of clubs,  I'm probably a dinosaur but a kitman in all my time at this level was all about a guy giving up two training nights and match days for the love of the club ( and it quite often cost them money supplying sandwiches and biscuits for the players and staff ).

Same with guys being part of the clubs media team , it should never cost anyone a fortune to do so but it should be a break even process at best ( maybe through a sponsorship deal ) and to take a wage out clubs at our level isn't quite right. 

Aye you're right Hertha. It's disappointing the way things are going but proud of Talbot for seemingly not getting involved in the wage hurling. Definitely to do with telling everyone that they're now "senior" and that combined with the average wage being bumped up by the wee shiny heid at Darvel and now other previously traditional Junior clubs means that players heads are turned. I also don't buy into this, "don't blame players for trying to get the most money they can". They're playing at a decent level but very few of them are likely to climb any higher and so should be content with what they get for what is essentially a hobby. To try and spear the arse out of a club isn't what this level is about.

On the point about backroom staff, this is definitely a landshift. Local clubs shouldn't be shelling out for jobs such as these. Expenses yes but not a salary. It's not that many years ago there was an appeal from the Talbot media man for funding for a laptop. Why has it gone from that to suddenly a new guy taking a weekly salary? Thin end of the wedge and genuinely worrying where it's all going to end.

1 minute ago, Firepit said:

If that’s the case with the boy from Benburb then it really is not worth bothering about . The fact that you would stay at a club like Benburb and not go to Talbot is incredible . Move on not worth it . 

Aye but it's good to know that it happened nevertheless.

Just now, Firepit said:

If that’s the case with the boy from Benburb then it really is not worth bothering about . The fact that you would stay at a club like Benburb and not go to Talbot is incredible . Move on not worth it . 

In fairness the benburb one with the boy lovering could be a bit of an exception to the rule  as the lovering family are all steeped in the club from the boys dad being manager to his  grandparents totally running the club  , I don't have any inside knowledge as to why lewis definitely stayed but the bens are huge to the lovering family and its pretty much their way of life  and maybe it pulled on his heart strings a bit. 

1 minute ago, Thejackdaw said:

In fairness the benburb one with the boy lovering could be a bit of an exception to the rule  as the lovering family are all steeped in the club from the boys dad being manager to his  grandparents totally running the club  , I don't have any inside knowledge as to why lewis definitely stayed but the bens are huge to the lovering family and its pretty much their way of life  and maybe it pulled on his heart strings a bit. 

Understand that and it it’s for that reason then no issue but if it’s for money then it’s completely different . Guess we will never know 

Just now, Firepit said:

Understand that and it it’s for that reason then no issue but if it’s for money then it’s completely different . Guess we will never know 

Agreed and in footballing terms with all due respect to the bens then its got to be Talbot every day of the week .

6 hours ago, Thejackdaw said:

Yeah that is exactly the reason, he should have gone when they were relegated from the Premier as he had quite a few offers last year but stayed to help Benburb. There have been a few clubs in for him this pre season 2023, local and further afield but came into this convo half way so take it, there was interest or gossip going to Talbot.   He might not have fancied it for the travel midweek training,  its a big ask part time while doing your normal weekly job then travelling doon to training.

Edited by Bestsinceslicebread

21 minutes ago, Bestsinceslicebread said:

Yeah that is exactly the reason, he should have gone when they were relegated from the Premier as he had quite a few offers last year but stayed to help Benburb. There have been a few clubs in for him, local and further afield but came into this convo half way so take it, there was interest or gossip going to Talbot.   He might not have fancied it for the travel midweek training,  its a big ask part time while doing your normal weekly job then travelling doon to training.

Do Talbot still train down in Irvine?

45 minutes ago, Bestsinceslicebread said:

Yeah that is exactly the reason, he should have gone when they were relegated from the Premier as he had quite a few offers last year but stayed to help Benburb. There have been a few clubs in for him, local and further afield but came into this convo half way so take it, there was interest or gossip going to Talbot.   He might not have fancied it for the travel midweek training,  its a big ask part time while doing your normal weekly job then travelling doon to training.

Not much of a ask for him to travel down to Irvine from Greenock? for training Beith have signed a young boy from Pererhead He was having to travel from Paisley to Dundee for training Imagine having to do that twice a week in all the rush hour traffic Hence the reason he is now at Beith (Thanks for the reply Andy)

1 hour ago, maicoman said:

Not much of a ask for him to travel down to Irvine from Greenock? for training Beith have signed a young boy from Pererhead He was having to travel from Paisley to Dundee for training Imagine having to do that twice a week in all the rush hour traffic Hence the reason he is now at Beith (Thanks for the reply Andy)

I'm a bit lost as to where does greenock come into it? Is lewis lovering from greenock or have the bens moved from Drumoyne to greenock? 😁

10 hours ago, jimbaxters said:

Aye you're right Hertha. It's disappointing the way things are going but proud of Talbot for seemingly not getting involved in the wage hurling. Definitely to do with telling everyone that they're now "senior" and that combined with the average wage being bumped up by the wee shiny heid at Darvel and now other previously traditional Junior clubs means that players heads are turned. I also don't buy into this, "don't blame players for trying to get the most money they can". They're playing at a decent level but very few of them are likely to climb any higher and so should be content with what they get for what is essentially a hobby. To try and spear the arse out of a club isn't what this level is about.

On the point about backroom staff, this is definitely a landshift. Local clubs shouldn't be shelling out for jobs such as these. Expenses yes but not a salary. It's not that many years ago there was an appeal from the Talbot media man for funding for a laptop. Why has it gone from that to suddenly a new guy taking a weekly salary? Thin end of the wedge and genuinely worrying where it's all going to end.

I must admit i fully agree with you re making announcements on ‘signing’ a kitman. I find the whole thing re that kind of club social media absolutely bizarre. Im not against people being paid a stipend for doing an honest job etc, but find the idea of announcing stuff like that as a signing just weird. 

5 hours ago, maicoman said:

I get that Malcoman but none of us can say its not much to ask.
Every player's situation is different
You or I do not know his job, where he works or even his own private life.  We all know there are players who don't sign for teams due to travel but then again, players also dont sign for teams for a multitude for reasons, only they and immediate family and friends usually know why