George Floyd/Black Lives Matter Protests

25 minutes ago, MixuFruit said:

I just looked him up and he's down as an author on more than 1000 papers so I think he's got pretty solid credentials tbh. Sounds like jealousy to me.

Oh yeah, it absolutely was. The guy had had a few and it felt like this was a fairly regular drunk gripe by the reaction it got. Don't know if he knew Cox or something.

1 minute ago, D.A.F.C said:

Lenny Henry 

I raise you Les Dennis, Jim Davidson, Jimmy Carr, Bruce Forsyth, Hale and Pace, Little and Large, Limmy, Nick Hancock, Rufus Hound, Michael McIntyre, Three Pints of Lager and a Packet of Crips (for ten years!) and James Corden.  

17 minutes ago, MixuFruit said:

"I'm not sure these black people deserve to be on the telly unlike the impeccable credentials of *checks notes* Andy Townsend and Jamie Redknapp"

Jamie " the referee must apply common sense. No, he has to apply the rule as it stands. Yeah but still, common sense" Rednapp, as I now call him?

6 minutes ago, MixuFruit said:

Aggregate greenie but Limmy does not belong in there

That’s probably fair, but I put him in there because he’s received more publicity than he has any rights to, rather than for his comedy, which I don’t like.  

And also not to look like all my references were big in the early to mid 90s.

Les Dennis was also slightly harshly included, in retrospect.

Edited by Savage Henry

The best person for the role should get it, if that means that every presenter is black then that’s great. 
What they’re doing is discrimination isn’t it?

Telling talented people they can’t apply because they need to fill a quota

We cannot do this alone, so with our partners we will:

• continue to work with our independent Diversity Advisory Panel of highly regarded experts, who advise and support our work, but also challenge us where necessary and hold us to account.
  • work with the rest of the broadcasting industry through the Creative Diversity Network to deliver DIAMOND, the diversity monitoring database system, that will allow us to measure our progress against our objectives on and off air in an open and transparent way.
  • work collaboratively with all our production partners, asking them to put diversity at the heart of their work and to support us in the delivery of our diversity strategy.
  • continue to work together with organisations beyond the broadcast industry to provide new insight to audiences (eg Black Cultural Archives), to break down barriers to working in the sector (eg Stephen Lawrence Charitable Trust, job centres around the UK) and to make our services as accessible as possible (eg RNIB). We will also seek to establish new partnerships with organisations that can help us make a difference.

How is there barriers to be broken down if there’s already 15% representation when the percentage of black people in the uk is 3%?
Theyve done the same with lgbt, disabled and other minorities.

Its this kind of tokenism that will prevent actual change, we need more equal opportunities at the top level and in education and funding.

Its not an easy thing to solve but I feel this devalues real change and won’t solve anything.

Just now, Shotgun said:

How to criticise Jaime Redknapp - Call him a twat.
How to criticise Ian Wright - Call him a twat and bring up his skin colour.

He brought it up himself to try and get peter schmichael arrested. He’s a nice guy though.

I'm out of reputation points to down vote your ramblings so will just say take a minute or two away from the screen and read your posts back. I honestly don't think you're a bad guy but you've lost the run of yourself this weekend.

For fucks sake not this " he's only got that job cause the channel/ station need to meet quotas of black people " pish again.  Derek Ferguson sounds like a primary 3 giving a talk to the class when he describes something which he once did as a professional. when I write that a part of me thought god I hope he doesn't read that cause it could hurt his wee feelings.  the same clapped out jakies like peter Houston  billy dodds jimmy Calderwood john hughes etc etc along wwith your regular presenters young cowan cosgrove Gordon   have been doing the rounds on Scottish sports broadcasting for f**k knows how long, when was the last time a black former player was a guest or feature presenter on sportsound/scene?  there have been plenty over the years and a majority of them will speak English as their first language,   No No we'll not question the auld pals acts getting gigs since the beginning of time but as soon as a blackman is in the studio he must be a box ticker, ffs lads

1 minute ago, D.A.F.C said:

The best person for the role should get it, if that means that every presenter is black then that’s great. 
What they’re doing is discrimination isn’t it?

Telling talented people they can’t apply because they need to fill a quota

We cannot do this alone, so with our partners we will:

• continue to work with our independent Diversity Advisory Panel of highly regarded experts, who advise and support our work, but also challenge us where necessary and hold us to account.
  • work with the rest of the broadcasting industry through the Creative Diversity Network to deliver DIAMOND, the diversity monitoring database system, that will allow us to measure our progress against our objectives on and off air in an open and transparent way.
  • work collaboratively with all our production partners, asking them to put diversity at the heart of their work and to support us in the delivery of our diversity strategy.
  • continue to work together with organisations beyond the broadcast industry to provide new insight to audiences (eg Black Cultural Archives), to break down barriers to working in the sector (eg Stephen Lawrence Charitable Trust, job centres around the UK) and to make our services as accessible as possible (eg RNIB). We will also seek to establish new partnerships with organisations that can help us make a difference.

How is there barriers to be broken down if there’s already 15% representation when the percentage of black people in the uk is 3%?
Theyve done the same with lgbt, disabled and other minorities.

Its this kind of tokenism that will prevent actual change, we need more equal opportunities at the top level and in education and funding.

Its not an easy thing to solve but I feel this devalues real change and won’t solve anything.

It doesn't. That these quotas represent discrimination is an easy trap to fall into but its lazy and misses the point. The quotas are there because there was no representation. By making representation the norm then over time hopefully it will be viewed as the norm and race or whatever else wont come into the decision making process. It's obvious though when its overwhelmingly white males selecting other white males though that race is coming into it. 

When evidence shows that it's not longer happening, maybe diversity quotas can go away and be replaced with the fair society we absolutely do not currently have. 

1 minute ago, effeffsee_the2nd said:

Derek Ferguson sounds like a primary 3 giving a talk to the class when he describes something which he once did as a professional. when I write that a part of me thought god I hope he doesn't read that cause it could hurt his wee feelings.  

It's ok, he can't read.

6 minutes ago, D.A.F.C said:

He brought it up himself to try and get peter schmichael arrested. He’s a nice guy though.

Given the alleged details of that (13-year old) incident; I have NO fucking clue why you think that makes your posts acceptable. None.

8 minutes ago, effeffsee_the2nd said:

For fucks sake not this " he's only got that job cause the channel/ station need to meet quotas of black people " pish again.  Derek Ferguson sounds like a primary 3 giving a talk to the class when he describes something which he once did as a professional. when I write that a part of me thought god I hope he doesn't read that cause it could hurt his wee feelings.  the same clapped out jakies like peter Houston  billy dodds jimmy Calderwood john hughes etc etc along wwith your regular presenters young cowan cosgrove Gordon   have been doing the rounds on Scottish sports broadcasting for f**k knows how long, when was the last time a black former player was a guest or feature presenter on sportsound/scene?  there have been plenty over the years and a majority of them will speak English as their first language,   No No we'll not question the auld pals acts getting gigs since the beginning of time but as soon as a blackman is in the studio he must be a box ticker, ffs lads

Wasn’t Sanjeev Kohli an integral part of setting up on the ball?

The bbc have actually publicly stated that they wanted to change motd to be less white. f**k me.

13 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

It doesn't. That these quotas represent discrimination is an easy trap to fall into but its lazy and misses the point. The quotas are there because there was no representation. By making representation the norm then over time hopefully it will be viewed as the norm and race or whatever else wont come into the decision making process. It's obvious though when its overwhelmingly white males selecting other white males though that race is coming into it. 

When evidence shows that it's not longer happening, maybe diversity quotas can go away and be replaced with the fair society we absolutely do not currently have. 

If you read the link the bbc are showing that they are happy with over representation. I didn’t suddenly look at motd and think wow too many black people. I just noticed after blm started that EVERY SINGLE show now has at least one black person on it, presenting or doing punditry.

This wasn’t the case before the blm protests and seems to be deliberate.

4 minutes ago, D.A.F.C said:

Wasn’t Sanjeev Kohli an integral part of setting up on the ball?

The bbc have actually publicly stated that they wanted to change motd to be less white. f**k me.

The issue being?

Just now, D.A.F.C said:

If you read the link the bbc are showing that they are happy with over representation. I didn’t suddenly look at motd and think wow too many black people. I just noticed after blm started that EVERY SINGLE show now has at least one black person on it, presenting or doing punditry.

The issue being?

How many black presenters would it take to proportionately represent 3% of the population?

Let me ask you another question, instead of representing the population of the UK as a whole, what about in the case of MOTD how many black footballers are they analysing and discussing?

Isnt it fair to have them represented? England could field two strong international teams made up exclusively of black players. I hardly think a panel of 3 old white men is representative of what we are actually watching

1 minute ago, Bairnardo said:

How many black presenters would it take to proportionately represent 3% of the population?

Let me ask you another question, instead of representing the population of the UK as a whole, what about in the case of MOTD how many black footballers are they analysing and discussing?

Isnt it fair to have them represented? England could field two strong international teams made up exclusively of black players. I hardly think a panel of 3 old white men is representative of what we are actually watching

Is the premier league racist?

Why is there no British Asian players?