Kelty Hearts Thread

7 minutes ago, 1320Lichtie said:

He’d still be sitting on our bench if he was happy being a number 2

Maybe, maybe not. It's increasingly looking like McCabe and Airdrie are quite an attractive proposition for players.

On 16/05/2023 at 15:22, SouthStander1876 said:

Thank f**k, hate that little p***k

Higgy has had the Falkirk fans on strings for years now. His very existence causes grown men to cry with rage.

2 hours ago, Fae_the_'briggs said:

A bit ironic criticising Kelty's OS for not updating when the QoS website is advertising a Deluxe Draw prize of a car that's not actually been a prize for the past couple of seasons. 

Oh, you'll be getting banned from Palmerston now you've made SD look foolish.

I might be very much in the minority here, but the update today didn't fill me with utter dread. Don't get me wrong, I think next season is going to be exceptionally difficult and in years to come we may well look back on the past few seasons as our glory days, but I think what happens next is far from a foregone conclusion. 

I can understand why some may have experienced a shudder up their spine when reading "the list", but I didn't. I read it and my immediate thought was "well that sounds about right". Obviously losing so many first team players is far from an ideal scenario, and I'd have preferred that our transition to self sufficiency was perhaps more protracted and less dramatic, but I'm comfortable with it. 

The loan players were always going to go back to their parent clubs, so that part of the list doesn't feel significant. That leaves nine names that break down into a few different categories.

- Those who you wouldn't consider key players. I appreciate that with so many leaving it's likely some of them would have played more of a role next season, but for some their participation this season has been limited. 

- Those approaching the twilight of their careers and where the expectation was that they'd retire. In Dougie Hills case people who've already "retired". 

- Those who have received so much interest from other clubs, there was never any doubt that their time at Kelty was coming to an end irrespective of what happened off field. 

- The rest. Higginbotham, Money Saving Expert Lewis Martin, Barjonas and DJ. 

Clearly events have conspired and we've been left with an awful lot to do before next season. Given the plane has supposedly crashed into the mountain however, I can live with the 4 key players who still had a question mark next to their name leaving. 

What strikes me from looking at that list is that Potters side underperformed this season. The squad didn't have much depth, but there was some real talent in there and I think we should have done better. I've said it before but even with an exodus of talent, even if the standard of individuals going forward isn't up to the names on that list, I think it's entirely possible that a rejuvenated Tidser side is capable of finishing higher than 8th in League One. 

I mentioned earlier that we may look back on the past few years as our glory days and if that's the case there's a lot to be proud of. That being said, with the investment and resources we've benefitted from, history will show that the highest position ever achieved under the previous regime was 8th in League One. I personally don't believe thats an unreachable high watermark, and achieving our highest ever League position whilst being a self sufficient, sustainable and community focused club gives us something to aim for. 

45 minutes ago, KH4 said:

I might be very much in the minority here, but the update today didn't fill me with utter dread. Don't get me wrong, I think next season is going to be exceptionally difficult and in years to come we may well look back on the past few seasons as our glory days, but I think what happens next is far from a foregone conclusion. 

I can understand why some may have experienced a shudder up their spine when reading "the list", but I didn't. I read it and my immediate thought was "well that sounds about right". Obviously losing so many first team players is far from an ideal scenario, and I'd have preferred that our transition to self sufficiency was perhaps more protracted and less dramatic, but I'm comfortable with it. 

The loan players were always going to go back to their parent clubs, so that part of the list doesn't feel significant. That leaves nine names that break down into a few different categories.

- Those who you wouldn't consider key players. I appreciate that with so many leaving it's likely some of them would have played more of a role next season, but for some their participation this season has been limited. 

- Those approaching the twilight of their careers and where the expectation was that they'd retire. In Dougie Hills case people who've already "retired". 

- Those who have received so much interest from other clubs, there was never any doubt that their time at Kelty was coming to an end irrespective of what happened off field. 

- The rest. Higginbotham, Money Saving Expert Lewis Martin, Barjonas and DJ. 

Clearly events have conspired and we've been left with an awful lot to do before next season. Given the plane has supposedly crashed into the mountain however, I can live with the 4 key players who still had a question mark next to their name leaving. 

What strikes me from looking at that list is that Potters side underperformed this season. The squad didn't have much depth, but there was some real talent in there and I think we should have done better. I've said it before but even with an exodus of talent, even if the standard of individuals going forward isn't up to the names on that list, I think it's entirely possible that a rejuvenated Tidser side is capable of finishing higher than 8th in League One. 

I mentioned earlier that we may look back on the past few years as our glory days and if that's the case there's a lot to be proud of. That being said, with the investment and resources we've benefitted from, history will show that the highest position ever achieved under the previous regime was 8th in League One. I personally don't believe thats an unreachable high watermark, and achieving our highest ever League position whilst being a self sufficient, sustainable and community focused club gives us something to aim for. 

Looking forward to seeing how we get on being self sufficient , still plenty decent players looking for a league 1 gig and as difficult a rebuild it might be it was always going to have to happen eventually anyway 

5 hours ago, Skyline Drifter said:

Which isn't "latest news" and if I had access to that part of the website I'd change it. I'll see if I can contact someone to change it for you though.

Not changing it for me but for accuracy, and probably legality, of what's actually the proper prizes. Agreed it's not latest news, it's much more serious than that, selling tickets for a prize that doesn't exist. It could be viewed as an oversight if not spotted and rectified in a reasonable period of of time but two years (or more) is taking it a bit far. 

3 hours ago, Kelheart said:

Looking forward to seeing how we get on being self sufficient , still plenty decent players looking for a league 1 gig and as difficult a rebuild it might be it was always going to have to happen eventually anyway 

I'm actually excited about what lies ahead, irrespective of what happens. Whilst I'm tremendously grateful for the time, energy and investment that's been put into Kelty over the past few years, I'm pleased that the club is moving in a different direction. 

As long as there isn't any indication of wreckless management or incompetence I'll be broadly supportive of whatever the management at Kelty are trying to achieve, whoever that may be. At the same time, the model we've had up to this point wouldn't be my preferred method of maintaining a football club and the changes that have been made bring the club more in line with how I feel a club like Kelty should be run. 

I'll put it this way, going forward if you offered me a choice of Kelty staying under the previous model and virtually assuring that we stayed at our current level, or being a self sufficient, sustainable club with no indication as to what direction that would take us in, I'd always opt for the latter. 

Im not from Kelty, I don't live in Kelty and there are other clubs at various levels in the pyramid I could have ended up following. One of the things that initially drew me to Kelty was the level they were playing at, and the fact they were competitive at that level. If we end up playing more or less at the same level we were when I started watching Kelty, it would be far from a tragedy. Quite frankly, if I was able to watch my team every week, and not have to pay £16 - £20 for a ticket like it was in the good old days, id soon forget all about the glitz and glamour of games against Montrose and Airdrie. 

Edited by KH4

12 minutes ago, KH4 said:

I'm actually excited about what lies ahead, irrespective of what happens. Whilst I'm tremendously grateful for the time, energy and investment that's been put into Kelty over the past few years, I'm pleased that the club is moving in a direction. 

As long as there isn't any indication of wreckless management or incompetence I'll be broadly supportive of whatever the management at Kelty are trying to achieve, whoever that may be. At the same time, the model we've had up to this point wouldn't be my preferred method of maintaining a football club and the changes that have been made bring the club more in line with how I feel a club like Kelty should be run. 

I'll put it this way, going forward if you offered me a choice of Kelty staying under the previous model and virtually assuring that we stayed at our current level, or being a self sufficient, sustainable club with no indication as to what direction that would take us in, I'd always opt for the latter. 

Im not from Kelty, I don't live in Kelty and there are other clubs at various levels in the pyramid I could have ended up following. One of the things that initially drew me to Kelty was the level they were playing at, and the fact they were competitive at that level. If we end up playing more or less at the same level we were when I started watching Kelty, it would be far from a tragedy. Quite frankly, if I was able to watch my team every week, and not have to pay £16 - £20 for a ticket like it was in the good old days, id soon forget all about the glitz and glamour of games against Montrose and Airdrie. 

Been going doon the park for over 40 years ti watch them and the direction taken over the last 6/7 years has been phenomenal and will always be greatful to Dean for putting us on the map when he did as it's going to be a chore getting up from LL now but he has taken us as far as he could and I'm more  than happy plodding away at this level , self sufficient , infrastructure in place for youth development to progress  from 6year old to first team , great wee set up now and crowds 3 fold from when we were junior and talk of another 900 houses going up in Kelty means maybe some more punters through the door , so new beginnings ain't so bad 

Tids was clear there are signings incoming. Outside of maybe Peggie I was not surprised at any of those leaving. Cardle retiring & Barjo going full time are no brainers.

We'll be working on a reduced budget but no worse than a lot of teams around us. Bring it on!!

2 hours ago, Fae_the_'briggs said:

Not changing it for me but for accuracy, and probably legality, of what's actually the proper prizes. Agreed it's not latest news, it's much more serious than that, selling tickets for a prize that doesn't exist. It could be viewed as an oversight if not spotted and rectified in a reasonable period of of time but two years (or more) is taking it a bit far. 

Oh for goodness sake! Could your knickers get any more twisted? 😂

Its not remotely serious. Nobody but you noticed it and it took you 3 years. The replacement prize is an improvement for everyone. But you can relax, its been amended now.

10 hours ago, leomessi1984 said:

Tids was clear there are signings incoming. Outside of maybe Peggie I was not surprised at any of those leaving. Cardle retiring & Barjo going full time are no brainers.

We'll be working on a reduced budget but no worse than a lot of teams around us. Bring it on!!

Where is Barjonas heading?

8 hours ago, Skyline Drifter said:

Oh for goodness sake! Could your knickers get any more twisted? 😂

Its not remotely serious. Nobody but you noticed it and it took you 3 years. The replacement prize is an improvement for everyone. But you can relax, its been amended now.

I don't do the Deluxe Draw so couldn't give a toss about the car, some one was asking who won it this year so other people obviously don't know about the change. If advertising on the Queens OS  to win a prize that doesn't exist is not more serious in your eyes than Kelty not updating their Latest News page then you have a strange idea of priorities. But brush it off with your usual flippant response as expected. 

4 hours ago, Fae_the_'briggs said:

I don't do the Deluxe Draw so couldn't give a toss about the car, some one was asking who won it this year so other people obviously don't know about the change. If advertising on the Queens OS  to win a prize that doesn't exist is not more serious in your eyes than Kelty not updating their Latest News page then you have a strange idea of priorities. But brush it off with your usual flippant response as expected. 

Take your argument off our thread please gents 🤣