🌎 🏆 World Cup Group Stage Draw 🌎 🏆

No one sensible is under-estimating Iran and USA, but from a purely objective point of view, they are most definitely two of the weaker teams we could have drawn.

If you look at their recent squads, their players are at European and North American/Asian teams of a similar stature to many of ours.  If you swapped their teams with those of their Austrian, Ukrainian, Polish, Slovakian or Israeli counterparts, none of us would blink at the difference.

They are second-to-third tier world nations.  They are exactly the type of team we are becoming competitive against, but equally the type of country that could shade us 1-0 and no one would be surprised.

52 minutes ago, PB1994 said:

Is it just me that doesn’t understand this extra motivation thing a few people have mentioned? I’m not sure how that draw is any extra motivation compared to the Welsh or Ukrainians.

Yes, it’s just you. It’s very simple. Usually, when Scotland qualified for a World Cup, then, like the rest of the qualified nations, they sat back and waited for the draw. This time, due to unique circumstances, we are still two games away from even qualifying, but we know the three other nations we’d be playing should we get through those two games. One of them is the auld enemy. Our nearest and longest rivals. The other two nations are beatable. They don’t put the shiters up you like drawing Brazil, Argentina, Germany or France. 

The only reason for not understanding why this isn’t extra motivation for Scotland, or indeed Wales, as they also would like a go at England, is because you are a fcuking idiot. You’re not a fcuking idiot, are you? No. Good stuff.

Posters on here forgetting our WC history against diddy teams. [emoji2357]
Yes, "history". In the past. We have every right to be optimistic if we qualify given our current squad and results over the past 18 months.

31 minutes ago, pozbaird said:

The only reason for not understanding why this isn’t extra motivation for Scotland, or indeed Wales, as they also would like a go at England, is because you are a fcuking idiot. You’re not a fcuking idiot, are you? No. Good stuff.

We fail continually against the "auld enemy" these days.  Either heroic draws or tedious defeat. They played a controlled draw against us last time around and we thought we were so fucking hot after it.  Reality was Croatia and the Czechs pissed all over us. 

We slag English media for "we are going to win it" whilst this thread is littered with the usual shite of how we will beat England and the US and Iran arent very good.  Great draw blah blah. We have never qualified from a section EVER! Are you a fucking idiot? I think you are.

8 minutes ago, rainbowrising said:

We fail continually against the "auld enemy" these days.  Either heroic draws or tedious defeat. They played a controlled draw against us last time around and we thought we were so fucking hot after it.  Reality was Croatia and the Czechs pissed all over us. 

We slag English media for "we are going to win it" whilst this thread is littered with the usual shite of how we will beat England and the US and Iran arent very good.  Great draw blah blah. We have never qualified from a section EVER! Are you a fucking idiot? I think you are.

Just as well we're not the media then.

We were pish poor at Euro 2020 last summer.
First tournament experience for the lads and we competed well against England. Since then we've finished second in our group and comfortably beaten Denmark. McGinn, Gilmour, Tierney, and you could say Robertson have continued to get better at international level. Also we're 8 games unbeaten which is excellent. Surely some grounds for a bit of optimism?

15 minutes ago, rainbowrising said:

We're just doing it ironically, like they always claim they are.