Rest in Peace Scottish football

1 minute ago, HailHailHayley said:

Do McDonalds share their profits with Burger King because they're bigger?

Do Sky share their profits with Channel 5 because they're bigger?

Do Adidas share their profits with Slazenger because they're bigger?

Or is part of the reward of being bigger that you earn more money than your smaller rivals?

Looks like you're overly familiar with McDonalds tbh.

4 minutes ago, Illgresi said:

The only way to break the duopoly is to remove it. If all 40 other clubs resigned from the league and started afresh, the minks would starve.

The main problem with that, is:

1. Too many (if not all) top league clubs are run like businesses, and view the OF and Rangers* as an asset.
  2. Most lower league chairmen tend to have a big club (RIP Turnbull Hutton).

Until the desire comes from the top, and is unified, nothing will change.

This was my ingenious plan on the '36 years' thread:

All the non-OF clubs get together and demand a massively different distribution model that presents a much, much more level playing field for clubs.  

It could involve gate sharing, merchandising being pooled, a requirement for a large chunk of European income to be shared out etc.    There would be a need for this model to involve lower league clubs also, so that no cliff face exists between divisions.

When these demands are rejected by the OF clubs and spluttered about in the witless media, the top flight diddies agree ahead of the next full season, that they will field youth sides against the OF, ensuring that they get hammered each and every time.  For home matches against the OF, they should urge their own fans to boycott the games, opening the grounds entirely to OF fans if they still want to come.  It'll mean that the OF sides take maximum points from everyone else, and the title will rest solely on the 4 OF games.  The spectacle throughout the season for Sky will be shit and thoroughly devalued.

Meanwhile, the teams will all compete as usual against each other, meaning the 3rd placed team will be regarded as Champions by actual fans everywhere.  A trophy could even be presented. Relegation will still be decided in the traditional way, but as everyone has lost to the OF every time, the outcome will again be entirely reliant on non-OF fixtures.

The actual end of season table would not be that vastly different from what we get each year anyway.  The difference would be that the others would have stopped pretending that they all take part in a valid competition to win the league.

The silly devalued title will have been decided over only 4 matches, while the Champions we recognise will have won their crown over 30.

Think how this would capture the imagination.  Fans would for the first time be involved in what would be considered the actual title race.  This would be an international, sensational media story of the ancient footballing nation that stood up to the injustices of the modern game. 

The Latest OF league win would be rendered hollower than ever, derived as it would be from just 4 matches against 1 opponent.  Meanwhile, we'd all hail our new real champions.

No way would those in our game have the courage to do any of this of course, but it's a nice dream.  

We need the behaviour of our clubs to reflect that we don't need the OF, but they do need us.

16 minutes ago, Monkey Tennis said:

Actually, yes.

The huge wealth such competitions generate should be distributed quite differently across countries and the clubs within them.

That way, the Champions of Scotland could occasionally have a chance.  It used to happen, don't you know.  Don't you know there once was a Scottish club that reached the final twice in three years, winning the first one - you've maybe heard of them. 

You can live with the distortion you're about to encounter because the reward means you'll seldom drop points at weekends.  

The injustice suits you ok on the whole.

The trouble is that it totally knackers the whole thing for fans of diddy sides.

So essentially what you want is the NFL.

If you truly want a socialist football league then pyramid system can’t really exist and would become redundant in such a system as the gap between divisions would become even bigger.

We end up with regionalised clubs and franchise football.

Yay

7 minutes ago, HailHailHayley said:

Or is part of the reward of being bigger that you earn more money than your smaller rivals?

Are any of those reliant on their rivals for their very existence?

That's the bit you're genuinely missing.

Without two teams, nobody watches a football match.  Without the context provided by  additional teams, no match has significance or value.

7 minutes ago, Monkey Tennis said:

All the non-OF clubs get together and demand a massively different distribution model that presents a much, much more level playing field for clubs.  

It could involve gate sharing, merchandising being pooled, a requirement for a large chunk of European income to be shared out etc.    There would be a need for this model to involve lower league clubs also, so that no cliff face exists between divisions.

When these demands are rejected by the OF clubs and spluttered about in the witless media, the top flight diddies agree ahead of the next full season, that they will field youth sides against the OF, ensuring that they get hammered each and every time.  For home matches against the OF, they should urge their own fans to boycott the games, opening the grounds entirely to OF fans if they still want to come.  It'll mean that the OF sides take maximum points from everyone else, and the title will rest solely on the 4 OF games.  The spectacle throughout the season for Sky will be shit and thoroughly devalued.

Meanwhile, the teams will all compete as usual against each other, meaning the 3rd placed team will be regarded as Champions by actual fans everywhere.  A trophy could even be presented. Relegation will still be decided in the traditional way, but as everyone has lost to the OF every time, the outcome will again be entirely reliant on non-OF fixtures.

The actual end of season table would not be that vastly different from what we get each year anyway.  The difference would be that the others would have stopped pretending that they all take part in a valid competition to win the league.

The silly devalued title will have been decided over only 4 matches, while the Champions we recognise will have won their crown over 30.

Think how this would capture the imagination.  Fans would for the first time be involved in what would be considered the actual title race.  This would be an international, sensational media story of the ancient footballing nation that stood up to the injustices of the modern game. 

The Latest OF league win would be rendered hollower than ever, derived as it would be from just 4 matches against 1 opponent.  Meanwhile, we'd all hail our new real champions.

No way would those in our game have the courage to do any of this of course, but it's a nice dream.  

We need the behaviour of our clubs to reflect that we don't need the OF, but they do need us.

This is magnificent. Where do we sign up?

5 minutes ago, Monkey Tennis said:

Mate, that's a fantastic idea, but it fails in a couple of key ways:

1. League membership is voluntary, so it would be far simpler (and probably more effective) for the real 40 (R40) to just resign their membership.
  2. We're currently ruled by a Tory government, based in another country. You can absolutely guarantee they would find a way to spit in our pint.

2 minutes ago, Illgresi said:

1. League membership is voluntary, so it would be far simpler (and probably more effective) for the real 40 (R40) to just resign their membership.

That would really call the bigot brothers bluff. En masse resignation from the league. Long live the R40.

48 minutes ago, HailHailHayley said:

Are you really comparing actual society to the football world? Life isn't a competition where you're up against one another, football is. 

You're not making the point you think you are.

You're dead right.  The entire point of life is not that we make more money than each other.  Some see it that way, but most recognise that other things like work, community and relationships provide value.

In football however, the whole point is for teams to compete with each other.  We try to make that interesting by requiring both teams to field the same number of players and follow the same rules regarding handball, offside etc.

However, we've allowed unfettered capitalism to seize our game in a way that ensures the off-field conditions (which we all know matter a great deal) are wildly different for a small number of clubs.

It's obviously less important when it comes to football, as people don't usually die when its administration goes awry.  However, in its own terms, it's actually worse, because it really does kill the entire point of the whole exercise.

Edited by Monkey Tennis

Just now, Jinky67 said:

If you are happy to have a competitive league and never see a Scottish club enter the group stage of a European completion again then it’s magnificent.

So not that different to the last god knows how long. Since group stage football came on the go, Aberdeen have been in once, Hearts twice (I think) and no one else has. Happy to be corrected if I'm wrong. 

14 minutes ago, HailHailHayley said:

You've just made the posters' point for them:  Celtic fans talk the talk but undoubtedly don't walk the walk*

Thank f**k I support an openly rapacious club with no hint of a social conscience.   It's called integrity.

*Aye, I know.

2 minutes ago, wastecoatwilly said:

Go and feck yourself M8, you have always came across as a fecking banger, English football has absolutely no relevance to the Scottish game.  

Shhhh shitebag.

Just now, 10menwent2mow said:

So not that different to the last god knows how long. Since group stage football came on the go, Aberdeen have been in once, Hearts twice (I think) and no one else has. Happy to be corrected if I'm wrong. 

If you are happy to accept that as your reality however you then what’s is in it for the Champions? Entry into a qualifier they have no hope of winning?

That also diminishes any hope of us bringing any real quality in the league, talented youngsters will move at a younger age and for less £ to other leagues to test themselves against the best.

What we need is more money in our game not less of it.