Living with Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder

I find I get easily distracted. I was unwrapping a block of butter the other day and thinking about which bin the wrapper should go in. Deciding it was paper and so should go in the cardboards bin, I dropped the butter into the kitchen pedal bin and neatly folded the paper wrapper before dropping it in with the cardboard. I then went back to my toast and wondered where the butter was.

30 minutes ago, Newbornbairn said:

I find I get easily distracted. I was unwrapping a block of butter the other day and thinking about which bin the wrapper should go in. Deciding it was paper and so should go in the cardboards bin, I dropped the butter into the kitchen pedal bin and neatly folded the paper wrapper before dropping it in with the cardboard. I then went back to my toast and wondered where the butter was.

OCD doesn’t stand for old c**t disorder

Not sure folk who're replying to this thread understand the serious nature of OCD. A large proportion of sufferers have seriously contemplated suicide. It's not about matching socks or keeping a clean house. I personally know folk who're planning to end their lives once their folks pass away, because the obsessions are so horrendous. 

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC7059158/

Imagine a terrible, anxiety inducing thought that simply will not pass, that's what OCD is. The compulsions are a way of trying to soothe it. Imagine living with this, and the thought consuming your everyday life: https://metro.co.uk/2018/09/14/living-with-pocd-a-debilitating-disorder-that-convinces-you-youre-a-paedophile-7924138/

Joey Ramone suffered from OCD.  On tour the road manager would put him into a hotel room on a different floor to the rest of the band because he would spend all night opening doors, closing doors, lights switches on and off and so on.

On one occasion they drove home from the airport but he had to be driven back to the airport because he had forgotten something.  He had to touch the kerb with the back of his shoe whenever he stepped on to the road.  That was what he had forgotten to do.

It is a nightmare for the sufferers and the people around them.

14 hours ago, G_&_T said:

Not sure folk who're replying to this thread understand the serious nature of OCD. A large proportion of sufferers have seriously contemplated suicide. It's not about matching socks or keeping a clean house. I personally know folk who're planning to end their lives once their folks pass away, because the obsessions are so horrendous. 

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC7059158/

Imagine a terrible, anxiety inducing thought that simply will not pass, that's what OCD is. The compulsions are a way of trying to soothe it. Imagine living with this, and the thought consuming your everyday life: https://metro.co.uk/2018/09/14/living-with-pocd-a-debilitating-disorder-that-convinces-you-youre-a-paedophile-7924138/

For sure, but isn't OCD like all conditions in that it varies in degrees and thus some will suffer it mildly and thus be able to self-depricate whilst others suffer a much more extreme form?  

I think most of the posts and replies have been appropriate to the topic.  

21 minutes ago, hk blues said:

For sure, but isn't OCD like all conditions in that it varies in degrees and thus some will suffer it mildly and thus be able to self-depricate whilst others suffer a much more extreme form?  

I think most of the posts and replies have been appropriate to the topic.  

Well they need to conform to the diagnostic criteria:

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK519704/table/ch3.t13/

1. Recurrent and persistent thoughts, impulses, or images that are experienced, at some time during the disturbance, as intrusive and inappropriate and that cause marked anxiety or distress.

3. The person attempts to ignore or suppress such thoughts, impulses, or images or to neutralize them with some other thought or action.

The obsessions and compulsions cause marked distress, are time consuming (take more than 1 hour a day), or significantly interfere with the person’s normal routine, occupational (or academic) functioning, or usual social activities or relationships.

So, by it's very definition even 'mild OCD' will cause the individual 'marked distress' or will 'significantly interfere with the person's normal routine'.

People tell me that they have OCD or "are a little bit OCD" all the time - often with a smile on their face, and describe how they like organising their CD collection. What they're actually describing is quirky behaviour. OCD is actually a very debilitating mental illness that, in some cases, tragically leads to suicide. 

33 minutes ago, G_&_T said:

So, by it's very definition even 'mild OCD' will cause the individual 'marked distress' or will 'significantly interfere with the person's normal routine'.

People tell me that they have OCD or "are a little bit OCD" all the time - often with a smile on their face, and describe how they like organising their CD collection. What they're actually describing is quirky behaviour. OCD is actually a very debilitating mental illness that, in some cases, tragically leads to suicide. 

There are posters here who do have it and retain the insight to see that it has some funny aspects/consequences. No-one is taking the pish out of potential suicide cases.

17 hours ago, Blue Brazil Forever said:

Our washing machine is known as the socky gobbler. Happens every time - there is always one sock goes walkies.

Hand yourself in.

59 minutes ago, G_&_T said:

It's a football forum so maybe you can cut folk some slack for discussing a topic in good faith? I genuinely haven't seen any posts that are poking fun at the condition. 

2 hours ago, G_&_T said:

That link says that those numbered bits define obsessions. OCD is also diagnosable with only compulsions, which are:

Repetitive behaviors (e.g., hand washing, ordering checking) or mental acts (e.g., praying, counting, repeating words silently) that the person feels driven to perform in response to an obsession, or according to the rules that must be applied rigidly.

The behaviors or mental acts are aimed at preventing or reducing distress or preventing some dreaded event or situation. However, these behaviors or mental acts either are not connected in a realistic way with what they are designed to neutralize or prevent or are clearly excessive.

Those still apply with the condition (which is subjective) about causing marked distress or impairment of function. That’s not a requirement for it to be debilitating or suicide-inducing. 

I think the OP adequately covered the fact that it’s not about just being a bit anal.  

Less serious problems can still be problems.

9 hours ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

There are posters here who do have it and retain the insight to see that it has some funny aspects/consequences. No-one is taking the pish out of potential suicide cases.

8 hours ago, hk blues said:

It's a football forum so maybe you can cut folk some slack for discussing a topic in good faith? I genuinely haven't seen any posts that are poking fun at the condition. 

7 hours ago, coprolite said:

That link says that those numbered bits define obsessions. OCD is also diagnosable with only compulsions, which are:

Repetitive behaviors (e.g., hand washing, ordering checking) or mental acts (e.g., praying, counting, repeating words silently) that the person feels driven to perform in response to an obsession, or according to the rules that must be applied rigidly.

The behaviors or mental acts are aimed at preventing or reducing distress or preventing some dreaded event or situation. However, these behaviors or mental acts either are not connected in a realistic way with what they are designed to neutralize or prevent or are clearly excessive.

Those still apply with the condition (which is subjective) about causing marked distress or impairment of function. That’s not a requirement for it to be debilitating or suicide-inducing. 

I think the OP adequately covered the fact that it’s not about just being a bit anal.  

Less serious problems can still be problems.

I've clearly upset a few people, and that wisnae my intention. I do agree folk should be able to laugh at themselves and make light of the things that trouble us; so apologies if I came across as dour and sanctimonious.

The truth is that OCD is trivialised, and mostly that's the result of the media. This is worth a read: 

https://www.ocduk.org/ocd/whats-not-ocd/

Anyway, I'll leave it at that. :) 

25 minutes ago, G_&_T said:

I've clearly upset a few people, and that wisnae my intention. I do agree folk should be able to laugh at themselves and make light of the things that trouble us; so apologies if I came across as dour and sanctimonious.

The truth is that OCD is trivialised, and mostly that's the result of the media. This is worth a read: 

I thought the link you posted on page 1  and the diagnostic bit were really interesting and helpful. It’s clearly something you feel strongly about and I wasn’t in the least offended by your post. It’s good to talk about this stuff.

1 hour ago, G_&_T said:

No offence taken or intended.

It is something I do wonder about, and have had a bit of criticism for in the past though. Ie making daft remarks.

Mental health is a taboo, particularly making jokes about it.

I always take the view that a wee bit of light in the darkness won't do any harm. People with severe mental health issues, shouldn't just be defined by that. They will retain a sense of humour even if it's buried or distant at the time.

1 minute ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

I always take the view that a wee bit of light in the darkness won't do any harm. People with severe mental health issues, shouldn't just be defined by that. They will retain a sense of humour even if it's buried or distant at the time.

Prior to doing my Mental Health Nursing course at university, I worked in various mental health related settings for over a decade. One thing that has always surprised me is that many people who are living with a mental illness or dementia still retain their sense of humour despite the difficulties they face. Using humour is a very good way to engage with people.

On a personal level, I think sometimes you need humour because if you don't laugh, you cry.

51 minutes ago, Richey Edwards said:

Prior to doing my Mental Health Nursing course at university, I worked in various mental health related settings for over a decade. One thing that has always surprised me is that many people who are living with a mental illness or dementia still retain their sense of humour despite the difficulties they face. Using humour is a very good way to engage with people.

On a personal level, I think sometimes you need humour because if you don't laugh, you cry.

It's gallows humour, it's harsh. But if it's being applied in a dire situation, what's the worst outcome?

I am a fan of an NHL team which has historically been extremely uncommunicative with the media about player injuries. We have a player out right now listed as "undisclosed" and it's probably something comparable to the link I'm going to share, but we can't say (and I certainly wouldn't want it to be). A few seasons ago we had a guy get injured and then disappear - no mention of by the team, no questions by a small and terrible media, nothing. 

Over a year after his last game, this article appeared: The Things You Can’t See (theplayerstribune.com)

13 hours ago, G_&_T said:

No offence intended or taken.

A serious topic and one that has attracted a fair few responses which, whilst not necessarily always on the right side of PC, have been well-intentioned.  As were your posts.