Scottish Cup Final 2023 - ICT v Celtic

Aye, there is a risk you'll get humped senseless on the day (an ugly sister can do that to any club given their ridiculous levels of advantages over all other clubs), but just remember ... they can be put under pressure, and they're not infallible ... keep the faith ICT, keep the faith ... I give you 2008 ...

Jim%20Thomson%20Cup%20final%20goal.jpg

1 hour ago, Otis Blue said:

Aye, there is a risk you'll get humped senseless on the day (an ugly sister can do that to any club given their ridiculous levels of advantages over all other clubs), but just remember ... they can be put under pressure, and they're not infallible ... keep the faith ICT, keep the faith ... I give you 2008 ...

Jim%20Thomson%20Cup%20final%20goal.jpg

2008 Scottish cup winners: rangers 

2 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

2008 Scottish cup winners: rangers 

Indeed.  Alas I'm well aware of that fact unfortunately, having witnessed it in person ...

The point (poorly made by me it seems) was that irrespective of which Ugly Sister ICT face, they can be got at. All decent fitba fans will be willing ICT to upset the odds, that's for sure.

30 minutes ago, Monkey Tennis said:

Otis Blue will have erased that irrelevant detail.

His cup is famously half full where Queens are concerned.

Ach it’s fair enough, I got the point being made. I was just being difficult.

Of course, queens famously let themselves down that season. It’s a well established fact that Aberdeen, having trounced Celtic at parkhead, would have triumphed that day against rangers. But no, you had to have your wee day in the sun. 

3 minutes ago, Dons_1988 said:

Ach it’s fair enough, I got the point being made. I was just being difficult.

Of course, queens famously let themselves down that season. It’s a well established fact that Aberdeen, having trounced Celtic at parkhead, would have triumphed that day against rangers. But no, you had to have your wee day in the sun. 

If it was up to Gordon Smith, we'd have only got a midweek evening under floodlights.

God, I hate that b*****d.

11 hours ago, Otis Blue said:

Indeed.  Alas I'm well aware of that fact unfortunately, having witnessed it in person ...

The point (poorly made by me it seems) was that irrespective of which Ugly Sister ICT face, they can be got at. All decent fitba fans will be willing ICT to upset the odds, that's for sure.

Whichever fans of teams who finish 4th and 5th in the top league will be wanting a Celtic victory as it has a direct impact on European seeding (4th) and actual qualification (5th). 

Fans of the team who finish 6th will be likely looking for a ICT win to f**k up the teams above because they are pissed off they don’t have that opportunity.

That’s the nature of football rivalry- especially in Scotland 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿!

So what do we reckon?

Park the bus?

Just have a go, Steve Paterson style?

Sign Leigh Griffiths and bring him on if there's a free kick outside the box when shooting towards the West Stand, thus messing with Joe Hart's head?

1 hour ago, Monkey Tennis said:

If it was up to Gordon Smith, we'd have only got a midweek evening under floodlights.

God, I hate that b*****d.

Imagine trying to sort out a horrendous fixture pile up, what a kunt.

59 minutes ago, bennett said:

Imagine trying to sort out a horrendous fixture pile up, what a kunt.

Yes, genuinely.

What an absolutely prime example of the genre.  

To propose doing that to a club about to experience the biggest day in its history was utterly despicable.  I'm not even kidding or exaggerating for effect here.  

In his role, to even suggest such a thing was deplorable.

The only two teams who have ever won the Scottish cup while not playing in the top flight of Scottish football are Queens Park and Hibs - Queens Park in 1893 and Hibs in 2016, of course, defeating a fellow lower league club in the final.

If we take the end of the Second World War as a starting point, the biggest league places gap between the winning and losing team in the final was  in 1957 when Falkirk beat Killie after finishing eleven places below them in the league.  The best we can finish realistically is third, which would be fourteen places behind Celtic.  We could get second if we beat Ayr, Dundee beat Queens Park and Raith beat Partick Thistle and we make up seven goals on Queens - which is pretty unlikely.

Looking at a list of Scottish cup finals, there aren't that many 'shocks' as usually it's teams near the top of the top division who get to finals.  Dundee United in 1994 finished sixth but only a couple of points off relegation before beating Rangers in the final, that was a surprise result but probably not a shock.  The league cup final has more history of shocks - Raith beating Celtic being the obvious one and Partick Thistle and Dundee beating the Jock Stein Celtic side in the 1970s.  

Basically, if we beat Celtic it will be the biggest shock in Scottish football history.

6 minutes ago, ICTChris said:

The only two teams who have ever won the Scottish cup while not playing in the top flight of Scottish football are Queens Park and Hibs - Queens Park in 1893 and Hibs in 2016, of course, defeating a fellow lower league club in the final.

If we take the end of the Second World War as a starting point, the biggest league places gap between the winning and losing team in the final was  in 1957 when Falkirk beat Killie after finishing eleven places below them in the league.  The best we can finish realistically is third, which would be fourteen places behind Celtic.  We could get second if we beat Ayr, Dundee beat Queens Park and Raith beat Partick Thistle and we make up seven goals on Queens - which is pretty unlikely.

Looking at a list of Scottish cup finals, there aren't that many 'shocks' as usually it's teams near the top of the top division who get to finals.  Dundee United in 1994 finished sixth but only a couple of points off relegation before beating Rangers in the final, that was a surprise result but probably not a shock.  The league cup final has more history of shocks - Raith beating Celtic being the obvious one and Partick Thistle and Dundee beating the Jock Stein Celtic side in the 1970s.  

Basically, if we beat Celtic it will be the biggest shock in Scottish football history.

What about East Fife? Won the cup in 1938 as a second division side.

5 minutes ago, Jacksgranda said:

What about East Fife? Won the cup in 1938 as a second division side.

That's right - I have been misinformed.

Edited by ICTChris

1 hour ago, Monkey Tennis said:

Yes, genuinely.

What an absolutely prime example of the genre.  

To propose doing that to a club about to experience the biggest day in its history was utterly despicable.  I'm not even kidding or exaggerating for effect here.  

In his role, to even suggest such a thing was deplorable.

Vintage MT, have a nostalgic like.