The Playoffs - Round 1. Jags v Spiders

That ticketing statement is beyond tinpot. Plenty working the bank holiday - and who aren't potentially on the verge of the greatest day in their organisation's modern history. Grossly entitled. 

17 hours ago, jagfox said:

Well, seems to suggest, the Laughter Specialists, have been kicked into touch? 

The irony of it being called Laughter Specialists! Clyde 1 are also involved so we should get good coverage on the radio 😵‍💫The go fund me page is still running also so the charity must think it’s on. Just to top it off, Amberstone supply the security for us, and presumably Stenny. 

This one is actually easily fixable by making a decent donation to both charities. Although the club’s obvious attempt to hide it is shameful. And the fact SFC still have it in their diary suggest they’ve become scunnered with one of their lodgers.

PTFC please end this pain, quickly. 

image.thumb.png.0b307f89a14c18a4b6627ab8cd4c51a3.png

Glorious morning in the glorious North and weather looking good for rest of day and night .Pitch should be slick and in good nick which will play to our fast passing game .We really need to do it tonight as the plastic hell hole that is Larbert is not a happy hunting ground for us . Jags under Dools are difficult to beat,however,we are prone to spells of inexplicable torpor ….really need BBG ,Tiff ,Wee Stevie et al to be on fire tonight and want to win this .

Re Queens they’ll either be shattered after Dundee game or a positive reaction is in the offing,however,going by the state of Coyle’s coupon on Friday night hoping it’s the former .

Prediction….huvnae a clue .

Doolan definitely seems to have a preferred starting eleven, and no one has came off the bench and made a great case to get in the team, so barring any injuries I'd expect the same team as Friday to start. 

On the dates and sorting out venues, I contacted the SPFL just before Christmas and they didn't have set dates.  They had the first leg either tonight or tomorrow and the second leg either Saturday or Sunday. They said, though, that all dates were dependent on TV. TV has obviously looked for the change to Friday.

19 minutes ago, Fuctifano said:

Doolan definitely seems to have a preferred starting eleven, and no one has came off the bench and made a great case to get in the team, so barring any injuries I'd expect the same team as Friday to start. 

I’d say Mullen has, although to to be for he won’t start unless Graham’s injured. He’s impressed me since Doolan came in and often done well when he’s came in, scoring 3 goals in limited minutes. I’d be fine with his offering him a new deal presuming we still in the Championship but he was hopeless under McCall.

Edited by Reid

No idea what Coyle’s going to do to make it work over these two games. Despite the obvious weaknesses I can’t see him changing defence or defensive midfield, although it would be helpful if he could get them to stop the hoofball. Seems to be the back line think it’s safer to bang it away than play out now, but the ball just comes right back at them and often when they are out of position. Please stop it!

The never-ending issue of the left wing failed another test on Friday. In the centre-mid role, Savoury’s ineffectiveness seems to be worsening. Jarrett, who I had high hopes for, also seems to have been flat in his recent showings. Williamson still not quite there. Dom shirked out of every 50/50 near him on Friday. What’s happened to these guys? 

1 hour ago, Hampden Diehard said:

On the dates and sorting out venues, I contacted the SPFL just before Christmas and they didn't have set dates.  They had the first leg either tonight or tomorrow and the second leg either Saturday or Sunday. They said, though, that all dates were dependent on TV. TV has obviously looked for the change to Friday.

It doesn't surprise me that the SPFL didn't twig that the BBC would want weekend legs on the Friday. 

First experience of this format of playoff. It’s absolute guff and sort of takes away the buzz a wee bit. Three ties at the end of a long season is mountainous stuff and I doubt many in either support actually truly fancy their chances of going up.

I can actually see our support tonight being lower than the previous league games, which sounds absolutely mental for a playoff game in Glasgow. Just picking up absolutely zero buzz for the occasion from either side. I’m not one for copying what England do for the sake of it, but even doing what they do in the National League and having a one leg “eliminator” in the first round of playoffs would give the teams in third and fourth another week to recover. 

46 minutes ago, Bring Your Own Socks said:

No idea what Coyle’s going to do to make it work over these two games. Despite the obvious weaknesses I can’t see him changing defence or defensive midfield, although it would be helpful if he could get them to stop the hoofball. Seems to be the back line think it’s safer to bang it away than play out now, but the ball just comes right back at them and often when they are out of position. Please stop it!

The never-ending issue of the left wing failed another test on Friday. In the centre-mid role, Savoury’s ineffectiveness seems to be worsening. Jarrett, who I had high hopes for, also seems to have been flat in his recent showings. Williamson still not quite there. Dom shirked out of every 50/50 near him on Friday. What’s happened to these guys? 

If we are going to persist with long high balls from defence we need someone up front who can actually win a header ..........Eze.

20 minutes ago, an86 said:

First experience of this format of playoff. It’s absolute guff and sort of takes away the buzz a wee bit. Three ties at the end of a long season is mountainous stuff and I doubt many in either support actually truly fancy their chances of going up.

I can actually see our support tonight being lower than the previous league games, which sounds absolutely mental for a playoff game in Glasgow. Just picking up absolutely zero buzz for the occasion from either side. I’m not one for copying what England do for the sake of it, but even doing what they do in the National League and having a one leg “eliminator” in the first round of playoffs would give the teams in third and fourth another week to recover. 

It should probably just be 2nd vs 11th (or 2nd hosting 3rd in a one off with 11th going straight down, but no chance of the upper division agreeing to that) but it does at least reward 2nd and make it harder for 3rd and 4th.

Though the world cup break and Premiership season finishing later actually benefits whoever wins this tie as they get a full week between playing Ayr and then another week before the second leg rather than playing Tue-Fri again like they would have in previous years; you could also argue that Ayr sitting idle for 2 weeks is too long a break at this stage of the season.

Anyway, we've never won a home playoff tie (our only victories have been away to Stranraer and Peterhead in the third tier in 05/06) so would be nice to put that to bed if nowt else.

Edited by Fuctifano

1 hour ago, an86 said:

This was proposed and voted down because the current system gives extra games to sell for TV.