LINLITHGOW ROSE 23/24

GorgieRose

Probably best time to play SU to be fair as they will still have a few players to come in , always rapid up top but usually slow starters in the league , good win to get as they will defo take points of other title challengers 

7 hours ago, Dicko23 said:

My mate was at the game said broomhill were solid at the back tonight 

Although he said they were time wasting with 20 Min to go too 👀👀

Not sure why the keeper would be expected to hurry things up when they were winning 1-0.

Disappointing result but very disappointed with the performance. At times we looked like wee boys chasing shadows. Broomhill were well organised and disciplined, whenever they lost the ball everyone was back in position quickly. We didn't really handle their press, putting ourselves under pressure by playing along the defensive line with few 'outs'. The big centre half wasn't having a great game, so why continue to give him the ball in tight situations? 

Onwards to Saturday though - looking forward to ticking off another new ground for me. 

It’ll take a bit of time for the players and management to get used to playing up at this level week in week out.

Of course there’s a few who think we should just steamroller the league again but really with the exception of 1 or 2 teams who were out there depth last year there were no mugs in this league.

Pick ourselves up and go again Saturday!

Edited by grinderbrokeyourhearts

5 hours ago, Black Dug said:

Disappointing result but very disappointed with the performance. At times we looked like wee boys chasing shadows. Broomhill were well organised and disciplined, whenever they lost the ball everyone was back in position quickly. We didn't really handle their press, putting ourselves under pressure by playing along the defensive line with few 'outs'. The big centre half wasn't having a great game, so why continue to give him the ball in tight situations? 

Onwards to Saturday though - looking forward to ticking off another new ground for me. 

A very good summary.

We didn't adapt to the game content to play ourselves into trouble.  I felt for McKenzie who as a natural right footed attacker again was murdered at left back. Sometimes it takes more than a great attitude.

Tactically we weren't a match for Broomhill and albeit a better 2nd half, they pretty much dominated the flow of the game. 

Physically it also looked a bit of a mismatch, which was worrying.

We have to learn from games like last night and hopefully that's what happens.

Fantastic Rose support, who probably made up 80% of the crowd.

3 hours ago, grinderbrokeyourhearts said:

It’ll take a bit of time for the players and management to get used to playing up at this level week in week out.

Of course there’s a few who think we should just steamroller the league again but really with the exception of 1 or 2 teams who were out there depth last year there were no mugs in this league.

Pick ourselves up and go again Saturday!

People think that because you had a great record in cups against lowland teams but it's different week in week out 

Very comfortable today. Scored 9 and should have been 3 or 4 more.  Shyngle is far, far better than Jack Thomson. 

Gretna 7 and 11 looked ok but the rest were not up to much and could easily have had a couple sent off for some agriculture challenges.

46 minutes ago, FuzzyBear said:

Very comfortable today. Scored 9 and should have been 3 or 4 more.  Shyngle is far, far better than Jack Thomson. 

Gretna 7 and 11 looked ok but the rest were not up to much and could easily have had a couple sent off for some agriculture challenges.

Very good today. Agreed about Shyngle.

Not bad despite no Thom, Cammy, Allison, Skinner and Doc.

Might shut the entitled boo boys up for a few days.

4 minutes ago, Marooneye said:

Very good today. Agreed about Shyngle.

Not bad despite no Thom, Cammy, Allison, Skinner and Doc.

Might shut the entitled boo boys up for a few days.

McMullan missing too. Mind boggling that folk are still moaning after winning 9-2 away from home.

5 hours ago, FuzzyBear said:

McMullan missing too. Mind boggling that folk are still moaning after winning 9-2 away from home.

And I will continue to moan until we stop gifting goals every single game.

Not every game will be this easy, so to lose 2 goals is a real blemish on what was at times a magnificent attacking performance.

Yes we were missing key players, that's an easy out.  The defenders we had out today were still more than capable.

8 hours ago, Auld Heid said:

And I will continue to moan until we stop gifting goals every single game.

Not every game will be this easy, so to lose 2 goals is a real blemish on what was at times a magnificent attacking performance.

Yes we were missing key players, that's an easy out.  The defenders we had out today were still more than capable.

Expecting Brazil 1970 performances from non league players.  Are you ever happy. 

Taking nothing away from a magnificent attacking performance, a far better attitude than Tuesday night, they were hungrier, more committed, more creative, the weaknesses in the defence are a concern. Albeit an untried pairing in Shyngle and Webb and key players missing.

This tactic of passing around the back four, or a ball out to midfield only to come straight back to the centre half or full back is a disaster. It just invites teams forward on top of us, putting us under unnecessary pressure when one small mistake, a short pass or a poor touch then carries a goal threat. We need to be moving the ball out of the back third faster and with more determination, that requires a mobile midfield who can create space if you're not going the route one way. We have to stop inviting teams to put us under pressure. 

In saying that I loved the match yesterday, it was great to see them scoring freely and it could very easily have been ten or twelve goals! 

Edited by Zenith

Slagging the defence when the two goals we lost were due to a midfielder not closing the guy down and letting him cross/shoot and another midfielder playing a poor crossfield ball. Webb missed a header early on but apart from that thought the defence did Ok.

Edited by FuzzyBear

3 hours ago, Marooneye said:

Expecting Brazil 1970 performances from non league players.  Are you ever happy. 

If you listen to John Miller interview after the game, he pretty much says the same.

No I don't expect Brazil 1970 and no unlike some I don't make criticism of individual players.

A well organised defence can be worth a good few points, especially from tight games - a point John Miller alluded to in his interview and how competitive the LL will be.