Will we qualify out the groups

1 hour ago, Newbornbairn said:

78. Holland had already qualified but wanted to finish 2nd to get the easier draw in the next round so they could afford to draw or lose - just not by 3 goals.  As soon as we went 2 goals clear, they poured upfield and Johnny Rep walloped it into the net past Rough. We beat them 3-2 but they really couldn't give a shit. Peru won the group but got Brazil's group in the next round and went out. Holland got the easier group. 

ETA vid

Aye, that's right. The Dutch were like "we'll let them win, but not by much." Revisionist pish.

19 minutes ago, ArabFC said:

It would be uniquely Scotland to see an injury time equaliser by the Czech Republic against Turkey on Wednesday to put us out!

It's hardly unique to Scotland if we don't qualify with 2 points and goal difference of -4?

Whether that equaliser came in the 50th minute, the last minute or whenever, we would have left ourselves completely at the mercy of others, and should expect nothing else than being knocked out of the competition.

17 minutes ago, Alan Twelve said:

Aye, that's right. The Dutch were like "we'll let them win, but not by much." Revisionist pish.

Aye, that's right, we were good enough to slaughter the World Cup finalists but not beat the mighty Iran and get pumped by Peru.

The Dutch weren't fully committed, just watch the game.

1 minute ago, PeterRulesOK said:

How can beating hungary after being horsed by the gemany and shiting it against switzerland make them the best Scotland team ever?

Beating england 5:1 at Wembley is better. 

Beating england 3:2 when they were undeserving cheating pretend champions was better. 

Going unbeaten at a WC Finals is better.

Unless we win at least 6:1 tonight then 1978 was actually better, AND 1982.  See also 1996.

Tournament. 

He said tournament. 

2 hours ago, Newbornbairn said:

78. Holland had already qualified 

Simply not true.  They hadn't

Had we beat them by the 3 that very briefly looked possible, they'd have been eliminated.

If they were really hoping to chuck it, it was terribly careless of the guy who buried the penalty that put them ahead.

4 minutes ago, Monkey Tennis said:

Simply not true.  They hadn't

Had we beat them by the 3 that very briefly looked possible, they'd have been eliminated.

If they were really hoping to chuck it, it was terribly careless of the guy who buried the penalty that put them ahead.

They had 3 points which was enough to put them through unless they were beaten by 3 clear goals by us. 

1. PER^         3  2 1 0  5  7-2
2. HOL^         3  1 1 1  3  5-3
3. SCO          3  1 1 1  3  5-6
4. IRN          3  0 1 2  1  2-8

"Very briefly" is right, 3 minutes or so. 

5 minutes ago, Monkey Tennis said:

Yes, which is precisely what I said.

And there was no way we were beating them by 3 clear goals. They walked through the game, doing just enough. 

6 minutes ago, Newbornbairn said:

And there was no way we were beating them by 3 clear goals. They walked through the game, doing just enough. 

Nonsense.

As if they'd attempt to walk a tight rope like that, letting us get within a goal with 25 minutes left.  As a theory, it's just bonkers.  

it's rational enough to suggest that The Netherlands side weren't really 'at it' that night and perhaps approached it a bit complacently.  Fortunately for them, they were able to reassert themselves when they were in real danger of blowing it.

That's a long way from the suggestion, however that they wanted to lose, or were in total control all evening and that it was in their gift to determine how many we were allowed to win by. 

People can get idiotically dewy eyed about that game, and the Gemmill goal.  An opposite response that pretends the Dutch let us win, however, is even more stupid.

2 hours ago, PeterRulesOK said:

How can beating hungary after being horsed by the gemany and shiting it against switzerland make them the best Scotland team ever?

Beating england 5:1 at Wembley is better. 

Beating england 3:2 when they were undeserving cheating pretend champions was better. 

Going unbeaten at a WC Finals is better.

Unless we win at least 6:1 tonight then 1978 was actually better, AND 1982.  See also 1996.

Peter, the post was a parody, a parody of our habit of adopting extreme viewpoints (we’re either shite or brilliant etc). That should have been obvious from the post’s last line. Apparently not. Next time I’ll draw you a diagram to avoid confusion.

Heard on the radio last night that even a draw might be enough to get through as there’s 2 groups with 2 teams on 1 point and if all 4 lose and we draw we go through. Hopefully won’t need to come to that though.

22 minutes ago, Utdtillidie2 said:

Heard on the radio last night that even a draw might be enough to get through as there’s 2 groups with 2 teams on 1 point and if all 4 lose and we draw we go through. Hopefully won’t need to come to that though.

My bro said these are the permutations that would see us qualify on 2pts

IMG-20240623-WA0000.thumb.jpg.59601b9896c78718edf88863c2601cd9.jpg

Absolutely wild to think that we could go ahead and win tonight , qualify for the knock out stages of a major tournament  for the first time ever and some folks' reaction would be " aye but it isn't with our greatest squad ever or isn't subjectively the furthest/best we've done in a tournament ".  

49 minutes ago, PeterRulesOK said:

We went into the tournament as clear 2nd favourites after the draw and then clarke's hopeless management saw us lose, lose and lose.   

Complete and utter shite

It's mad being out and about in Germany at fanzones etc

These forum/twitter weirdos don't actually seem to exist in real life, absolute losers that see the worst in everything 

48 minutes ago, JamesP_81 said:

Absolutely wild to think that we could go ahead and win tonight , qualify for the knock out stages of a major tournament  for the first time ever and some folks' reaction would be " aye but it isn't with our greatest squad ever or isn't subjectively the furthest/best we've done in a tournament ".  

What's wilder is there will be people out there hoping Scotland lose tonight so they can say I told you so. 😬

1 hour ago, PeterRulesOK said:

We went into the tournament as clear 2nd favourites after the draw and then clarke's hopeless management saw us lose, lose and lose.   

Qualifying as best 16 out of 24 should be given, not something to claim is an achievement.

Look how many different things had to go wrong to stop us from qualifying in every other tournament.   Costa rica's offside goal in 1990 and us not getting the handball penalty for a start.

Shite.

Germany are naturally red-hot favourites to win Group A, with the host nation priced at 1.30 with Paddy Power to get the job done. Otherwise, this is seen as a very competitive group. Switzerland are marginal second favourites at 5.50, with Hungary and Scotland on offer at 10.0 and 11.0 respectively

And Shite. 

https://andysbetclub.co.uk/predictions/group-a-betting-tips-predictions/#:~:text=Germany are naturally red-hot,at 10.0 and 11.0 respectively.

Edited by Hoose Rice

6 hours ago, nate said:

It’s quite simple really.

We win and it’s the best Scotland tournament team ever

We lose and it’s the worst Scotland tournament team ever

We draw and it’s the best worst Scotland tournament team ever

I don't rate this team as the worst tournament team ever. Equally it is nowhere near the best. Either way, we have been constant failures. 

I am sick of the "we don't make it easy" shite. Such an argument implies that in some way we get their in the end; don't make it easy, not great but we get the job done. 

We have never gotten the job done. Ever. The don't make it easy pish is just that. 

I want a win. Second place, straight qualifier if at all possible. The 3rd place, if this, if that pish didn't exist until the powers that be decided to shoehorn teams in that couldn't get the job done. 

Just fucking win. Spare me the other crap. 

32 minutes ago, rainbowrising said:

I don't rate this team as the worst tournament team ever. Equally it is nowhere near the best. Either way, we have been constant failures. 

I am sick of the "we don't make it easy" shite. Such an argument implies that in some way we get their in the end; don't make it easy, not great but we get the job done. 

We have never gotten the job done. Ever. The don't make it easy pish is just that. 

I want a win. Second place, straight qualifier if at all possible. The 3rd place, if this, if that pish didn't exist until the powers that be decided to shoehorn teams in that couldn't get the job done. 

Just fucking win. Spare me the other crap. 

The original post was tongue in cheek. A comment on our capacity for knee jerk reactions.