Portugal v Scotland

JS_FFC

2 minutes ago, Barry Ferguson's Hat said:

Aye, if we all scrunch up our eyes, clench our fists and believe really hard at the same time then we'll get a result.

It might just work! 

Send this on to 10 friends or you’ll have bad luck. 🍀 

Edited by Scary Bear

10 minutes ago, Freedom Farter said:

"Beleaguered Scots return to site of 1993 humbling".

BBC headline on their site just now.

Naebdy cares. The current team weren't even alive in 1993. Media love wallowing in old time shitey nostalgia.

Being pernickety, I'd think Hanley, Zander Clark and McLean would have been wee when it happened.

15 minutes ago, Barry Ferguson's Hat said:

Aye, if we all scrunch up our eyes, clench our fists and believe really hard at the same time then we'll get a result.

You sure you’re no getting football mixed up with having a w**k mate ? 

1 hour ago, dstuart82 said:

Our mindset and ambitions are a reflection of what we tend to achieve.

Football is our national sport, yet we are content with pish like, ‘all we can do is try our best’ or ‘if we play out our best and they have an off-night…..’ etc etc etc.

We are so happily downtrodden it’s frightening. Neil McCann played his part of the typical ‘Scottish sook’ very well the other night during commentary, like so many before him, bowing down to his superiors. It’ll likely be more of the same tonight.

I’ve no idea if true, but I’m guessing similar sized nations like Denmark, Croatia, Uruguay etc, have a ‘bit’ more belief and desire to succeed than we do.

It really is pathetic when you sit back and think about it.

The reasons those countries do better than us is nothing to do with belief and everything to do with player development - at which we are atrocious and always have been.

Our belief that we don't need to professionally coach young players, severely limit their competitive games, get them playing small-sided matches and do all the other things countries like Denmark do is partially what got us into this state. 

We're not being negative because we think our country is rubbish. We're being negative because our best option up front plays in the English third tier and none of our options at centre half belong at this level. 

42 minutes ago, Freedom Farter said:

"Beleaguered Scots return to site of 1993 humbling".

BBC headline on their site just now.

Naebdy cares. The current team weren't even alive in 1993. Media love wallowing in old time shitey nostalgia.

More of a prediction I feel