Meal routines

68 members have voted

5 minutes ago, CarrbridgeSaintee said:

On our laps in the living room.

We used to have a dining room but it has now been transformed into a bedroom.

Only time we whack out the fold out table to eat at are special occasions.

It’s a nice wee novelty when it happens.

waynetta.thumb.jpeg.22940e9a8ab81d2778f2b4b174667edb.jpeg

11 minutes ago, greendot said:

The Japanese don't take kindly to this.

I've wondered about that. What did/do the auld yins do? I'm bad enough these days, but you'd be as well asking my mum to fly than sit on the floor.

I'm not a Tory, I'm a champagne socialist. Well, cava socialist but if we're generalising anyway I'll take the upgrade. 

In common with @Florentine_Pogen my routine also involves cooking food before consumption. I appreciate that this probably marks me out as a monarchist, a racist or a scientologist but so be it. 

Wherever the butler server me.  At the tennis court with esteemed guests , on the Dining table with the family, in the summer house with the mistress or in the bathroom after he's revived me from my overdose, depends the day of the week.

9 hours ago, Theroadlesstravelled said:

Balancing the plate on your knees is wrong'un behaviour on many levels. 

Also hand washing dishes has been unnecessary for 70 years now.

I take some therapeutic pleasure in washing dishes as :-

a) our kitchen is quite 'compact' and I'd rather have the storage space than another white good to break down / unclog.

b) our sink is by the window, we're 2 floors up and the view out is quite spectacular. (NOT the next door neighbour's bedroom, you pervs.)

My meal routine is basically as follows

Breakfast - Usually around 7am or earlier.  I make my son breakfast, which is usually Shreddies or porridge.  I generally have porridge, which I make with water in the microwave.  Depending on time I might make myself some scrambled eggs (4 eggs scrambled with buttered sourdough toast on the side).

Lunch - If I'm working from home I'll generally heat up some soup or have some cheese and biscuits.  I eat at the dining table or if I'm very busy I'll eat it at the desk I work at.  If I'm in the office I'll usually go to the canteen with colleagues or if I'm going out for a run I'll grab something and eat it in one of the breakout areas.

Dinner - I always like to eat as a family round the table, which means we usually eat fairly early.  If I'm working from home I'll put some dinner in the slow cooker to be ready around 5pm or I'll put together something that can be heated up.  We usually eat between 5 and half 5.  It's good to have family time and discuss our day etc.  It's also good for my son to be involved in laying the table, clearing up etc.  If you put good habits in place early it makes them easier when they get older. 

Snacks - I go to the gym three times a week, if I can, and after I've lifted weights I'll usually have some protein.  Generally I'll eat a protein bar and a protein yoghurt, which I get from Aldi.  I find that the Aldi peanut butter protein bars are just as tasty as the more expensive ones and they have 21g of protein per bar.  The protein yoghurts have 24g of protein per pouch and taste just as good as any of the more expensive ones.

3 minutes ago, Jives Miguel said:

Why are you eating like a convict Chris?

Do you get cheese and biscuits in prison?  Might have to go.

I am having to stop eating cheese and biscuits for lunch, doctor's orders.  

Edited by ICTChris