Official P&b Cycling Thread

We having made up my mind which new bike I was going for, I went to the shop, saw another and totally changed my mind.

Now the proud owner of these

attachicon.gifbianchi-intenso-dura-ace-2015-road-bike.jpg

attachicon.gifmavic 2.jpg

attachicon.gifmavic 3.jpg

Biuanchi Intenso with Dura Ace & Ultegra and upgraded wheels to Mavic Ksyrium Elite S

:wub::wub::wub: :wub: :wub::wub:

Let us know how it rides. :-)

We having made up my mind which new bike I was going for, I went to the shop, saw another and totally changed my mind.

Now the proud owner of these

attachicon.gifbianchi-intenso-dura-ace-2015-road-bike.jpg

attachicon.gifmavic 2.jpg

attachicon.gifmavic 3.jpg

Biuanchi Intenso with Dura Ace & Ultegra and upgraded wheels to Mavic Ksyrium Elite S

:wub::wub::wub: :wub: :wub::wub:

That looks the dog's bollocks UTN. I've got those Mavic wheels and they are fantastic and indestructible (touchwood) as well.

Looking forward to a report.

Did the wheels come with the Mavic tyres?

That looks the dog's bollocks UTN. I've got those Mavic wheels and they are fantastic and indestructible (touchwood) as well.

Looking forward to a report.

Did the wheels come with the Mavic tyres?

Yup

The bike came with Fulcrum 5 wheels but I bought these as upgrades so still have the originals as back ups

Got a brilliant deal on this bike and the wheels at Leslie Bike Shop

First time I've dealt with them and have to say they were first class

If anyone's looking to buy a bike , thoroughly recommend dealing with these guys

Yup The bike came with Fulcrum 5 wheels but I bought these as upgrades so still have the originals as back ups Got a brilliant deal on this bike and the wheels at Leslie Bike ShopFirst time I've dealt with them and have to say they were first class If anyone's looking to buy a bike , thoroughly recommend dealing with these guys

Leslie is unbeatable on price that's for sure. Cheaper than you can buy online but their servicing is absolutely diabolical in my experience. They talk the talk but don't deliver. You can genuinely pick up your bike after a service, head off in good faith and find the front brake cable isn't connected.

It pisses me off that a fantastic bike like this comes with wheels like Fulcrum 5's as standard. I'm not saying they are absolutely shite wheels, far from it, but they are miles below the spec of the rest of the components on your bike. They'd be better flogging the bike without wheels - but giving you £150 towards the wheels of your choice. Grumpy from Fife grrrr.

Leslie is unbeatable on price that's for sure. Cheaper than you can buy online but their servicing is absolutely diabolical in my experience. They talk the talk but don't deliver. You can genuinely pick up your bike after a service, head off in good faith and find the front brake cable isn't connected.

It pisses me off that a fantastic bike like this comes with wheels like Fulcrum 5's as standard. I'm not saying they are absolutely shite wheels, far from it, but they are miles below the spec of the rest of the components on your bike. They'd be better flogging the bike without wheels - but giving you £150 towards the wheels of your choice. Grumpy from Fife grrrr.

Surprised at your rant here Fifespud.

Its the first time I've used them ,but lots of my mates from the bike club use them and I haven't heard one bad thing said against them tbh.

With regards to the wheels, that's not Leslie Bikes fault, that's Bianchi and all the other manufacturers who do this, to keep retail costs down.

Just to let you know I got the Mavics and the bike with the Fulcrum 5's for a lot less less than almost everyone else is asking for the bike alone

Eta, I see the bike hating simpleton from Perthshire is back on the forum under a new name. Hopefully he'll start all his embarrassing anti-cycling threads again and make a total tit of himself as previously

Edited by Unleash The Nade

Surprised at your rant here Fifespud.

Its the first time I've used them ,but lots of my mates from the bike club use them and I haven't heard one bad thing said against them tbh.

With regards to the wheels, that's not Leslie Bikes fault, that's Bianchi and all the other manufacturers who do this, to keep retail costs down.

Just to let you know I got the Mavics and the bike with the Fulcrum 5's for a lot less less than almost everyone else is asking for the bike alone

Eta, I see the bike hating simpleton from Perthshire is back on the forum under a new name. Hopefully he'll start all his embarrassing anti-cycling threads again and make a total tit of himself as previously

UTN - no I realise that the Fulcrum's were being supplied by Bianchi - that bit of the rant was aimed at them!! It just seems bizarre to me the bike manufacturers supply really top end bikes with middle of the road wheels - when you consider they are one of the most important (in my opinion the MOST important) bit.

As far as Leslie BS's servicing is concerned - if you use them yourself I'd be interested to know how it works out. Most of my posse have given up on them for servicing - some are off to Nicholsons in Dundee, Spokes and myself - I go to the Leuchars Bike Shop where I've never been disappointed. John in there is an absolutely superb skier so we usually have a metaphorical w*nk regarding the coming ski season.

I'm just getting back on my bike again now my rib has finally healed. Headed over the bridge and up round Forfar and Arbroath. Tough into the wind on the way out but absolutely flying on the way back from Arbroath - Strava PB's all over the shop. It's getting to the stage where Strava section times are all about wind direction now. It's funny how it goes. You start off cycling and you hate wind and hills - eventually you grow to love the challenge.

I've always found Leslie Bike Shop to be quite good on servicing and the associated prices and Andy always seems to be quite personable and happy to chat. I've never bought a bike from there for myself having bought my road bike from Planet X so can't really comment on that.

I know what you mean about Strava, I'm 2 seconds off of my first KOM and I'm suddenly a slave to wind conditions and what the traffic will be like!

UTN - no I realise that the Fulcrum's were being supplied by Bianchi - that bit of the rant was aimed at them!! It just seems bizarre to me the bike manufacturers supply really top end bikes with middle of the road wheels - when you consider they are one of the most important (in my opinion the MOST important) bit.

As far as Leslie BS's servicing is concerned - if you use them yourself I'd be interested to know how it works out. Most of my posse have given up on them for servicing - some are off to Nicholsons in Dundee, Spokes and myself - I go to the Leuchars Bike Shop where I've never been disappointed. John in there is an absolutely superb skier so we usually have a metaphorical w*nk regarding the coming ski season.

I'm just getting back on my bike again now my rib has finally healed. Headed over the bridge and up round Forfar and Arbroath. Tough into the wind on the way out but absolutely flying on the way back from Arbroath - Strava PB's all over the shop. It's getting to the stage where Strava section times are all about wind direction now. It's funny how it goes. You start off cycling and you hate wind and hills - eventually you grow to love the challenge.

I totally agree with your comment re the wheels being the most important part of your bike, but like I said, its the manufacturers way of keeping price down as many people who get into cycling are more interested on what group sets included .

Anyway, being based in Larbert area, I cant really see me going all the way over to Leslie bikes for a service tbh, as other good guys much closer to home, but it was worth going to for the fantastic deal I got.

I just cant speak too highly of the level or service and attention I got when I was there and the fantastic deal Andy gave me .

We've got a few more local dealers over in this neck of the woods, but they wouldn't give you the steam off their pish.

I spent £850 on my very first road bike with one and just before I left the shop, I said " you better give me a spare tube, as it's sods law I'll get a puncture on the way home" and the tight b*****d charged me £3.00 for it .

No names , but it was Smiths of Falkirk

I've always found Leslie Bike Shop to be quite good on servicing and the associated prices and Andy always seems to be quite personable and happy to chat. I've never bought a bike from there for myself having bought my road bike from Planet X so can't really comment on that.

I know what you mean about Strava, I'm 2 seconds off of my first KOM and I'm suddenly a slave to wind conditions and what the traffic will be like!

Andy is incredibly affable, remembers your name etc - as I said already - totally unbeatable on price. If your buying a new bike you'd be bonkers not to go there. The servicing is all down to which mechanic you get I guess.

In general I think the level of service in bike shops is appalling. I know they are getting battered by Wiggle etc but they don't do themselves any favours. They seem to be staffed by biking fanatics with little or no interest in customer service, often lacking in social skills. I once took my Focus MTB into Spokes in Dundee with a headset problem. 'bringing your Wiggle shite in here' was the greeting. Well I haven't graced them with any of my shite since.

I totally agree with your comment re the wheels being the most important part of your bike, but like I said, its the manufacturers way of keeping price down as many people who get into cycling are more interested on what group sets included .

Anyway, being based in Larbert area, I cant really see me going all the way over to Leslie bikes for a service tbh, as other good guys much closer to home, but it was worth going to for the fantastic deal I got.

I just cant speak too highly of the level or service and attention I got when I was there and the fantastic deal Andy gave me .

We've got a few more local dealers over in this neck of the woods, but they wouldn't give you the steam off their pish.

I spent £850 on my very first road bike with one and just before I left the shop, I said " you better give me a spare tube, as it's sods law I'll get a puncture on the way home" and the tight b*****d charged me £3.00 for it .

No names , but it was Smiths of Falkirk

It would be like buying a top of the range Beamer and it getting delivered with a cheap set of steel wheels which you then have to replace with 3rd party alloys. They should maybe offer 'optional extra' like car manufacturers where you can upspec bits and bobs. Amazed they are not already doing it when you consider how much money versus sense, knowledge and ability some cyclists have.

Have you tried Hooked on Cycling in Bathgate?

It would be like buying a top of the range Beamer and it getting delivered with a cheap set of steel wheels which you then have to replace with 3rd party alloys. They should maybe offer 'optional extra' like car manufacturers where you can upspec bits and bobs. Amazed they are not already doing it when you consider how much money versus sense, knowledge and ability some cyclists have.

Have you tried Hooked on Cycling in Bathgate?

Aye been there a few times but haven't bought anything from them

You have a good point though re the wheels

Out with the new bike for the first time tonight and loved itNeeding a few wee tweaks to set it up right but 11-28 cassette on the back made a huge difference , as did the Mavic wheels

The Mavic's are the dogs bollocks. Very strong. I've had a few speed wobbles - one horrific one coming down off the Lecht which I blamed on the flat spokes. They do catch crosswinds but I now reckon my problems were rider initiated.

What cassette did you have before?

The Mavic's are the dogs bollocks. Very strong. I've had a few speed wobbles - one horrific one coming down off the Lecht which I blamed on the flat spokes. They do catch crosswinds but I now reckon my problems were rider initiated.

What cassette did you have before?

My Focus has a 50-34 with a 12 -27 cassette

The Bianchi has a 50-34 with an 11-28

There are a couple of bigger jumps on the 11-28 but it's definitely the way forward.

I'm still on my focus triple 53/39/30 with an 11-28 cassette. Triples are scorned by serious cyclists but it's really suited me. You basically never run out of gears. The triple does need a bit of tinkering. As cables stretch, or sometimes for no reason, the front dérailleur goes all to fûck but it's forced me to get better at setting the gears up. I find I use the front rings far more than folk with compacts do. One of the reasons I've never changed my bike because I'd have to buy a compact or face getting the piss ripped out of me again - plus it's tricky to get a high end bike off the shelf with a triple.

There are a couple of bigger jumps on the 11-28 but it's definitely the way forward.

I'm still on my focus triple 53/39/30 with an 11-28 cassette. Triples are scorned by serious cyclists but it's really suited me. You basically never run out of gears. The triple does need a bit of tinkering. As cables stretch, or sometimes for no reason, the front dérailleur goes all to fûck but it's forced me to get better at setting the gears up. I find I use the front rings far more than folk with compacts do. One of the reasons I've never changed my bike because I'd have to buy a compact or face getting the piss ripped out of me again - plus it's tricky to get a high end bike off the shelf with a triple.

Lots of MTB's are now only using double rings on the crank and I notice that many road bikes are now using a mid length rear mech and a 30 tooth low gear with a compact crank rather than a triple.

My bike (Ridley Triton) is getting a wee bit long in the tooth now, however I took out the 12/25 rear cassette and fitted a 12/28 (non Shimano) just to help me out as I'm not overly fit. At the time Shimano didn't do a 28 and said that for '105' a 27 was the largest that could be used. When I renewed the chain I added a link or two and it works OK. BTW I'm also using a compact 50/34.

If I was to replace the Ridley I would look for a 28 minimum and would never dream of a 52/39 crank. Those are just for the super fit speedsters.. ;)

I've got a Cube Steamer which is a triple and love it.

Its all about egos regarding triples, but you should always have what suits you and not some other fud.

I went to a weeks training camp in Majorca with my club a few years ago and took the Cube, which I got teased about a bit, however, the majority of them were wishing they had one when they saw some of the climbs we did

I upgraded my bike last winter and wanted a 52/36 on the front as didn't think I could manage a double on the hills. SRAM fitted the bill as my bottom bracket is a bb30. They provide a cassette of 11/32 which looks a bit big but it does the job going up the hills and also gives me the bigger gear of a double on the flat.

The SRAM front derailleur was a b*****d to set up but once done and learnt it's not to bad to adjust.

The SRAM doubletap gear change is a bit of a gimmick but works fine.

Edited by Gogs Grog