Official P&b Cycling Thread

If anyone is looking for a first road bike or a second winter bike,I'm "possibly" selling my Specialized Allez

Frame:Specialized A1 Premium aluminium, fully manipulated tubing, smooth weld compact race design, integrated headsetFork:Specialized FACT carbon, carbon legs, aluminium crown and steererGears:Shimano 2300 Front / Shimano 2300 Rear / Chainset Shimano 2300 52/39

The reason I'm saying "possibly" is that one of my sons showed an interest in taking up cycling and I was going to give it to him,but he's still dithering,so its decission time for him.

You can still get this new and prices range from £510 -£600

http://www.google.co.uk/products/catalog?hl=en&cp=14&gs_id=1k&xhr=t&q=specialized+allez&safe=off&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.r_qf.&biw=1366&bih=643&wrapid=tljp1345567043765026&um=1&ie=UTF-8&tbm=shop&cid=17753411876722715649&sa=X&ei=p7ozUMLWDdCo0AXKzoDgBQ&ved=0CFMQ8wIwAw

Its only 8 months old and I've only done around 500 miles on it.

Its in mint condition and I'm selling it for £400.

If anyones interested,please PM me and I'll let you know in a day or so,on a first come first served basis.

You'd have to collect it and I live in Larbert

Cheers

specialized-allez-16-2011-road-bike.jpg

ETA suitable for someone 6" - 6" 3

Edited by Unleash The Nade

I'm planning do to a the Pedal For Scotland cycle next month with a few pals and I've been tasked to think up a decent team name. I've been trying to rack my brains but I'm pretty awful at this sort of thing. I'm ideally looking for a clever pun or play on words to show the teams love for both cycling and beer.

Any suggestions or ideas are much appreciated!

I'm planning do to a the Pedal For Scotland cycle next month with a few pals and I've been tasked to think up a decent team name. I've been trying to rack my brains but I'm pretty awful at this sort of thing. I'm ideally looking for a clever pun or play on words to show the teams love for both cycling and beer.

I've created my own road cycling club. I'm the only member, and I'm known as MABIL....

Middle-Aged Bawbag In Lycra.

You can join if you like - the annual sub is only £200 :)

I've created my own road cycling club. I'm the only member, and I'm known as MABIL....

Middle-Aged Bawbag In Lycra.

You can join if you like - the annual sub is only £200 :)

I Qualify

But £200,way to steep....:D

How about " We can handle bars"

Or

Allow Drooper in your team and call yourselves Brewers Drooper!

Edited by Unleash The Nade

Lotto - Swally Team . :)

If anyone is looking for a first road bike or a second winter bike,I'm "possibly" selling my Specialized Allez

Frame:Specialized A1 Premium aluminium, fully manipulated tubing, smooth weld compact race design, integrated headsetFork:Specialized FACT carbon, carbon legs, aluminium crown and steererGears:Shimano 2300 Front / Shimano 2300 Rear / Chainset Shimano 2300 52/39

The reason I'm saying "possibly" is that one of my sons showed an interest in taking up cycling and I was going to give it to him,but he's still dithering,so its decission time for him.

You can still get this new and prices range from £510 -£600

http://www.google.co.uk/products/catalog?hl=en&cp=14&gs_id=1k&xhr=t&q=specialized+allez&safe=off&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.r_qf.&biw=1366&bih=643&wrapid=tljp1345567043765026&um=1&ie=UTF-8&tbm=shop&cid=17753411876722715649&sa=X&ei=p7ozUMLWDdCo0AXKzoDgBQ&ved=0CFMQ8wIwAw

Its only 8 months old and I've only done around 500 miles on it.

Its in mint condition and I'm selling it for £400.

If anyones interested,please PM me and I'll let you know in a day or so,on a first come first served basis.

You'd have to collect it and I live in Larbert

Cheers

specialized-allez-16-2011-road-bike.jpg

ETA suitable for someone 6" - 6" 3

Right bike is now definetly for sale

58 frame

See while you boys are on the topic of cycling on a road, are there any websites or anything that give beginners advice or is it just a case of going out and learning as you go?

I've aquired a bike to see how I get on before I spend good money on it but I'm a little apprehensive about cycling on the road as a non driver.

See while you boys are on the topic of cycling on a road, are there any websites or anything that give beginners advice or is it just a case of going out and learning as you go?

I've aquired a bike to see how I get on before I spend good money on it but I'm a little apprehensive about cycling on the road as a non driver.

Best advice I got on here is if you're doing circular routes, go anti-clockwise as this makes things easier at junctions and roundabouts.

Does anyone have any tips on how to deal with traffic light sensors.

Part of my commute takes me along a short stretch of road from which motor vehicles except local buses and taxis are banned. This means that motorised traffic is fairly quiet, but at the end of the road there's a set of lights which are controlled by a sensor and this morning I just could not trip it.

In the end, I had to just bite the bullet and carefully sneak through, but I'd much prefer to stay legal. So has anyone managed to find a way of tripping these things?

I never stop at red lights...

Unless your cycling abroad !! :P

Don't they have to use proper road rules when in the presence of a Brit? I'm sure they do unsure.gif

Anyway - just back from Edinburgh Bike Co-Op and I'm a wee bit poorer having just ordered this beauty -

2j1u252.jpg

Specialised Tricross 2012 biggrin.gifbiggrin.gifbiggrin.gif

When I started cycling last year, I got a Tescos mountain bike from my son and hit the road - and these threads. Before long I had a hankering for a proper bike and ended up buying UTN's Secteur, which has been pretty good I have to say. However, cycling on the main roads can be stressful - some drivers are morons and I've had a few close shaves. The law of averages says I'll come a cropper at some point. The other thing is a road bike is about speed - light as f**k, skinny low resistance tyres and high gearing. That's fine as far as it goes and I tip my hat to those who post some incredible times here but I'm not a speed merchant, more a steady plodder. I also miss being ablo to hit the forest trails and farmtracks that I did on the mountain bike. 35 mph downhill on a roadbike is exhilarating, but so is 25mph down the side of a hill with your legs going through the long grass and trying to avoid nettles. biggrin.gif

Road bikes are fast, but flimsy. Mountain bikes are rugged but painfully slow on the road so I've opted for the Tricross, which I'm hoping will be the best of both worlds. I've done a fair bit of reading about them and most of it is positive. Playing with it this morning and comparing it to the Revolutions, I was convinced it's a good bike. Add in that it's reduced by £200 in their sale and .... I collect it on the 4th, ready for the PFS (Challenge Route) on the 9th.

Wahey!!

If there is one thing Pie & Bovril has taught me it's that you can't learn fuck all from websites.

As are mine. I am interested in getting a bike but I am bit worried as it appears to limited to bikes from Halfords. I have tried to do some research but I am struggling to find any reviews of the bikes they have on offer (I think a hybrid is the best option for me) - does anyone have a link to a decent review/comparison site so I can follow this up?

My employers have ditched Halfordswits and we can go to just about any other retailer, including Overdrive in Airdrie, who have had some good offers in the past.

Have a look around other shops and find a bike you like, then get Halfordswits to order it in. You'll get a better bike that way, but they will still manage to muck it up. Here's a post I made on the Cyclechat Forum:

4 Nov 2009

My Halfords saga...

Here's my complaint to Halfords and their response:

Dear Sir,

I am employed by Network Rail, and recently arranged to buy a bike through the Cycle to Work scheme, which Network Rail operate in co-operation with your company. Throughout this process I have been given the impression that some of your staff are completely incompetent, and are responsible for some appalling customer service.

The Cycle to Work scheme section of the company website says that if you do not stock a particular brand of bike you may be able to source it. I was looking for a folding bike, as I travel by train a lot, and I found that

the Dahon Jack bike would be ideal for my needs. I contacted my local

Halfords to see if they could get it, and was told no, they could not, and

that I had to phone the Cycle to Work scheme helpline, and that they would order it. I called the helpline, and was told that they did not order it, and that the local store must do this. They did give me a price of £440,

and confirmed that, yes, Halfords could supply this bike. I was told to

order sufficient vouchers, and take them to the store and place my order.

I then ordered Cycle to Work vouchers to the value of £450. On 8th August 2009 I took these to my local store and I was told again that I must order through the helpline. I insisted otherwise, and after checking, the staff found that they were wrong, and I was correct. I then placed the order and was told that the bike would be delivered in seven to ten days. In the above, and most of the following I dealt with a chap called EMPLOYEE X, who I found to be utterly incompetent and unreliable.

About a week later I dropped in to the shop to see how the order was

progressing. I was told by EMPLOYEE X that there was nothing showing as arrived in the system, and that he would call Dahon and confirm a delivery date, and call me later that day to keep me informed. At the same time I ordered a new rear mech for my sons bike, and he took the order for this as well.

Over the course of the next few weeks the following pattern was repeated. I would call the shop, and would be given various stories about the delay, initially that he had been unable to contact the supplier, this then changed to a story that the bike was being shipped from the far east and may take up to six weeks. Of my spare part there was no sign, and EMPLOYEE X failed to return any calls.

Eventually after five weeks I had had enough and spoke to EMPLOYEE Y, the assistant manager in the store, who has been very helpful. After apparently himself being given the runaround by EMPLOYEE X, he looked in to the situation and found that my order had never been placed with the supplier. He contacted Fisher, the importer, who said that they were no longer importing that model of bike and that they could no longer supply the bike. They had one in stock, a small frame, which was unsuitable. As I was using the cycle to work scheme I could not top up the vouchers with cash, and was therefore limited to a budget of £450. EMPLOYEE Y found a replacement bike, which is currently on order. I have taken it only because I am stuck with £450 which I cannot return, nor take to another retailer.

EMPLOYEE X never returned any calls about my replacement part, and eventually I went to a local sports shop who had the right part on the shelf and purchased it from them. I was unable to fit the part, due to a damaged thread on the frame, and took it to Bikehut where I was told it would be seen to next day. On phoning back a few days later it was my misfortune to again have to deal with EMPLOYEE X, who again regaled me with a story of why a repair hadn't been carried out, which bore no relation to why I had put the bike in in the first place. He told me that the disc brakes on the bike were defective, and would need replaced (as they were beyond repair), at a total cost of £70. As this was a boys bike I decided against ordering these parts, as I could buy a new bike for a little more. On collecting the bike I had a look at the brakes, and repaired them myself in around twenty minutes.

I am absolutely furious that I was told that these parts were defective, when they were clearly not, and I could have wasted £70, or more on a new bike, for no reason other than your staff being unable to do what appears to be a basic job.

Similarly, a damaged wheel which I took in for repair on Friday 11th

September and was promised would be repaired that night, or at the latest Monday, was still unrepaired on Wednesday of the following week. I was given a free replacement wheel, although your staff were unable to manage to fit a quick release mechanism to it, which the original one had.

On 25th September I called Fisher, the Dahon importer, and asked if it was

correct that they were no longer importing Dahon bikes. I was told that

this is the case, and that their last Dahon Jack in a medium frame was sold ten days previously. He confirmed to me that had my order been placed on 8th August that they DID have stock of the bike I ordered and it would have been dispatched with 24 HOURS, not SIX WEEKS! As you can now guess, I am bloody angry about this whole farce. I have been mucked about from day one as far as I can see. I have now had to accept a lower specification bike to what I ordered, I was left with a pile of gift vouchers I did not need as balance, and I am supposed to just accept this! It was two months to the day (8th October) that I took delivery of my bike, which is simply unnaceptable.

I am alerting you to the above, and await your response with great

anticipation.

Yours Sincerely,

Mr Grendel

Halfords reply:

Dear Mr Grendel,

Thank you for your email.

Please accept my apologies for the delay in our response.

I am sorry to read of the poor service you received from our XXXXXX store.

It is always disheartening to hear of situations where our customers

experience additional inconvenience and feel let down. I wish to assure you that Halfords endeavours to maintain a good relationship and will always seek to use customer responses as a way of improving our customer service.

All concerns relating to our stores are logged onto a central database and

the information regarding your experience is made available for the Area

Managers to read. As our Store Managers are 100% responsible for the

service in their stores, we also make the information available for them to

view on our stores intranet system. This method is proven to be very

successful in highlighting any shortfalls to the line managers responsible.

They are then able to take any action they feel necessary with the

individuals concerned.

I would like to assure you that it is never our intention to cause distress

or inconvenience to any of our customers and although mistakes do happen, we recognise that it is how they are dealt with which is important. Your complaint has been logged against the store concerned and I am confident that your local Store Manager can resolve any outstanding issues.

We do ask that if you wish to discuss your concern or specific requirements in detail that you contact your local store manager directly in the first instance. Unfortunately our stores do not have e-mail facility but can be contacted on xxxx xxxxxx.

I appreciate you taking the time to highlight this problem and I hope it

hasn't deterred you from shopping with us again. It is only through

feedback from our customers that we are able to identify areas where we are falling short of our customers’ expectations and can redress them.

Please accept my sincere apologies once again.

Kind Regards,

XXXXX XXXXXXXXX

Customer Service Advisor

13/10/2009 09:13 <customer.services@halfords.co.uk>

cc

Subject

Complaint- Bikehut-

I got hassled by some idiot yesterday for cycling on the pavement. I pointed out the big signs which showed it was also a cyclepath, but he still didn't seem to get it. When I enquired as to what his problem was he said " This guy once..." Am I that guy? "Well, naw, but" THEN FUCK OFF! The world is full of tossers and I keep meeting them. :angry::angry::angry:

My employers have ditched Halfordswits and we can go to just about any other retailer, including Overdrive in Airdrie, who have had some good offers in the past.

Have a look around other shops and find a bike you like, then get Halfordswits to order it in. You'll get a better bike that way, but they will still manage to muck it up. Here's a post I made on the Cyclechat Forum:

Is your name really Grendel?

Cooooooooooool 8)

I was determined to cycle to work at least a couple of days this week regardless of the shite weather.

Once again, the beauty of cycling has been brought home to me in that I didn't really notice the rain (the wind is more of an issue in any event).

I've cycled in the rain often enough, but if you get out the way of it - by that, I mean getting the bike out and setting off while it is pissing down, as opposed to being caught when you're already out - then you start to convince yourself that it is a hellish experience. It really isn't that bad at all (in the warmer months at any rate).

ETA: your name clearly isn't Grendel :bag

Shame all the same.

Edited by Drooper