Worst Town/area In Scotland

MTJ

A lot of Greenock is deprived, yes, but huge parts of it are just normal. And a surprising amount of Greenock is actually very wealthy as well. I think once a town's over 30,000 in size you'll see quite a lot of variance in it. It's only the smaller places that are either entirely poverty-stricken or 100% leafy.

I like a guy who defends his roots and suports his local team.

A lot of Greenock is deprived, yes, but huge parts of it are just normal. And a surprising amount of Greenock is actually very wealthy as well. I think once a town's over 30,000 in size you'll see quite a lot of variance in it. It's only the smaller places that are either entirely poverty-stricken or 100% leafy.

I'm amazed that VT hasn't been on here in the last day or two banging on about this. Is he holidaying in Gourock or something?

My uncle and aunt stay there, they have a cracking house looking out over the clyde to some of the best views in the country. Greenock has its problems but there really arent that many places that don't. I stay in Ayr, it has plenty of money floating around but it also has its shithole areas just like most towns. The drive up the coast to Greenock is tremendous on a good day and they have certainly made an effort to tart Greenock up in recent times, I can remember what it was like after the shipbuilding had more or less fucked off and it was a bit gloomy to say the least, its not so bad now. A lot of folk only visit places when they go to the fitba and in general the grounds are in the crappy areas of most towns.

I have cousins over in Kilcreggan and I fucking love getting the wee ferry over there for the day after a drive up the coast. Magic.

Edited by Reynard

Anyone ever been in doune towards Callander that place is dump nothing there but a castle.

I went with a lassie for a couple of years who was from Doune. It's actually quite a well off village. The high street isn't the best looking place and apart from a couple of council house the property is quite expensive. Although the pubs is a different story. Think there is only two left now and one has a ridiculously low ceiling and the other one is like a scene from the hills have eyes. Once watched a old firm game there and a fight broke out over Ronald Waterreus. It was one of the funniest things I've ever seen.

Anyone ever been in doune towards Callander that place is dump nothing there but a castle.

There is a fairly big classic car show there every year. I sometimes go to it with the faither in law. We are in a field somewhere and only drive through the place but it just seems like a fairly decent wee village to me. Never noticed it as being particularly run down or anything, but then I,m comparing it to some of the Ayrshire villages I suppose. :lol:

My best mate lives over in Port Glasgow and despite a couple of dodgy places I've never had a problem when I've been over. The same with Greenock as well. There is some rough areas but the majority of it is ok.

It's true what you say. Every place has its bad parts. Some people are too negative and only focus on the bad parts.

Edited by BigMartyn86

I don't know how long it's been since you've been in Bathgate but things have changed my friend. The houses are mainly council houses, the busiest office in Bathgate is the Job Centre, jakeys on the trains, a shit tonne of charity/pound shops and more than a hefty selection of takeaways that specialise in chips and curry sauce. And neds. Loads and loads of neds. The precinct is busier Monday-Friday between 9am-5pm than any other time! It's earned it's spot on chavtowns.co.uk.

My nomination for worst area is anywhere west of Bathgate (including Bathgate) and Fife! It's just weird over there! But, as I've said before, I love your bridies!

Nonsense mate. It has its rough spots but even they're not half as bad as some areas of Glasgow or Ayrshire. A brand new civic building, brand new railway station, one of the biggest housing developments in central Scotland, brand new swimming pool/sports facility, refurbished shopping precinct, brand new superstore - there's plenty regeneration going on in the town. You can be in both of Scotland's biggest cities within an hour on public transport - ideal for commuters, so there's a good bit of wealth in the town now. And as for the precinct being busy Mon-Fri 9-5, well aye it would be. It's a shopping precinct. Shops tend to be open between 9am-5pm on weekdays?

You must live in the bit of Livingston with all the millionaire mansions, with Bentleys and Astons in the drive if you think Bathgate is the worst town in Scotland. Livingston is a far far worse place than Bathgate, any day of the week.

I went with a lassie for a couple of years who was from Doune. It's actually quite a well off village. The high street isn't the best looking place and apart from a couple of council house the property is quite expensive. Although the pubs is a different story. Think there is only two left now and one has a ridiculously low ceiling and the other one is like a scene from the hills have eyes. Once watched a old firm game there and a fight broke out over Ronald Waterreus. It was one of the funniest things I've ever seen.

FFS .if you're classing Doune as a dump,you must be a right posh fucker

ETA.Just noticed you're from Alloa.Obviously not posh, just fucking deranged ;)

Edited by Unleash The Nade

Nonsense mate. It has its rough spots but even they're not half as bad as some areas of Glasgow or Ayrshire. A brand new civic building, brand new railway station, one of the biggest housing developments in central Scotland, brand new swimming pool/sports facility, refurbished shopping precinct, brand new superstore - there's plenty regeneration going on in the town. You can be in both of Scotland's biggest cities within an hour on public transport - ideal for commuters, so there's a good bit of wealth in the town now. And as for the precinct being busy Mon-Fri 9-5, well aye it would be. It's a shopping precinct. Shops tend to be open between 9am-5pm on weekdays?

You must live in the bit of Livingston with all the millionaire mansions, with Bentleys and Astons in the drive if you think Bathgate is the worst town in Scotland. Livingston is a far far worse place than Bathgate, any day of the week.

At least you didn't get upset about it though.

bathgate2.jpg

bathgate.jpg

FFS .if you're classing Doune as a dump,you must be a right posh fucker

ETA.Just noticed you're from Alloa.Obviously not posh, just fucking deranged ;)

Haha. I never said Doune was a dump. It is a nice place. Just the pubs seem to be quite mental and the high street isn't the most appealing place on earth. It is braw on a nice day to walk down to the castle then go down to the banks of the teith. Especially good with a carry out and a couple of disposable BBQ's.

Motherwell has been by far the worst town i've been to in Scotland. I come from Port Glasgow but even i couldn't believe just how run down and awful the place looked. The people there were by far the unfriendliest i've come across aswell, so when you put those two together then there is no contest im afraid.

You must have driven too far and got to Wishaw.

How bout Gowkthrapple. It's lovely for a visit this time of year.

In my line of work I've seen a lot of shit holes.

The worst from my point of view are :

Howatshaws. A truly horrendous place surrounded by dilapidated buildings and those that remain are surrounded by barbed wire and look like a fortress. Quite unnecessary, it was a tiny meaningless building not a bank. I was even asked by someone from Alloa if I was getting danger money for being there...I fucking should have been! No prejudice or anything but it was shocking how bad it was and I know Paisley/Glasgow well!

Yoker. It's never good having to walk past a young team in a suit, and there are young teams on every fucking corner. An absolute shithole.

Oh and Greenock has gotten plenty of new schools recently, a disproportionate amount of the best football pitches in WOS are in Greenock, which means I go there far too much for my liking.

Edited by Supras