Worst Town/area In Scotland

MTJ

Is the wrong answer.

Of course they're 2 of the better places in Central Scotland. Relatively affluent, the standard of housing and general living is above average, plenty of well paid jobs in the area, close to Edinburgh and Glasgow and with excellent transport links, plenty of shops & restaurants etc. How are they not good towns to live in? Their location is perfect. With the exception of Edinburgh/Glasgow I'd love to see you name anywhere better.

So Edinburgh is a 'grey shitehole' but your lifeless carpark town's USP is its proximity to Edinburgh and Glasgow?

Tough times man :lol:

So Edinburgh is a 'grey shitehole' but your lifeless carpark town's USP is its proximity to Edinburgh and Glasgow?

Tough times man :lol:

Edinburgh is good for some things; the airport, the universities and, er.....that's about it. For everything else there's Glasgow, or indeed Livingston itself.

Nonsense mate. It has its rough spots but even they're not half as bad as some areas of Glasgow or Ayrshire. A brand new civic building, brand new railway station, one of the biggest housing developments in central Scotland, brand new swimming pool/sports facility, refurbished shopping precinct, brand new superstore - there's plenty regeneration going on in the town. You can be in both of Scotland's biggest cities within an hour on public transport - ideal for commuters, so there's a good bit of wealth in the town now. And as for the precinct being busy Mon-Fri 9-5, well aye it would be. It's a shopping precinct. Shops tend to be open between 9am-5pm on weekdays?

You must live in the bit of Livingston with all the millionaire mansions, with Bentleys and Astons in the drive if you think Bathgate is the worst town in Scotland. Livingston is a far far worse place than Bathgate, any day of the week.

The point is that the clientèle that frequent the shops are of the junkie/ned persuasion! And I'm unsure what part of Livingston you are referring to there or if it even exists but speaking as a long time resident of Bathgate, I think I'm pretty bang on with my review of the town! Best thing about Bathgate...the road out of it!

Took my wean to the Doune Gala day a couple of years back and it was a good day.

It started by saying to her , "We are away up to Doune". Cue puzzled expression ;)

For shitholes locally, I want to nominate Tillicoultry. Truly a depressing place.

Howatshaws. A truly horrendous place surrounded by dilapidated buildings and those that remain are surrounded by barbed wire and look like a fortress. Quite unnecessary, it was a tiny meaningless building not a bank. I was even asked by someone from Alloa if I was getting danger money for being there...I fucking should have been! No prejudice or anything but it was shocking how bad it was and I know Paisley/Glasgow well!

Just done a Streetview tourist trip of the place and I reckon you're onto a winner there. The nicer parts remind me of some of the worst estates in Dundee.

post-13234-0-71453800-1342264507_thumb.p

Characteristic hillside flats overlooking the Clyde estuary with excellent views over Dumbarton castle. Close to local amenities, within easy commuting distance to Glasgow and a 15 minute drive to some of Scotland's finest scenery. Home report available on request. Viewings not recommended.

There are some flats like that in the back-centre (for want of a better word... it's not the east end, but it's not the west, and it's not the town centre - it's south of these) of Greenock and I always thought they looked dead scary when I was a kid.

Quoting someones original post and altering is mildly amusing.. to start with. Doing it ALL the time is the sign of a moron. As is your rather odd obsession with me and my hometown of stirling.

I could accuse you of having a chip on your shoulder but you would probably eat it.

Fat , drunk and stupid is not a way of life son.... :(

My uncle and aunt stay there, they have a cracking house looking out over the clyde to some of the best views in the country. Greenock has its problems but there really arent that many places that don't. I stay in Ayr, it has plenty of money floating around but it also has its shithole areas just like most towns. The drive up the coast to Greenock is tremendous on a good day and they have certainly made an effort to tart Greenock up in recent times, I can remember what it was like after the shipbuilding had more or less fucked off and it was a bit gloomy to say the least, its not so bad now. A lot of folk only visit places when they go to the fitba and in general the grounds are in the crappy areas of most towns.

I have cousins over in Kilcreggan and I fucking love getting the wee ferry over there for the day after a drive up the coast. Magic.

So what you are saying is, the best thing about greenock is the views of places other than greenock (Helensburgh? - which actually is a lovely wee town)

Quoting someones original post and altering is mildly amusing.. to start with. Doing it ALL the time is the sign of a moron. As is your rather odd obsession with me and my hometown of stirling.

I could accuse you of having a chip on your shoulder but you would probably eat it.

:rolleyes: ''is no way to go through life, son'' I think is closer.............

Crackin thread this.

In my line if work i've worked in some right shitholes. Port Glasgow and a wee place called Overton in Greenock were pretty bad as was some parts of Irvine. Also recall a place called Easthouses on the outskirts of Edinburgh bein bad.

The worst of all was Ferguslie Park though as we actually got told to get out of the street and had to get a police escort in to complete the job.

Ma mate says there's places in Aberdeen that take some beatin though.

Thats me f**ked then :(