Livingston - all the threads merged

Bit of dreaming here, but as things stand:

If we finished the league now, and finished in 5th place we would qualify for the Europa League second qualifying round if Rangers and Celtic make up a 0.675 deficit on Czech Republic, a 0.125 on Cyprus, and an 0.875 on Denmark in European Competition. This would depend on either Celtic, Rangers, Aberdeen or Motherwell winning the Scottish Cup (or us of course).

From the three countries Cyprus has a team left, and that's APOEL who face Basel in the round of 32. Denmark have one with Celtic obviously facing Copenhagen, Rangers play Braga. Czech Republic already have had all teams eliminated. 

"1 point awarded if club reach the Quarter-final", so if Celtic were to best Copenhagen then go one further we would potentially jump up a few spots. 

Czech Republic in 14th have 5 teams in Europe, but Denmark in 13th only have 4. Austria are far ahead in 12th but also have 5 teams in Europe. I'm assuming that Czech Republic have been overtaken by Denmark so 13th could be the cut off for 5 spots.

So the best bet for us all is to hope the following happens

If Celtic and Rangers both get past Copenhagen and Braga, then get a good draw and both make the Quarter Finals, then we move ahead of Denmark and Cyprus and will likely have 5 places in next years European competition. 

If only Celtic get through and then make the Quarters, we need Basel to beat APOEL or for Celtic to make the Semi Finals (as long as APOEL don't).

If only Rangers get through, we need to hope they can essentially outlast APOEL and Copenhagen in the tournament. 

Benefits of all that would be a Second Qualifying Round entry, which nets on average 460k-1m

That all being said, I'm looking forward to our eventual 9th place finish and sitting in my hoose for the summer!

Edited by ATLIS

Holt in the Daily Record talking about Dykes

"We’ve not had a thing; not a call, not a text, not an email, not a tweet or an Insta. We’ve had nothing and it wouldn’t be entertained.

We know where we’re at, we know what we want to achieve.

He knows where we are and that’s why we gave him a new contract recently.

We just want him to keep his feet on the ground and keep working hard - and as we’ve seen he’s a likeable big guy.

In the future, will it happen? Probably, if he keeps doing what he’s doing and banging in the goals.

International recognition is probably his next carrot, can he achieve that? And then seeing where it takes him.”

6 hours ago, ATLIS said:

Bit of dreaming here, but as things stand:

If we finished the league now, and finished in 5th place we would qualify for the Europa League second qualifying round if Rangers and Celtic make up a 0.675 deficit on Czech Republic, a 0.125 on Cyprus, and an 0.875 on Denmark in European Competition. This would depend on either Celtic, Rangers, Aberdeen or Motherwell winning the Scottish Cup (or us of course).

From the three countries Cyprus has a team left, and that's APOEL who face Basel in the round of 32. Denmark have one with Celtic obviously facing Copenhagen, Rangers play Braga. Czech Republic already have had all teams eliminated. 

"1 point awarded if club reach the Quarter-final", so if Celtic were to best Copenhagen then go one further we would potentially jump up a few spots. 

Czech Republic in 14th have 5 teams in Europe, but Denmark in 13th only have 4. Austria are far ahead in 12th but also have 5 teams in Europe. I'm assuming that Czech Republic have been overtaken by Denmark so 13th could be the cut off for 5 spots.

So the best bet for us all is to hope the following happens

If Celtic and Rangers both get past Copenhagen and Braga, then get a good draw and both make the Quarter Finals, then we move ahead of Denmark and Cyprus and will likely have 5 places in next years European competition. 

If only Celtic get through and then make the Quarters, we need Basel to beat APOEL or for Celtic to make the Semi Finals (as long as APOEL don't).

If only Rangers get through, we need to hope they can essentially outlast APOEL and Copenhagen in the tournament. 

Benefits of all that would be a Second Qualifying Round entry, which nets on average 460k-1m

That all being said, I'm looking forward to our eventual 9th place finish and sitting in my hoose for the summer!

Our extra European spot wouldn't be competed for until next season.

Edit: Noticed Random beat me to it.

Good to see we wouldn't be entertaining offers for Dykes, worth more to us in the team atm than something like 300k and a shitey wee sell on.

Edited by LiviLion

We'd no doubt entertain a big offer, would hope we'd be wanting a loan back deal for the rest of the season if that happened though.

I see Dec Gallagher is attracting interest from English Championship clubs now, was amazing having him with us for so long and playing in the lower leagues, shame Halkett got injured and Hearts are so shite, he also deserves a chance down in England.

7 minutes ago, Cptn Hooch said:

Aston Villa sign Pepe Reina....makes their decision to recall Sarkic even stranger

Watched their game against City, their keeper was shite, hardly made a save and missed a few that was hit near enough straight at him from outside the box. Can see why they'd want to sign Reina. Lost 6-1 and he should've saved at least 3 of them, and there was cleared off the line that shouldn't have got past him either.

Edited by LIVIFOREVER

2 hours ago, LIVIFOREVER said:

Watched their game against City, their keeper was shite, hardly made a save and missed a few that was hit near enough straight at him from outside the box. Can see why they'd want to sign Reina. Lost 6-1 and he should've saved at least 3 of them, and there was cleared off the line that shouldn't have got past him either.

In fairness, he was playing against City on his premier league debut. He looked decent in the cup games they played tbh

2 minutes ago, Cptn Hooch said:

In fairness, he was playing against City on his premier league debut. He looked decent in the cup games they played tbh

So I heard yep, was as well not being there against City though, don't think they'd have conceded any more goals playing with no keeper for all the use he was. Very slow at getting down to shots, was reacting after the ball was on the way past him, and that was from shots outside the box.

Glad that winter break is over with now.

Just thinking, it’s 25 years this year since the move. I’m not sure if it’s the kind of thing that many will acknowledge. I remember that first game sat in the east stand with my dad. When I used to collect programmes it was the only one I was missing from the opening season. It’s funny how I’ve seen a lot of the same faces over the years.  What a journey, too! I’ll never forget the goal celebrations at the CIS cup final... Also, when we got promoted from the 3rd division that first time I distinctly remember the tannoy announcer saying “it’s usually at this point that we tell you the other scores around the country ... but who cares?!” :) The Home top from that season was so big on me that it’s an ideal fit now haha.

Edited by crispy

11 hours ago, crispy said:

Glad that winter break is over with now.

Just thinking, it’s 25 years this year since the move. I’m not sure if it’s the kind of thing that many will acknowledge. I remember that first game sat in the east stand with my dad. When I used to collect programmes it was the only one I was missing from the opening season. It’s funny how I’ve seen a lot of the same faces over the years.  What a journey, too! I’ll never forget the goal celebrations at the CIS cup final... Also, when we got promoted from the 3rd division that first time I distinctly remember the tannoy announcer saying “it’s usually at this point that we tell you the other scores around the country ... but who cares?!” :) The Home top from that season was so big on me that it’s an ideal fit now haha.

This had actually occurred to me also, I reckon a great way to celebrate is a 25 year anniversary kit next season, trying to replicate those kits from our first ever season in West Lothian would go down a treat I think. 

7 hours ago, D'Jaffo said:

Get him signed before Jobby does please.

I believe we’ve offered Ayr money for him now, and a loan back and also offered the lad a pre contract, it’s now up to Forrest if he accepts it not, out with our hands. 

46 minutes ago, andylivi1 said:

I believe we’ve offered Ayr money for him now, and a loan back and also offered the lad a pre contract, it’s now up to Forrest if he accepts it not, out with our hands. 

A wee chat with Devlin and Crawford might help him make up his mind. 😏

2 hours ago, andylivi1 said:

This had actually occurred to me also, I reckon a great way to celebrate is a 25 year anniversary kit next season, trying to replicate those kits from our first ever season in West Lothian would go down a treat I think. 

Between strips, posters, calendars and stationery I had enough Livi stuff to run a small exhibition - maybe when we’ve won a few more things we can get a space at the stadium ;) 

I’ve not been so hot in recent years at buying stuff. Does the club still do a first team squad photo for sale?

2 hours ago, orco said:

A wee chat with Devlin and Crawford might help him make up his mind. 😏

Failing that stick a few bonuses on his contract from Martindale and see if that changes his mind, spending so long at Ayr should have him well set up. 

Edited by LiviLion