Who's Going To Uni?

My experience of First Year has been mixed.

Law is an absolute bitch compared with even Advanced Highers, but Politics is, if anything considerably easier than AHs.

First year isn't anything to do with anything, it's just a waste of time to get you into the habit of being at uni.

I started this course in 3rd year, which shows how pointless the first two years are!

Had six exams in the first semester, with another three this week...

Monday had Water and Waste Management, which was quite easy, but tomorrow have third year level Microbiology... fun after dropping Biology in first year of school 14 years ago! - then on Friday have Occupational Health, Safety and Toxicology, it's mainly about Asbestos and Noise regulations, with a little bit of oncology brought in to tie everything up!

I was thinking the same thing, I'm doing Politics and Economics and I'm almost certain I done more work in my 5th year at school.

In comparison my girlfriend is doing her first year of Law at Glasgow and seems to have an absolute shit load of work most of the time

Never thought I'd say this but I actually would like it to get harder tbh, also looking forward to being able to specialise on subjects I'm actually interested in rather than just doing a variety of different diddy subjects like Sociology mixed in with mind numbingly boring ones like Finance.

I gave you a green dot for the sociology bashing. Dire subject.

Cheers, it's utter w**k.

I did it in my first semester and quickly learned it was basically about writing essays that backed up seminar tutor's opinions. One essay I wrote on whether or not gender is socially constructed was horrific, I got a good mark but some of the stuff I spraffed about women not having the same oppurtunities because of us men made me think I should probably chop my balls off.

You should. Natural selection.

If I didn't have any balls I wouldn't be able to corrupt this land with little third generation tattie munchers. sad.gif

Does uni actually get a lot harder in second year aye?

Just done first year and it was a massive pile of shite in terms of how easy it was. A great laugh and an all round superb year, but in terms of the actual educational side of it I've been surprised at how easy it has been, not that I'm complaining.

I am just finishing of my third year and you notice the difference after the first 2 years. You really have to put in the graft for the exams which can be absolute b*****d.

Mind you some folk in my year have a good fucking moan about doing a whole days revision cause they do easy subjects. So it all depends on what you do.

Edited by SaintsFan

So... Dave, Kev, and anyone else doing Managing Organisations at Stirling on Saturday... how's the revision going?

I had a really good semester until the last week or two when my attendance went to pot and consequently I missed the all-important revision lectures for all my subjects. Did anyone go, and do they have any idea what topics are likely to come up in the exam?

I'm guessing one of the questions is going to be on the role of the manager, because there were a couple of pretty intensive lectures on that, but beyond that I'm struggling a wee bit.

What do we need to study in regards to the Role of manager'? The lecture notes are horrific and think I was off with the flu at that point. Aye, I've studied up CSR. Seems a decent subject!

Fayol's always a decent starting point, with POCCC and all that, and then there are various other, more contemporary theories that are pretty much saying the same thing but slightly rephrased. Probably handy to know one or two of those.

Aye, prob a decent idea to know how the 'role of manager' has developed over the years. I don't think I'll bother going near technology. Bit of a bore fest!

In a desperate attempt to make up for the fact that I know literally (not literally like "I'm literally on top of the world", it's real meaning) nothing about the subject I have an exam for tommorow morning, and considering it's too late to start, I've developed another technique.

It's multiple choice and with past papers I've found that by randomly writing A, B, C or D for answers without reading the question I am getting in and around the minimum pass mark. If I put in an hour or two's revision tommorow and read the questions I might pass this, which would be a shocking sign of how pish our university system is.

Edited by Guest

I'll hopefully be getting into UWS at Hamilton to do Social Sciences. I don't know anyone who is doing this course at the same time as me, so if you or someone you know is please give me a shout. :lol:

A semester of attending the minimum tutorials, mostly, and a grand total of 1 lecture (not one I have an exam in) results in me having a week to learn quite a bit. Fun fun fun! :)

All that said and done, I am pretty confident I can come out with the results I need and/or want.

Edited by Enigma

In a desperate attempt to make up for the fact that I know literally (not literally like "I'm literally on top of the world", it's real meaning) nothing about the subject I have an exam for tommorow morning, and considering it's too late to start, I've developed another technique.

It's multiple choice and with past papers I've found that by randomly writing A, B, C or D for answers without reading the question I am getting in and around the minimum pass mark. If I put in an hour or two's revision tommorow and read the questions I might pass this, which would be a shocking sign of how pish our university system is.

I think I actually passed that, roond ye academia. biggrin.gif

Not long now untill I can sit outside in the sun with a cold pint and not a bit of responsibility for two weeks, fucking bliss.

I'd say it said more about your particular course. I've not had a single multiple choice question in an exam since I started uni.

Is the minimum pass mark really 25% for it? That seems really low.

I'd say it said more about your particular course. I've not had a single multiple choice question in an exam since I started uni.

Is the minimum pass mark really 25% for it? That seems really low.

He's clearly doing a module in Box Ticking. 20 credits so I'm told.