Nom Nom Nom

10 minutes ago, johnnydun said:

Duck looks good, nae too sure about the whole cashews.

Most of them were broken up tbh but I ran out of time to toast them further and properly smash them up 😂 By that point I'd already cooked a different meal for the kids and ours was ready. I also ran out patience 😂😂

20 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

Most of them were broken up tbh but I ran out of time to toast them further and properly smash them up 😂 By that point I'd already cooked a different meal for the kids and ours was ready. I also ran out patience 😂😂

Bairn have you tried slashing the duck skin to the fat layer & starting it in a cold pan?

Using the rendered fat to baste the breast.

7 minutes ago, Venti said:

Bairn have you tried slashing the duck skin to the fat layer & starting it in a cold pan?

Using the rendered fat to baste the breast.

Yeah that's the way I do it. After it was finished in the oven with 5 spice and honey I poured off half the oil and fried the noodles in what was left. 

Honestly tho much as I love duck the star of that dish is the salad. Its absolutely fucking glorious

https://www.bbc.co.uk/food/articles/classic_british_dishes?fbclid=IwAR1p_yyg9ViQOuS1TCTosVIjgnFO16W_diAiXxdNuTiGlHuygCaIDtc4ywc

Food on the slide, time to resurrect some classics. Never had spotted dick, steady. Glad to see Scotch Eggs edging out truly awful concoction.

Put me in the mood for a Bakewell tart though.

What foods that are losing popularity will you rage against?

47 minutes ago, 101 said:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/food/articles/classic_british_dishes?fbclid=IwAR1p_yyg9ViQOuS1TCTosVIjgnFO16W_diAiXxdNuTiGlHuygCaIDtc4ywc

Food on the slide, time to resurrect some classics. Never had spotted dick, steady. Glad to see Scotch Eggs edging out truly awful concoction.

A good scotch egg is brilliant. Even better made with black pudding or haggis. My current favourite is corned beef hash.

2 hours ago, 101 said:

Spotted dick and custard is fantastic, steamed pudding in general are so under rated! syrup sponge or clootie dumpling have to be up there with my fav puds. Agree with sarge on the scotch egg too, get those supermarket/petrol station monstrosities in the bin, but a well made one with an oozy yolk are great 

Edited by Don Diego De la Vega

14 hours ago, 101 said:

Liver and onions with gravy and mash followed by sherry Trifle. 

Will now read article

14 hours ago, 101 said:

As ever with surveys, it only really confirms how many idiots there are in Britain fir me. 

4 minutes ago, johnnydun said:

In my teens, I used to enjoy the liver raw, in wee chunks, as I was transferring it to the pan.

Offal is alright. Kidney in a pie etc.

I draw the line at tripe & oesophagus. in either Mexican or Asian cuisine.