Big Rangers Administration/Liquidation Thread - All chat here!

Maybe 1 of you know all's can tell me what the main reason for SPLTV getting shelved before it got off the ground was?

Also whilst i have your attention, what was the TV deal before sky came along?

Sky have been covering live games in top flight since the 1990s. I recall watching a few pretty dire Aberdeen games in the pub under Alex Miller and the Danish pastry. Wasn't it just Sportscene and Scotsport highlights prior to that?

The SPL's always been very short term when it comes to cash, wasn't there a problem a few years back with one deal being rejected in favour of another more valuable one simply because the advance wasn't as good?

Edited by Jim Leighton

Nah - not really but if people don't believe all they read in the west coast media and Messrs Regan and Doncaster etc. There are supporters that can do the maths nowadays

Take a look at this

http://saintinasia.wordpress.com/2012/06/04/saints-without-rangers-a-question-of/

Yeah, I've seen that. It has little bearing on the will of bent administrators playing the short-game and shoehorning Sevco in.

WTF inspired the owner of this site to 'upgrade' at this time? Dickhead.

Edit to add: 5 red dots (so far) including one from someone with a vested interest. It appears it's OK to criticise some people but not others. How sad. :)

This thread could last another 3 months so the upgrade had to be done sometime.

I thought you were just having a laugh, you know, friendly banter, not adverse criticism..

It is hard to suss these things in text though.

Hence Mr Smiley :cheers

Sky have been covering live games in top flight since the 1990s. I recall watching a few pretty dire Aberdeen games in the pub under Alex Miller and the Danish pastry. Wasn't it just Sportscene and Scotsport highlights prior to that?

The SPL's always been very short term when it comes to cash, wasn't there a problem a few years back with one deal being rejected in favour of another more valuable one simply because the advance wasn't as good?

Think British Satellite Broadcasting started the live ball rolling in the early 90s with regular live coverage although I'm pretty sure the first live league game was on the beeb in 86, Hearts v Aberdeen in the run in to that day at Dens

When the SPL tried to play hardball with the Sky, they (Sky) shrugged us off and we ended up live on the beeb for less money and as the games were free to air attendances for live TV games were absolutely appaling; then Setanta came along and were doing a good job and making money too until they fucked things up by thinking the EPL was a licence to print money; t'was the EPL that done for Setanta, not Scottish fitba

I think someone mentioned something similar some pages back, but could we not possibly buy

some time to resolve this mess by restructuring into two leagues?

Merge SPL and SFL1 with the exception of Dunfermline (preserving their relegation) and Team 12

to create a league of 20 (i.e 38 matches in top league as now).

Dunfermline + SFL2 + SFL3 + Team 42 then create a second division of 22.

At end of season 3 teams automatically promoted/relegated plus 4th bottom and 4th,5th&6th

top enter playoff semifinals. Agree to stick with this structure for two seasons while

SFA under new leadership restructures game.

Edited by Caro-Kann

Maybe 1 of you know all's can tell me what the main reason for SPLTV getting shelved before it got off the ground was?

To paraphrase Yorkston, he suggested that some people just couldn't be arsed. Apparently it was feasible, but nobody wanted to exert any effort into making it all work.

Pity the barnett formula is not applied to the BBC

http://www.bbc.co.uk...otball/18205519

£179.7m for MOTD which is highlights only, no live games. Works out at £59.9m per year = £6.1277m per annum for scotland (10.23% of the Englund amount).

Bring on the SBC with my TV money not going near the BBC - are you listening Alex????

Edited by strichener

How many games are shown by Alba? Because they were until recently only on FreeSat which I don't have, I don't really have a clue what they show.

they show one SPL league game every round full match but not live

its always a saturday game & rangers & celtic dont feature i believe (or maybye i just havent noticed them)

We are a filler for Sky and we're almost unique in Europe in that we don't have a national broadcaster covering our games, but the figures are misleading; most of the leagues show ALL of their games live - in Norway, for example, that is 240 games a season, compared to our 60, four times as many. However, the belief at Sky (and Setenta and BBC before them) is that no one wants to watch games other than OF games and we are still a bit backward in as much we still believe that if games are on the box no one will go to the games

If the game is on TV then I am less likely to go to the game. There's no 'backward' thinking in this theory!

Edited by ArabFC

Hurrah - Div found 50p for the P&B meter. Saves him trying to fix the internet by hitting it with a spanner.

So, what's been happening? Fat Sally wants to go to Div 3?

That's it? Oh, and Andy Murray isn't pish after all. Decent day all round then.

Setanta paid £13M a year and had agreed to up that to (I think) £25M a year before they cocked things up by getting in too deep and paying too much for the Megahype EPL - before Setanta the beeb paid £7.5M a season

SPLTV was, I think, never more than a bargaining chip IMO, although why they have never seriously considered it I really don't know.

Thanks Edwink.gif

It's also on Freeview channel 8 according to BBC website.

Cheers. Doesn't help that their website is in some unintelligible language. ;)

they show one SPL league game every round full match but not live

its always a saturday game & rangers & celtic dont feature i believe (or maybye i just havent noticed them)

Thanks. I guess if the games aren't live then they aren't paying so much for them.

Edited by alimci

Merge SPL and SFL1 with the exception of Dunfermline (preserving their relegation) and Team 12

to create a league of 20 (i.e 38 matches in top league as now).

Dunfermline + SFL2 + SFL3 + Team 42 then create a second division of 22.

Unless I have this completely misinterpreted, you are suggesting that Dunfermline are relegated below all of the teams in SFL1? So the top league consists of all the current SPL teams and everyone in the SFL1 apart from Dunfermline?

Edited by Islay

Reading this document it appears that the SFA licencing process would not be completed in time for the start of the season.

Which won't bother them much - licenses are optional.

R.e. the discontent over TV ££... as EdtheDuck has noted, we get much more per game than many countries, and we also suffer from a lack of competition in the market (who else bar Sky-ESPN bid)?

Unless I have this completely misinterpreted, you are suggesting that Dunfermline are relegated below all of the teams in SFL1? So the top league consists of all the current SPL teams and everyone in the SFL1 apart from Dunfermline?

Yes, it was a biblically bad idea that needed ignoring!

The regan myth. What did we do before the days of SKY, ESPN, Setanta and all the various national beverages and payday loan companies splattered across our shirts offering 2770% credit to kilmarnock schemies? In the days when Scotland had a national team to be proud of, that managed to qualify for five world cups in a row, with players that any team would have bitten your hand off for. Although we still had sponserhip, it was not the be all , the Scottish clubs lived to their means and the players were proud to play for their national team(take note McGreggor, ferguson, spoilt waines) . In regans magical planet our game will not survive this crisis without the free flowing TV cash....bull5hit.. It will even up the playing field and it will be the OF duopoly that will be the ones to suffer. I do feel for the clubs that are on the brink and hope they survive. They have made the right decision and may suffer in the short term. But like they say"what dos'nt kill you" . The right place for the cheating SEVCO cvnts is to be booted out of the game altogether and never to be seen again and regan and his cronies ideas of them playing in the 1st is criminal and they should fek off to orangeville on the same bus. The Scottish game will survive and our national team will rise again from the ashes, 20 odd years ago the famous Ayr U told Murray to get tae, and even tho we have never been a force in the game we can still hold our heads up and watch our team and be entertained, win or lose, knowing we are not cheating every fan in Scotland . Good luck to any team that ain't Playing Ayr this season(except killie) you will survive.