Last Book You Read....

H_B

The Summer of Jordi Perez (and the Best Burger in Los Angeles) by Amy Spalding.

This is a million miles away from what I usually read but it was free on Audible, so I thought "why not try it?"

And I had a blast. Perhaps a bit predictable and probably hits a lot of tropes, but it has likeable characters, a fast paced story and a satisfying ending. Great fun.

4 minutes ago, Richey Edwards said:

Currently reading High-Rise by J.G. Ballard. 

Better than the film, I think you'll find.

Ballard was a fucking reactionary loon, but I do enjoy his work on the odd occasion I have time.

Just now, BFTD said:

Better than the film, I think you'll find.

Ballard was a fucking reactionary loon, but I do enjoy his work on the odd occasion I have time.

I have not seen the film. I have read a few of his books and they tend to oscillate between being quite good and being batshit crazy.

Just now, Richey Edwards said:

I have not seen the film. I have read a few of his books and they tend to oscillate between being quite good and being batshit crazy.

The batshit crazy and good often go hand in hand  :lol:

I keep forgetting the name of the one where a guy has a car accident on a big roundabout and can't escape due to the traffic. I think there's a feral society living on it, cut off from the rest of the world. It's like he was taking the piss out of the "THIS COULD HAPPEN!" dystopian sci-fi crowd. Maybe he was.

Just now, BFTD said:

The batshit crazy and good often go hand in hand  :lol:

I keep forgetting the name of the one where a guy has a car accident on a big roundabout and can't escape due to the traffic. I think there's a feral society living on it, cut off from the rest of the world. It's like he was taking the piss out of the "THIS COULD HAPPEN!" dystopian sci-fi crowd. Maybe he was.

Concrete Island?

1 minute ago, Richey Edwards said:

Concrete Island?

Yes! No doubt I'll forget again. Just noticed that Radio 4 did an adaption of it a while back.

I remember one about a dystopian shopping centre too...I just really need to work through his books again at some point.

1 minute ago, BFTD said:

Yes! No doubt I'll forget again. Just noticed that Radio 4 did an adaption of it a while back.

I remember one about a dystopian shopping centre too...I just really need to work through his books again at some point.

I have never read that one. I have heard of it though. I will likely read another of his once I finish High-Rise.

1 minute ago, Richey Edwards said:

I have never read that one. I have heard of it though. I will likely read another of his once I finish High-Rise.

I look forward to your hamster's views on the matter.

Eduardo Galeano's "Football in Sun and Shadow". A mini history of football from the viewpoint of a Uruguayan writer and fitba fanatic. Coming from a South American perspective it's way way different from the European view and all the better for that. The translation seems to leave a bit to be desired but worth a go. Written in 1995 but with an "Extra time" section taking things up to 2010. 

There's lots of politics here ( the guy was in exile for years ) and a distinct distaste for FIFA, commercialism,  history's bad guys and above all racism. Built of lots of wee sections and focusing around World Cups, he describes individual goals, pencil portraits of players, wee stories and the beautiful game in all it's glory and disgraces.

For the 1930 WC "Third pace went to the United States which had among it's players several recent Scottish immigrants".

On Pele : "When he executed a free kick, his opponents in the wall wanted to turn around to face the net, so as not to miss the goal".

At the 1978 WC (remember that?) "General Videla pinned a medal on Havelange during the opening ceremonies... A few steps away, Argentina's Auchwitz, the torture and extermination camp, was operating at full speed. A few miles beyond that, prisoners were being thrown alive from aeroplanes into the sea."

"Goal by Gemmill" "Scottish player Archie Gemmill got the ball from his countryman Hartford and kindly ask the Dutch to dance to the tune of a lone bagpiper. Wildschut was the first to fall, his head spinning, at Gemmill's feet. Then Gemmill left Suurbier reeling in the dust. Krol had it worse; Gemmill put it between his legs. And when the keeper Jongbloed came at him, the Scot lobbed the ball over his head".

The fate of the 1942 Dynamo Kiev team after  beating the occupying Germans and other tales are pretty shocking., but plenty uplifting too.

On 19/12/2022 at 21:19, Craig fae the Vale said:

Star Wars The High Republic: Convergence by Zoraida Córdova.

Another fun High Republic adventure.

A note though. While it's nice to see some diversity and inclusivity in Star Wars, the sheer volume of lesbians in the High Republic stories is becoming comical.

39 minutes ago, Craig fae the Vale said:

Night of the Living Rez by Morgan Talty.

A really good collection of interconnected stories set on a Native American Reservation. Dark, affecting, a fantastic read.

How many fecking books do you read?