Lets All Laugh At Rangers Thread

23 minutes ago, Ziggy Sobotka said:

Not sure taking the photo of Charlie and his sausage fingers down and cancelling the bootlicking armed forces day is going to make much of a difference tbh.

Maybe a small difference. I couldn't care less that the Queens eleven is now probably the Kings eleven. 😆

Screenshot_2023-09-16-00-20-08-543_com.android.chrome.jpg

On 14/09/2023 at 21:27, RuMoore said:

My issue with people being so absolute on the matter and saying things like every Rangers fan is a bigot or at least complicit doesn't give way for the fact abhorrent behaviour is clearly relative and exists within most football teams. 

What's the percentage of a fan base that means the non participants of poor behaviour are considered guilty?

I've seen people that refer to fanbases singing about historic battles being ridiculous yet they're happy singing Flower of Scotland with a passion like they fought in the battles themselves. We saw that abhorrent Harry Kane song get sung by a depressingly large percentage of people...

A lot of the larger fanbases have a big percentage of bams that engage in stupid offensive chants or hooliganism, are Hibs fans guilty of supporting a club where a massive proportion of fans sang anti-refugee songs or should Aberdeen fans that are sensible not disassociate with their club due to their fans exuberance when it comes to sectarian terms? 

I think most of the posters on here aren't inclined to engage in the behaviour I've listed above and I don't think they should be held accountable for others actions and words. 

Either we need to judge people as individuals or we need to provide some nerdy xG statistic to determine what level of reprehensible behaviour is allowed before you can support certain clubs. 

As a St Johnstone fan, I actually agree with you.  I’ll happily sing Flower of Scotland which is about a battle 700 years ago, but at the same time I don’t get on my high horse about  people singing about a battle just over 300 years ago.

Football clubs all over the world are political and social vacuums.  This can come about because of how they were founded, where they are from or for a whole host of other reasons.  It’s actually quite common.

If anything, it makes clubs more deep and meaningful rather than just being commercialised, money-driven, soulless entities. 

When most folk hear The Sash, Derry’s Walls, The Soldiers Song or The Fields of Athenry, they aren’t really as outraged as they make out.  I get it in a way though.. as it’s a stick to beat the Old Firm with, and it’s f**king annoying how these two teams dominate the game! 

Just my opinion, and probably not a popular one.

**takes cover**

11 hours ago, RandomGuy. said:

Celtic fans crippling inability to not take personal offence to anything directed at their club, and resultant defensiveness about it, really is a major reason Rangers can continue to be bigoted agains them too.

Any push from Scottish football fans as a whole to tackle bigotry, by starting at the two biggest, most high profile, groups involved ends up in a whataboutery fest where you spend longer trying to explain Celtic can be in the wrong but also be victims than you do trying to implement any campaign to stop it.

Every single time its brought up on here you get the same routine. 

1. "Rangers need to get rid of bigotry from their support"

2. Rangers fans - "we're not all bigoted, it's a minority"

3. "Even so, you need to do something to stop it. Rangers and Celtic both promote their side of it as part of the "brand""

4. OF fans - "Actually, its a problem with society as a whole you know"

5. "Well why does that stop you doing anything to prevent it at your own clubs?"

6. OF fans - "Do you stop it at your club? Its just because you hate us its coming up"

7. "What? We just think fans of these clubs are best placed to pressure their clubs into stopping"

8. Celtic fans - "We dont actually have an issue, we're victims here yet you wont leave us alone"

9. "I give up"

And repeat every 6 months.

I feel that your whole post is based on the concept that anything to do with Ulster Loyalism or Irish Republicanism is just bigotry.

This is a notion which is very popular within the online, self-righteous fitba’ fan community, but in real life people just don’t care.  Seriously.

If you look up what ‘bigotry’ actually means, you’ll often find that the self-proclaimed anti-bigots are the biggest bigots themselves.  Are you genuinely offended by what opposing fans actually sing?  Seriously?

Not being funny, but I remember singing a song about slashing the faces of Dundee fans who walked down the Dunkeld Road.  You genuinely don’t mean it!  It’s just stuff you sing at the fitba’ for a laugh.  Who cares? 

2 hours ago, CarrbridgeSaintee said:

I feel that your whole post is based on the concept that anything to do with Ulster Loyalism or Irish Republicanism is just bigotry.

This is a notion which is very popular within the online, self-righteous fitba’ fan community, but in real life people just don’t care.  Seriously.

If you look up what ‘bigotry’ actually means, you’ll often find that the self-proclaimed anti-bigots are the biggest bigots themselves.  

I wont lie, im hefty suspicious of you based on the fact youve written this and ive genuinely never seen you ever post about Saints on this site.

As such, im fairly convinced youre just a previously banned Celtic/Rangers fan using a Saints alias to post without hassle, and im not sure we can speak in good faith over this.

Regardless, if "nobody cares" about whats being sung, why sing it? Im not entirely sure why you direct the blame at people who dont want to hear bigoted songs while trying to enjoy watching a sport and not at the people who sing it for, in your words, no purpose?

1 hour ago, RandomGuy. said:

I wont lie, im hefty suspicious of you based on the fact youve written this and ive genuinely never seen you ever post about Saints on this site.

As such, im fairly convinced youre just a previously banned Celtic/Rangers fan using a Saints alias to post without hassle, and im not sure we can speak in good faith over this.

Regardless, if "nobody cares" about whats being sung, why sing it? Im not entirely sure why you direct the blame at people who dont want to hear bigoted songs while trying to enjoy watching a sport and not at the people who sing it for, in your words, no purpose?

A common tactic of the self-righteous and self-proclaimed ‘bigotry-hater’ is to label anyone with a dissenting view as ‘the other’.

It gets them out of having to answer the points at hand.

To answer your question though, I don’t sing about any battles etc.. as I’ve actually not been to any games in years.  If I did end up going to a Scotland game then I’d just sing FOS because it’s considered our National Anthem (in football terms), and the fact I’m singing about a 700 year old battle wouldn’t bother me too much, as, I just don’t care.  I just see it as a song.

If I’m being honest the action on the park matters to me that what’s off it.  I have friends in the orange lodge and they are decent people.  If you took all these supposedly ‘awful sectarian singers’ out of junior football then it would die - seriously.  I even take issue with branding them sectarian in the first place.  The guys who own the junior clubs are often in the lodge! Why do you hate them?

If a Rangers or Celtic fans want to sing about something that they care about then I genuinely don’t care.  This used to be the majority belief before everyone started being offended by everything.  I actually feel that the songs from fans have sung has taken over what players do now.

I might get banned for this but I clearly remember MOST fans around me calling Rangers players English b*****ds when Souness came and brought half their team.  You don’t actually hate English people in real life though.  It was BANTER.  Am I defending it? Erm, aye, folk just just didn’t care about the odd naughty word back then.  Part of the banter was giving it back.

I mind Hearts came to McDiarmid a good few years ago and in the pub we all got on great and they sang a song about being born under a Union Jack and no one really cared as most of our boys were SNP but one Saintee produced a blue/white/yella Union Jack from nowhere! It was nothing to do with bigotry but he just likes being British and the JT’s actually respected that.

Seriously, if people are upset by flags and songs then they shouldn’t be let out the house, as they’ll encounter far worse in life.

Not being funny but my club have been coining it in from the Orange Order for years. It doesn’t mean we support them,  but they are still human beings with their own traditions.  They put a lot behind the bar 😆

Just my opinion.. personally I thought it was doss.

Edited by CarrbridgeSaintee

4 hours ago, RandomGuy. said:

I think it was confirmed by a mod that this is indeed a previously banned poster. Can't recall if it's the same one who was also found out to have two other current aliases on the go too.

The 'anti-bigots are the biggest bigots' is just silly and type of stuff trolls trip themselves up with by spaffing all their act too early. It's absolutely tragic either way mind.

13 hours ago, The Other Foot said:

I really don’t get Old Firm fans’ steadfast refusal to accept criticism of their clubs.

I am an avid believer in criticising your own club, and indeed, probably hate Hibs more than any other entity on the planet. 

Still support them though, because I am a complete idiot. 

Nail on the head my friend. 

13 hours ago, The Other Foot said:

I really don’t get Old Firm fans’ steadfast refusal to accept criticism of their clubs.

I am an avid believer in criticising your own club, and indeed, probably hate Hibs more than any other entity on the planet. 

Just from my own experience, it could be to do with the responses that follow if you do so.

In this thread for example I acknowledged and agreed with criticism of the club and got various posts along the line of “and you STILL choose to support them?”

It’s not to say those responses are bad or invalid, just it seems there’s no winning even if you do acknowledge something.

15 hours ago, The Other Foot said:

One set of fans seems far more touchy than the other, despite their team hoovering up 75% of the trophies in the past 12 seasons - against all odds, too.

11 hours ago, CarrbridgeSaintee said:

As a St Johnstone fan, I actually agree with you.  I’ll happily sing Flower of Scotland which is about a battle 700 years ago, but at the same time I don’t get on my high horse about  people singing about a battle just over 300 years ago.

Football clubs all over the world are political and social vacuums.  This can come about because of how they were founded, where they are from or for a whole host of other reasons.  It’s actually quite common.

If anything, it makes clubs more deep and meaningful rather than just being commercialised, money-driven, soulless entities. 

When most folk hear The Sash, Derry’s Walls, The Soldiers Song or The Fields of Athenry, they aren’t really as outraged as they make out.  I get it in a way though.. as it’s a stick to beat the Old Firm with, and it’s f**king annoying how these two teams dominate the game! 

Just my opinion, and probably not a popular one.

**takes cover**

That's the funniest post on this thread yet. A St Johnstone supporting OF lickspittle apologist. I looked at your posting history got 3 scrolls down and as expected saw zero posts on any St Johnstone thread.

Both cheeks can get so far to f**k with their "it's societal" shite and their general look they once sung a racist song years ago shite. It will never change as the clubs as entities don't want it to change. It's their one and only USP and it's also why they will never move to a set up outwith Scotland be that down south or any European set up.

As for opposition fans faux outrage, give your head a wobble ffs. If you are not thoroughly fucked off by their public displays of bigotry then you my friend are clearly a very large part of the problem. It's totally unacceptable full stop.

1 hour ago, Billy Jean King said:

Both cheeks can get so far to f**k with their "it's societal" shite 

It is a societal issue. It just manifests itself more noticeably within football (or more particularly within a couple of clubs) these days.

1 minute ago, Ziggy Sobotka said:

It is a societal issue. It just manifests itself more noticeably within football (or more particularly within a couple of clubs) these days.

I see no Sectarian songs and hear no sectarianism outwith football and in particular games involving the two Sectarian clubs. No idea where others are encountering it in society outwith games involving the OF ?

5 minutes ago, Billy Jean King said:

I see no Sectarian songs and hear no sectarianism outwith football and in particular games involving the two Sectarian clubs. No idea where others are encountering it in society outwith games involving the OF ?

Have you seen the cricket thread? 

10 minutes ago, Billy Jean King said:

It's not just two clubs. 

I've been to dozens of Edinburgh derbies, at every single one the Gorgie Billy boys have been up to their knees. 

7 minutes ago, Billy Jean King said:

Well, marching season has just finished.