P&B Dead Pool 2014

Fuctifano

• Replies 1.8k

Ex-Toto singer Fergie Fredriksen has held the line for the last time.

Unsure if anyone had him + if they do if they'll find UK obit

Oooft, I was nearly up like a salmon out my seat there at mention of "ex Toto" - but alas, wrong guy, as I have Mike Porcaro too.

A wee flurry of them in the last few days - hopefully one of my squad takes up the cudgels soon, don't much care for this bottom of the table pish.

Slow day for skull3.gif so another interesting one..

Jonas Trinkunas at 74

One for Kilt as he revived the Pagan religion of Romuva in Lithuania, eons old.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jonas_Trink%C5%ABnas

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Romuva_(religion)

http://www.truelithuania.com/romuva-neo-paganism-in-lithuania-102

I love finding out about the ''interesting ones'', pity its by obit.

Fav one in the last few years was the Pirate Radio operator who founded his own country , and though I had vaguely heard of it, it was only when Paddy Bates died in 2012 that I reread it.

Quality stuff.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Principality_of_Sealand

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paddy_Roy_Bates

http://www.theguardian.com/uk/2012/oct/12/major-roy-bates

even had armed guards to defend it :D

sealand-008.jpg

though they almost look like The Clash...............

Slow day for skull3.gif so another interesting one..

Jonas Trinkunas at 74

One for Kilt as he revived the Pagan religion of Romuva in Lithuania, eons old.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jonas_Trinkūnas

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Romuva_(religion)

http://www.truelithuania.com/romuva-neo-paganism-in-lithuania-102

I love finding out about the ''interesting ones'', pity its by obit.

Fav one in the last few years was the Pirate Radio operator who founded his own country , and though I had vaguely heard of it, it was only when Paddy Bates died in 2012 that I reread it.

Quality stuff.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Principality_of_Sealand

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paddy_Roy_Bates

http://www.theguardian.com/uk/2012/oct/12/major-roy-bates

even had armed guards to defend it :D

sealand-008.jpg

though they almost look like The Clash...............

After Joe Strummer died?

That link above is a Wikipedia page posted on a BBC website! Not having that one. I'll keep an eye out but a qualifying obit only has to appear before December 31st. Might be worth searching around various dead pool sites, some of which have a similar rule, to see if anyone has turned up a writeup that ticks the right boxes.

I'd personally never heard of the guy -although I have heard of Toto and Survivor- however I'm surprised that nothing has been mentioned given those bands' standing- I don't want to deny anyone points (well, not at this stage, I might do if I'm winning come Christmas) but rules is rules etc.

Think this is the first time that we've ever had a "is he famous enough" death in the 3 years I've been running this.

Ooft, sair yin.

Wunfy must have a few that are more obscure than that?

Only Jim Bamber and Carman from his list would be dodgy, maybe the wrestler as well. Not sure about the level of wrestler fame needed, Mae Young was obviously OK and Hulk Hogan would obviously be fine, but I've had Superstar Billy Graham in my list for 3 years so hoping that he's on the right side of the line.

The rule has to be there as it is famous people, otherwise you could take a roll call at the local hospice. Has to be unbiased as there are people, wrestlers being a good example, who some folk are going to have great knowledge of but maybe struggle to register on the radar of most others (like me). I lifted that rule from a very successful dead pool site when I took over the running of this, think it works well. Although the dundee boy with Fergie Fredriksen might disagree with me at the moment...

Only Jim Bamber and Carman from his list would be dodgy, maybe the wrestler as well. Not sure about the level of wrestler fame needed, Mae Young was obviously OK and Hulk Hogan would obviously be fine, but I've had Superstar Billy Graham in my list for 3 years so hoping that he's on the right side of the line.

Bamber is the 'dodgy' one.

Surely to Christ ;) Carman would be obit worthy.

15 Gold/Platinum records, sold over 10 million etc etc

He started his 2nd course of chemo there and it didn't sound pretty.

"It's a lot to deal with. I am officially 1/2 way through treatment. 4 months in and 4 months to go. The middle part is the hardest," he said. "Second time around is harder, fevers, shakes, night sweats ect, because your body is weakened. So this is gong to be a bumpy ride folks. But its all a part of the fight to get to the other side of this lake of fire.

Interestingly it was his birthday the other day and his FB page :whistle had a message from his ''Team'' and not him personally.

Aye, think it's a good rule that has to be in place tbf.

Would a free for all without it.

I agree but what is the definition of "obituary?" I think of the big biographies in the broadsheets when that word is used but those cover only a small number of our chosen ones.