Things that annoy or delight you on the telly right now

welshbairn

5 minutes ago, BigFatTabbyDave said:

Aye, I mind my maw having to tell me not to batter f**k out of people after eating spinach, and not to get into some stoner's van just 'cause he had a Great Dane. Give the weans some credit, FFS!

Anyone caught that Melissa & Joey show that they repeat on E4? The wean likes most things on that channel but, by Christ, that thing is awful. Incredulous that it seems to have managed four seasons and international sales.

I can see the influence of things they take in, be it tv or the language and behaviour of other people as it begins to take seed on account of them being my kids.  

2 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

I can see the influence of things they take in, be it tv or the language and behaviour of other people as it begins to take seed on account of them being my kids.  

Don't show them The SImpsons, for God's sake.

You're not alone - I remember this story getting a few eyes rolling on here when it was first in the news.

6 minutes ago, BigFatTabbyDave said:

Don't show them The SImpsons, for God's sake.

You're not alone - I remember this story getting a few eyes rolling on here when it was first in the news.

Horrid Henry is so far the only cartoon where I have felt the need to speak to them about it. Plenty others I think are shite/have questionable learnings, but that one is terrible. Theres no message other than relentless bullying and bad behaviour. A really toxic creation IMO

It's banned in my house. The 3 year old's attitude is absolutely stinking after watching that. It's pretty frightening tbh.

3 minutes ago, 19QOS19 said:
23 minutes ago, Bairnardo said:

It's banned in my house. The 3 year old's attitude is absolutely stinking after watching that. It's pretty frightening tbh.

Yeah, stuff like that really has to carry a strong message at the end IMO and it just doesnt. The maw is a wet blanket and the wee laddie is an irredeemable wretch. 

f**k it, its banned here now too

The wife likes to watch Masters of Flip on ITV Be every night and we always catch the last 5 minutes of Real Housewives of Beverly Hills which is on before it. Its an even bigger lot of shit that I could possibly imagine, but it does have Denise Richards in it tho who still looks great tho!

3 hours ago, BigFatTabbyDave said:

Aye, I mind my maw having to tell me not to batter f**k out of people after eating spinach, and not to get into some stoner's van just 'cause he had a Great Dane. Give the weans some credit, FFS!

Anyone caught that Melissa & Joey show that they repeat on E4? The wean likes most things on that channel but, by Christ, that thing is awful. Incredulous that it seems to have managed four seasons and international sales.

Lies. There are plenty of reasons to watch Melissa. Joey, not so much

ContentPinkDairycow-max-1mb.gif

image.png.e4ab2aa3daf87dd34ecff8e1b774f53f.png

Well, I'm no annoyed particularly. Or delighted either.

Are they right to pull it though??

Part of me gets it. The other part of me is firmly in the "if it offends you, don't watch it, shut up, f**k off and let the ones that do enjoy it watch it". 

Probably makes me OFTW these days :lol:

image.png.e4ab2aa3daf87dd34ecff8e1b774f53f.png

Well, I'm no annoyed particularly. Or delighted either.
Are they right to pull it though??
Part of me gets it. The other part of me is firmly in the "if it offends you, don't watch it, shut up, f**k off and let the ones that do enjoy it watch it". 
Probably makes me OFTW these days [emoji38]
Glad they're binning it due to all the gammon right wingers on Facebook that will be seething.

5 minutes ago, Empty It said:

Glad they're binning it due to all the gammon right wingers on Facebook that will be seething.

Interesting. 

3 hours ago, Mark Connolly said:

Lies. There are plenty of reasons to watch Melissa. Joey, not so much

ContentPinkDairycow-max-1mb.gif

Mmm...not seeing it, sorry.

Besides, if I want to w**k, there's porn. If I want to see anything approaching an amusing sitcom, a multi-fatality car wreck would be a better bet, and would have fewer moments to wince at.

Edit: I was going to add that Little Britain was only fifteen years ago, times can't have changed that much, etc. Then I remembered that all of the sexist/racist Seventies sitcoms were only fifteen years away from the early Nineties when they became unpopular, so fair enough. I've just grown old enough that fifteen years seems like fifteen minutes ago now.

Little Britain's whole shtick was "ooh, look how edgy and un-PC we're being", so maybe time's just shown that up for the fallacy it always was. There'll always be an audience for that kind of shit, supposedly ironic or not.

Edited by BigFatTabbyDave

I never really found Little Britain funny. The Computer says and the cripple running around got tired after the first time. Pulling it from the Britbox was probably because nobody was watching it anyway.

I've actually dealt with the real "computer says no" woman. She works at the Bank of Scotland in Dumfries. I assume she's known as that among her colleagues as well because I had another appointment a couple of weeks later and the (other) woman asked who had dealt with me at my last appointment. Not knowing her name, I asked if she had seen the Little Britain character and she started to laugh and went "I know who you mean".

2 minutes ago, 19QOS19 said:
11 minutes ago, sfha said:

I've actually dealt with the real "computer says no" woman. She works at the Bank of Scotland in Dumfries. I assume she's known as that among her colleagues as well because I had another appointment a couple of weeks later and the (other) woman asked who had dealt with me at my last appointment. Not knowing her name, I asked if she had seen the Little Britain character and she started to laugh and went "I know who you mean".

Good 'un!

9 minutes ago, sfha said:

Little Britain DVDs would easily be in the top 10 if anyone compiled a "most donated to charity shops" list.

Don't think I've ever, ever sold one either. They circulate around between shops for years, until someone finally gives them to the trash collectors like World of Books and Book Donors, who immediately chuck them in the bin as they can't even get tuppence for them on eBay.