Sportsound Watch

When it was looking like Hibs might not win I had a wee scroll through the Hibs.net match thread.

Half of the Hibbies were OUTRAGED at Sportsounds's BLATANT ANTI-HIBS BIAS 😡 and raging at Preston slagging off Hibs' performance, while the other half were slagging off Hibs' performance. 🤣

I think it's fairly obvious why Forfar have had a sympathetic hearing today. A shite team from League Two looking like they might cause an upset, then being punished for missing their chances. That's a cup story as old as time, and one that always gets sympathy. Sportsound want a story. Hibs winning isn't one. Hibs losing is.

I think the Hibbies need to get over this persecution complex.

4 minutes ago, VincentGuerin said:

When it was looking like Hibs might not win I had a wee scroll through the Hibs.net match thread

Try Pornhub next time you need to knock one out.

Thank me later.

2 hours ago, Crawford Bridge said:

Aye, all that's missing is chat about horse racing and casual racism. 

Definitely be giving you dodgy looks for putting a few songs on the jukebox too 

They keep blaming the weather for the line to Dumbarton constantly going down, but surely they’re using an ISDN line that doesn’t rely on anything that could be affected by the weather (unless a phone pole blows down, but then that would put them off-air permanently). 

4 hours ago, VincentGuerin said:

When it was looking like Hibs might not win I had a wee scroll through the Hibs.net match thread.

Half of the Hibbies were OUTRAGED at Sportsounds's BLATANT ANTI-HIBS BIAS 😡 and raging at Preston slagging off Hibs' performance, while the other half were slagging off Hibs' performance. 🤣

I think it's fairly obvious why Forfar have had a sympathetic hearing today. A shite team from League Two looking like they might cause an upset, then being punished for missing their chances. That's a cup story as old as time, and one that always gets sympathy. Sportsound want a story. Hibs winning isn't one. Hibs losing is.

I think the Hibbies need to get over this persecution complex.

A bit like all the Aberdeen fans I've seen who seem outraged that BBC pundits might be keen to see Darvel last season and then Clyde last night get a result. So does everybody, that's how it works.

I ended up watching Final Score today which simulcast with the 5 live version of open all mics with there being no Barclays 3pm action.

Night and day compared to Sportsound. Mark Chapman made sure to mention every goal in Scotland  and had conversation points along the way for most of the lower league/non-league teams involved.

Genuinely a breath of fresh air.

Kenny and the gang should take note.

3 minutes ago, The Naitch said:

I ended up watching Final Score today which simulcast with the 5 live version of open all mics with there being no Barclays 3pm action.

Night and day compared to Sportsound. Mark Chapman made sure to mention every goal in Scotland  and had conversation points along the way for most of the lower league/non-league teams involved.

Genuinely a breath of fresh air.

Kenny and the gang should take note.

The level of respect Five Live treats their pyramid with is in stark contrast to what we get up here.

Right down the leagues, clubs get air time, informed discussion etc.

I know there's a question of resources, but how hard would it be to have a League One and League Two game covered every week, with a reporter at a game in each division and responsible for summarising that league and contextualising it?

We could even go fucking insane and have someone cover a Lowland League and Highland League game. Not blanket, wall-to-wall coverage of every game in every division. Just an acknowledgement that they exist, and that the football in this country has context. Is there really no room in OAM for updates from these divisions? Could we maybe lose references to pundits' Gladiator names, and folk calling each other "Tadgerman"?

They used to have a roundup of the Highland League games.   Cannae mind who it was that did it, but he always had some topical or satirical joke for each game relating the game to something that had been in the news.  The sort of thing that would have you begging for the sweet release of death if Chick Young was to do it, but was actually genuinely quirky and fun.  That must be going back the best part of 20 years now.

Just now, A Diamond For Me said:

They used to have a roundup of the Highland League games.   Cannae mind who it was that did it, but he always had some topical or satirical joke for each game relating the game to something that had been in the news.  The sort of thing that would have you begging for the sweet release of death if Chick Young was to do it, but was actually genuinely quirky and fun.  That must be going back the best part of 20 years now.

Bill McCallister!

I think he died not long ago.

1 hour ago, VincentGuerin said:

Bill McCallister!

I think he died not long ago.

Aye, Bill McCallister’s phone box round up after the classifieds were always a highlight. 2 minutes of old school journalism getting all the facts out there with dreadful puns littered throughout.

They're disgustingly cowardly shitebags because they won't admit that they just want to cover two teams and don't give the slightest f**k about the other 40 teams.

If they had any integrity they'd split the frequencies to be Celtic and Sevco chat on one (pretty much what the majority of the show is now) and the rest on the other (but this would have actual chat, features and insight).

Obviously this will never happen.

What we genuinely need is a provider to bid on rights that don't involve Sevco (Rangers died) and Celtic.

Bid on... what rights exactly? It's not 1952 - there's hee-haw market for radio broadcasting

Sportsound are not the only outfit that organises programming around bigot coverage anyway. 

9 hours ago, VincentGuerin said:

Don't get the seethe, to be honest. It's football, everyone is partisan.

What does it matter?

He was a total tosspot today and I'm not easily offended.  It was actually like they were announcing the death of the queen again (sorry rangers fans) or the death of rangers again (sorry rangers fans) when we scored today.  Why they have a dyed in the wool jambo covering Hibernian is baffling.  Be like his cousin Yogi covering gunt games. 

5 hours ago, craigkillie said:

A bit like all the Aberdeen fans I've seen who seem outraged that BBC pundits might be keen to see Darvel last season and then Clyde last night get a result. So does everybody, that's how it works.

It's not really.  The pundit commentating on the game was a hearts fan actively wanting us to lose.  It's not just random comments in the studio, there's a bit of a difference. 

3 minutes ago, craigkillie said:

The only people in the country who didn't actively want you to lose were Hibs fans.

You say this as if we dont understand the Premiership v Minnow thing.

Its not the point @Hoose Rice is making. The point is that Hibs - regularly - have the likes of Preston being the co commentator, and Brian McLaughlin as the pitchside guy.

Both have history of behaving poorly when covering Hibs, and how they cover Hearts (for example) is entirely different. Its unprofessional and is why many Hibs fans have turned off permanently.

Yesterday we also had John Robertson on the show as well. 

As an aside -  the BBC use Paul Mitchell (another Hearts fan, used to work at Standard Life, iirc) as commentator, but he is actually professional and comes across as such in my experience, so its not just "because the two halfwits are hearts fans".

6 minutes ago, Leith Green said:

Its not the point @Hoose Rice is making. The point is that Hibs - regularly - have the likes of Preston being the co commentator, and Brian McLaughlin as the pitchside guy.

Both have history of behaving poorly when covering Hibs, and how they cover Hearts (for example) is entirely different. Its unprofessional and is why many Hibs fans have turned off permanently.

As an aside -  the BBC use Paul Mitchell (another Hearts fan, used to work at Standard Life, iirc) as commentator, but he is actually professional and comes across as such in my experience, so its not just "because the two halfwits are hearts fans".

What's Mclaughlin done?

All he ever does is ask questions pre- and post-match?

23 minutes ago, Leith Green said:

No offence but who cares.

when Darvel beat us Leanne Crichton openly said she was delighted we got such a bad offside call against us. Some folk were raging but I get it, I’d be the same if it were any premiership team basically. 

I think hibs fans may be seeing something that isn’t really there. 

17 minutes ago, VincentGuerin said:

What's Mclaughlin done?

All he ever does is ask questions pre- and post-match?

I remember him coming across as a bit of an arsehole in Paulo Sergio's unveiling press conference. Obviously if he was Hibs it would have automatically been put down to that.