Sportsound Watch

9 hours ago, kingjoey said:

The "summer football" argument always makes me smile. Last season, our season started in July and ended at the beginning of June. Would you suggest that we start in February and end at the beginning of January? 

Yep, the reason we sometimes struggle with dates to fit in matches (and this will obviously impact Aberdeen more than us up til christmas at least) is not "the summer" its the baffling breaks that are scheduled.

I fully get and understand the Intnl breaks, but the schedule in December/January is ludicrous - Hibs have 8 matches in the period 2nd Dec til 2nd Jan, then a 3 and a half week leage match break til 27th Jan.

As a general point on Sportsound, I am sure their listening figures are as good as any monopoly would have, but the product is awful and unchanging from one season to the next.

I only ever listen to it on way home from the match if I have to take the bus - the same old cronies, the same old tropes, the same tired takes on the SPFL premiership (and very limited knowledge of leagues below) - and only then if I dont have a podcast.

Whoever is in charge really needs moved on, the entire output needs shaken up and the on air personnel punted into the long grass.

Lots of people say "we dont have the money to do better" but I struggle with this - I appreciate its not "live radio" but the AVFTT guys produce a far superior product for - presumably - relative peanuts.

The lack of knowledge of much outside of Celtic (re Bonner for example) is embarrassing when set against the detail that the AVFTT team display.

It smacks of laziness and the certain knowledge that your contract is safe even if you research nothing.

Edited by Leith Green

43 minutes ago, Leith Green said:

Yep, the reason we sometimes struggle with dates to fit in matches (and this will obviously impact Aberdeen more than us up til christmas at least) is not "the summer" its the baffling breaks that are scheduled.

I fully get and understand the Intnl breaks, but the schedule in December/January is ludicrous - Hibs have 8 matches in the period 2nd Dec til 2nd Jan, then a 3 and a half week leage match break til 27th Jan.

Agreed, that's a nonsense. Ditch the winter break and put those three and a half weeks where they belong, in the summer. I know "it was all better when I were a lad" can be a sad line of argument but in the case of Scottish football it is undeniably true. 

2 hours ago, Leith Green said:

As a general point on Sportsound, I am sure their listening figures are as good as any monopoly would have, but the product is awful and unchanging from one season to the next.

I only ever listen to it on way home from the match if I have to take the bus - the same old cronies, the same old tropes, the same tired takes on the SPFL premiership (and very limited knowledge of leagues below) - and only then if I dont have a podcast.

Whoever is in charge really needs moved on, the entire output needs shaken up and the on air personnel punted into the long grass.

Lots of people say "we dont have the money to do better" but I struggle with this - I appreciate its not "live radio" but the AVFTT guys produce a far superior product for - presumably - relative peanuts.

The lack of knowledge of much outside of Celtic (re Bonner for example) is embarrassing when set against the detail that the AVFTT team display.

It smacks of laziness and the certain knowledge that your contract is safe even if you research nothing.

Listen to sportsound every other week when I'm in work and I have to disagree. Bonnar is a moron but he's only ever there to give a Celtic simpleton viewpoint. The guys who do open all mics are at a different ground each week, including every championship game and a lot of them have played for those clubs. Guys like Derek Ferguson I never used to like but they've grown on me with their exposure to other games. Their insight is far greater than it ever used to be.

1 hour ago, MarkoRaj said:

Listen to sportsound every other week when I'm in work and I have to disagree. Bonnar is a moron but he's only ever there to give a Celtic simpleton viewpoint. The guys who do open all mics are at a different ground each week, including every championship game and a lot of them have played for those clubs. Guys like Derek Ferguson I never used to like but they've grown on me with their exposure to other games. Their insight is far greater than it ever used to be.

The thing with Derek Ferguson is he clearly enjoys watching football. He's not the brightest bulb in the house (he might not even be the smartest man in a room only containing Derek Ferguson) but at least he doesn't sound resentful being paid to watch a game of football & report on it. This is the bar that Willie Miller & Pat Bonnar don't manage to clamber over. It's actually kind of impressive that they manage to fail to meet even the lowest of expectations.

You can't even spell his fuckin name correctly. Where's your research? Lack of respect to get even a guy's name right.

1 hour ago, forkboy said:

The thing with Derek Ferguson is he clearly enjoys watching football. He's not the brightest bulb in the house (he might not even be the smartest man in a room only containing Derek Ferguson) but at least he doesn't sound resentful being paid to watch a game of football & report on it. This is the bar that Willie Miller & Pat Bonnar don't manage to clamber over. It's actually kind of impressive that they manage to fail to meet even the lowest of expectations.

That's true actually. I think the fact that they seem to be actually enjoying themselves probably what makes it listenable.

I'm trying to think of who else I actually like and there are more bad than good

Rory Loy is good as long as Rangers aren't playing, Michael Stewart is ok as long as he's not being contrarian for the sake of it (never) and Kenny MacIntyre is decent. The older ones are interminable, especially Willie Miller who could make a 4 all draw sound like a chore.

That's true actually. I think the fact that they seem to be actually enjoying themselves probably what makes it listenable.

I'm trying to think of who else I actually like and there are more bad than good

Rory Loy is good as long as Rangers aren't playing, Michael Stewart is ok as long as he's not being contrarian for the sake of it (never) and Kenny MacIntyre is decent. The older ones are interminable, especially Willie Miller who could make a 4 all draw sound like a chore.

Nope gif here please.  

Chick Young wasted so much time complaining about Logan Chalmers not playing that “we will get to the United team S the afternoon goes on”, then proceeded to waste more time telling us about the building site at Somerset.

Seriously, how fucking hard is it to just give the two teams, and save your pish for later?

ETA: Macintyre is now talking to Michael Stewart (presumably through  two tin cans and a bit of string based on the sound quality) about how amazing Callum Davidson is at golf and squash

Edited by Mark Connolly

59 minutes ago, Mark Connolly said:

Chick Young wasted so much time complaining about Logan Chalmers not playing that “we will get to the United team S the afternoon goes on”, then proceeded to waste more time telling us about the building site at Somerset.

Seriously, how fucking hard is it to just give the two teams, and save your pish for later?

ETA: Macintyre is now talking to Michael Stewart (presumably through  two tin cans and a bit of string based on the sound quality) about how amazing Callum Davidson is at golf and squash

The Sportsound loving of Scottish sacked Managers is cringe if it's not Hughes it's Davidson. Was Alan Preston in there bigging up Davidson? 🤦‍♂️

As you've alluded to why does Sportsound still use phone calls to get match reports live on air? Surely there's other methods that are up to standard!

Walked home from Sons' annihilation of Stenny, got into the vehicle for the 10 minute drive to the shops to get something for tea.

Shoves Sportsound on to see what the other scores around Scotland are, spent 5-10 minutes wondering who's died this afternoon, only to eventually find out that the deathly tone is because Celtic only drew a game.

Edited by Boghead ranter

2 hours ago, SJFCtheTeamForMe said:

The Sportsound loving of Scottish sacked Managers is cringe if it's not Hughes it's Davidson. Was Alan Preston in there bigging up Davidson? 🤦‍♂️

As you've alluded to why does Sportsound still use phone calls to get match reports live on air? Surely there's other methods that are up to standard!

Forgot about Craig 'footballing mastermind' Levein. How he's rolled out to pontificate on anything is beyond me.

22 hours ago, kingjoey said:

The "summer football" argument always makes me smile. Last season, our season started in July and ended at the beginning of June. Would you suggest that we start in February and end at the beginning of January? 

Scottish team sports that have a summer season - shinty, for a start, and formerly women's football - tend to start I'm March. The month of the Beast from the East.

Scotland's pioneers of summer fitba were the Forth and Endrick amateurs. One team - Gartocharn? - played their first game one season at home in torrential rain. Then there was a prolonged dry spell and they couldn't play at home for months because their pitch dried rock hard with all the holes and scores and pits after that first match.

9 minutes ago, KirkieRR said:

Sharing the Derek Ferguson like. Dim but enthusiastic and does what research he can according to his lights. And his speech reflects how fans talk. 'Awww, whit a miss! But he's pure went fur it so he huz!'

Ferguson needs media coaching. He's fine in conversation, but he has a stilted delivery when he's reading back from notes.

39 minutes ago, Sergeant Wilson said:

Ferguson needs media coaching. He's fine in conversation, but he has a stilted delivery when he's reading back from notes.

Aye, fair point. I was really meaning his off-the-cuff stuff on OAM.