greyman Posted October 21, 2014 Share Posted October 21, 2014 En route back home yesterday we met my folks in Dundee for lunch. Being early we took the wee man to soft play. When jnr and the Mrs were playing I was sitting there when this kid (must have been 2 1/2) came over to me and started talking. Normally this would be greeted with a 'very good wee man, wheres your mummy' but I couldnt understand a word he said. The only bits I could pick out were 'tattoos' and 'money'. Basically this kid wanted me to pony up some cash to buy him some tatoos. Then started tapping my pocket to see if there was money in it. Eventually told him in child friendly tae get tae. Saw him 5 mins later doing the same to another bloke for tattoo money. Is it normal in Dundee for young kids to be begging for money to get tattoos? Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
invergowrie arab Posted October 21, 2014 Share Posted October 21, 2014 Not normal to beg. It would usually involve a knife or a staffie. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dee Man Posted October 21, 2014 Share Posted October 21, 2014 Nothing wrong with that. I got my first tattoo as a baby after robbing the local post office. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
greyman Posted October 21, 2014 Author Share Posted October 21, 2014 There was also a guy in the street trying to sell Big Issues. Not content with asking folk if they wanted to buy one he'd chase folk down the street. It was such a shock to such a fine edinburgh gentleman. Dundee seems to be full of hooligans and rapscallions (great game for the spectrum). Oh aye, its a fucking shithole to boot!! Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DAFC Posted October 21, 2014 Share Posted October 21, 2014 Rab Douglas jnr. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom McB Posted October 21, 2014 Share Posted October 21, 2014 Terrific fairytale, brethren. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom McB Posted October 21, 2014 Share Posted October 21, 2014 Meetville sounds like a gay porn site, at least you've conquered your demons and left the closet, Tam. I defer to your knowledge of gay porn sites dear boy. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bhoy who invented weetabix Posted October 21, 2014 Share Posted October 21, 2014 I saw a drunk guy throw up in a McDonalds in Dundee once, everyone in the place carried on eating without batting an eyelid or being put off their food. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dee Man Posted October 21, 2014 Share Posted October 21, 2014 I saw a drunk guy throw up in a McDonalds in Dundee once, everyone in the place carried on eating without batting an eyelid or being put off their food. Didn't happen. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
nsr Posted October 21, 2014 Share Posted October 21, 2014 Both surprised and relieved to see this isn't a Beast thread. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
cracowjambo Posted October 21, 2014 Share Posted October 21, 2014 Didn't happen. If it really did happen there would have been a fight over who eats the sick first. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gaz FFC Posted October 21, 2014 Share Posted October 21, 2014 I took my wife to Dundee once for a concert. She's been in Dundee all of 4 hours in her entire life and you should see the hate filled rant she put on FB that night. "Scumdee" was a particular highlight in her rant. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
invergowrie arab Posted October 21, 2014 Share Posted October 21, 2014 The jealousy of people from No voting shitholes about scotland's cultural capital is tragic. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gaz FFC Posted October 21, 2014 Share Posted October 21, 2014 Jealousy is definitely not a word I'd use to describe how I feel about not living in Dundee. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
jock001 Posted October 21, 2014 Share Posted October 21, 2014 The jealousy of people from No voting shitholes about scotland's cultural capital is tragic. It's not a thread about Glasgow. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom McB Posted October 22, 2014 Share Posted October 22, 2014 It's not a thread about Glasgow. I think he means culture in the sense of bacterial culture. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom McB Posted October 22, 2014 Share Posted October 22, 2014 Sticking up for jock001? Not at all, enjoying the drolleries of Dohnday being a cultural capital dear boy. Your life has reached its Ciftci, Tom. You have me a a disadvantage I fear. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigmouth Strikes Again Posted October 22, 2014 Share Posted October 22, 2014 You're even starting to sound Dundonian, Thomas. No consonants required in the City of Discovery. Typical thick as shit teacher. IMO. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tamthebam Posted October 22, 2014 Share Posted October 22, 2014 That fine Dundonian Michael Marra didn't like Methil. I think he had a point.... Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...